We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service on a cold night”
Review of Grand Indian

Grand Indian
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Rostrevor, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Slow Service on a cold night”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The service in this restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. 15 minutes for the first drink to be served, and then another 25 minutes for the food to arrive. Then add another ten for the bill to be presented and finally paid. It really lets down the food side, as the Vindaloo Fish was very tasty although certainly nowhere near as fiery as the Vindaloos experienced in other parts of the world. Wonder how long the wait would be if they were full - this was off season in a half empty restaurant. Go for the food, take plenty of cross words or reading material

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    453
    171
    67
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average food with rude staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I cannot forget the waiter who came running behind me after we left to show him my room keys. For details, read my review on the Grans Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grand food, grand (in a good way) price, grand service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we arrived here the staff were very attentive and got us seated in a temp seat straight away as the restaurant was busy. They took our order while we waited so that the food was ready by the time a seat was. We had the samosas as an entree and they were delicious. For mains I had the chicken biryani and my wife had the peas and mushroom curry, both were excellent. The naan was soft and tasty as well. They price of the food was very reasonable especially for the quality of the food. We went back the second night and the food was even better. The staff joked that we were not allowed to eat their two nights in a row. They definitely had us fooled, we had a good laugh. I wouldn't say this restaurant is for special or romantic occasions, it is nice restaurant with great food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyjim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only if they served their food as soon as it was ready !”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nuwara Eliya has very limited options when its comes to food. We were there for 2 days and tried top 5-6 restaurants recommended on tripadvisor. Grand Indian is definitely one of the best there. However, take that comment with a pinch of salt as the other ones are roadside restaurants that are much cheaper and do not offer much options. Grand restaurant is part of the Grand Hotel and serves good options. We were 2 couples and ordered drinks and dinner at Grand Indian. While the drinks arrived bang on time, food arrived almost 30-35 minutes later and was served cold (obviously it was ready earlier). We complained to our waitor and the manager many times that the food should have come earlier. My wife ordered dosa and she returned it because it was cold. They brough back the same dosa 20 mins later after heating it. Rest of the food also came in parts and very late.

On the positive side, the food tasted good and it was surprising to get good quality (but cold) Indian food in small Srilankan town. I can recommend the Kadhai Chicken and Naan. The restaurant is in good location and ambience was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HunyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than in India!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The best Indian food to be found in Sri Lanka!
The location is spectacular with a contemporary feel to age old recepies. The meats were absolutely succulent with an explosion of flavour!
The new chef of the Grand Indian works his magic and is certainly worth a 6star rating!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indian also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Grand Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing