We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Silva Food Centre

De Silva Food Centre
Ranked #20 of 46 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ok place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Ok place with average food and good pastry. They were kind to feed us at 21:50h which is a late hour for Nuwara Eliya... Good value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zuiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    102
    73
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French fries fried in engine oil?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We went to this restaurant since it was recommended ny Lonely Planet. For us as vegetarians it was difficult to find something to eat except fried rice or fried noodles. So we asked what they had more. We were told we could get a cheese burger without meat. It turned out to be two slices or cheese, with little sallad between to breads, for the same price as the same food with just the beef burger taken away...

That maybe would have been ok, if not the french fries would have smelled and tasted awful. My wife has worked in some restaurants which have used old oil for long time and this was not the case here. It smelled more like car engine oil. We just tried one piece each and left it all. We told the waiter, he said he would tell the kitchen, No apology, no discount, nothing.

We also had boiled vegetables for 180 rs +10 % tax and the portion was very small. This food was served 10-15 min before the "cheese burger". It seemed as they first forgot to make these french fries.

The service was slow and the 2-3 workers behind the cashier was more interested in playing with their mobiles.

So I would tell you to go somewhere else, even if the selection of restaurants is small in Nuwara Eliya.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kebabpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
157 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Average fare...Veyr slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The above says it all... We stopped there for lunch after a trip to theTea plantations. We were slightly peckish and ordered a lunch of rice, curry. The waiters seem to take forever to bring the food. Food was average ..must say they were quite friendly but oh so slow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wishdocbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Please avoid!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Since most of the good restaurants in Nuwara Eliya are slightly far away from the town, our driver was reluctant to take us to the place where we wanted to eat. So we ended up being taken to this place which is in the heart of the town. We had just finished hiking at the Horton plains and were famished. The place was dirty, noisy and service was awful. When we finally managed to get the attention of the waiter, we ordered for ONE omelette and ONE veg fried rice. We waited for almost 45 mins for our food....but NO FOOD. We were told it was on its way. The worse part was a lot of people who came after us, who ordered more number of dishes than us, all finished and left too and we were still waiting! I finally lost it and got up and left. On my way, I told the supervisor about what happened and hey...NO REACTION!! Very disappointing. Please avoid this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varsha_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a good place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Quality of food is bad, service is also not the best, the place is not clean. Not a good choise to have a meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pnm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Silva Food Centre also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to De Silva Food Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing