We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellant hotel”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We got nice welcome to the hotel, Nice big rooms, Good food, Well lookedafter, Nice flower Garden.
We will be back soon

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

We did not actually stay at this hotel but we had the misfortune to have lunch here.

The so called specialise in Chinese food!!!!

Well it is one of the worst meals I have tasted in a long time, all of the dishes and plates are plastic, much like the food.

My wife had Prawn balls in batter but they must have caught them the week before and put the batter on them at the same time, they were tough and rubbery (no this is not the Chinese for lovely)

Avoid, avoid

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

i went over to the glendower with my brothers and parents for their 25th wedding Anniversary. We were lucky to get rooms here given the number of rooms they had and the demand they had.

We were greeted by the friendliest of staff in sri lanka. it was supper time and the wood fire place was lit maintaining perfect temperature. My mother sat down on a cosey couch by the fire place as she was treated with a perfect cup of ceylon tea.

And then we were taken to our rooms. my brothers and i shared one and my parents were occupying the suite. the toilets were spotless. The beds were immaculate. through the window was a view of a fairytale garden which looked just as good in the night as it did during the day.. later we learnt of glendowers prize winning garden.

the scrumptious chinese dinner complemented the rest of our lovely experience.

Good Food, Good Service and a Good nights sleep what more cud you expect..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonyj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We were most comfortable. The hotel was clean, well furnished, the food was excellent and the service was just superb. We will always go there whenever we get a chance to visit Sri Lanka. The hotel reminded us and gave us the feeling of being in a upmarket English Country House.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANKSILVAGMGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Nuwara Eliya is cold, I'm English but trust me the place is cold. So why is there no heating in this guest house (it's not a hotel) and why is there no hot water? Even these I could quite happily put up with but everyone working in this hotel is just plain miserable. Sri Lanka has some oft he friendliest people in the world but none of them work at this hotel. The restaurant is rubbish as well and overpriced. Go to the curry restaraunt just up the road instead it's fantastic. If you can get in touch with Ari in Nuwara Eliya you'll be much better off. He works out of the golf club, but runs a taxi and has the usual links and will hook you up without ripping you off.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paxton_N17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

2700 rps. a night for a big wood room with high ceilings in this cool old building. some rooms have fireplaces. food is so-so.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

My taxi driver booked this hotel for me - a night cost $48 without breakfast. It's a long bungalow style B&B consisting of a small dining room, a nice lounge with a TV with a few satellite channels, a small bar and a snooker room.

The rooms are basic with tired furniture. But there is a nice garden you can escape to with your newspaper.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. If you turn right out of the hotel it is only a 10 minute walk into town. If you turn left you are a couple of minutes from the Grand Hotel. I was happy to eat in the English pub in the Grand Hotel at night and wander back to the Glendower in the evening. Also next to the hotel is the Grand Indian restaurant and pastry shop. This is owned by the Grand Hotel. The place is modern and spotless - the food is lovely and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#23 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
7.1 mi away
Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $68 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing