We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best of a bad bunch”
Review of Grand Indian

Grand Indian
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best of a bad bunch”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Service was adequate. The room was surprisingly tasteful (for this neck of the woods). The food when it arrived was extremely bland and non-remarkable. Very ordinary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robertm155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    453
    171
    67
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hi I'm Roshan Vaas , tourist guide lecture in Sri Lanka. I will highly reccomand The grand Indian restaurant in Nuwara Eliya for all kind of Indian foods. The tourist who visited with me to Grand Indian are enjoyed with them food. So don't think two times to go and have a food Grand Indian.
Thanks.

Roshan Vaas , Sri Lanka fox tours.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roshan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First night fantastic, second night cold chicken and rice - continuity is needed”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, nice surroundings, good value for money and a very helpful and friendly manager.

The first evening we went it was fantastic, tasty and hot (temperature). We went back the second night and re ordered the same as it was so nice. Both the rice and chicken were cold (it had taken 10 minutes to come out instead of the 30 minutes like the previous night). When I asked them to heat it up I had fresh hot rice but cold chicken still. When the manager came over to chat I mentioned my chicken was cold and he went off without a problem and got a fresh piece of chicken which was hot .

Had we only gone here the first night it would have been 5* had we only had the second experience it would have been 1* so I've given it 3*. Lovely place that on the right night makes good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battaramulla, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and great deco”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant is really busy and it probably helps that it is at the entrance toThe Grand Hotel but saying that it is still a good find. Food was excellent, menu varied and service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DubaiCarolP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A taste of India”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited here twice in a row despite the fact that we barely found something for the kids to eat ( not many options for dinner elsewhere )
We discovered Yummy Indian food for a reasonable price.
The place is clean and tidy and has very nice staff who tried to help us with the kids

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maoz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indian also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Grand Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing