We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glendower Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$149
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Amaya Langdale(Nuwara Eliya)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritance Tea Factory(Nuwara Eliya)
$248
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$48
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blackpool Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
$201
$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford Bungalow(Nuwara Eliya)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Araliya Green City(Nuwara Eliya)
$146
$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
37
84
73
42
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
84
73
42
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese dishesrestaurant reviewleather sofasnice spacious roomattractive hotelhelpful managercosy barolde worldvictoria parkenglish stylesingle tree hotelground floorshort staywooden floorssouppool tableone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 269 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2010

i went over to the glendower with my brothers and parents for their 25th wedding Anniversary. We were lucky to get rooms here given the number of rooms they had and the demand they had.

We were greeted by the friendliest of staff in sri lanka. it was supper time and the wood fire place was lit maintaining perfect temperature. My mother sat down on a cosey couch by the fire place as she was treated with a perfect cup of ceylon tea.

And then we were taken to our rooms. my brothers and i shared one and my parents were occupying the suite. the toilets were spotless. The beds were immaculate. through the window was a view of a fairytale garden which looked just as good in the night as it did during the day.. later we learnt of glendowers prize winning garden.

the scrumptious chinese dinner complemented the rest of our lovely experience.

Good Food, Good Service and a Good nights sleep what more cud you expect..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthonyj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We were most comfortable. The hotel was clean, well furnished, the food was excellent and the service was just superb. We will always go there whenever we get a chance to visit Sri Lanka. The hotel reminded us and gave us the feeling of being in a upmarket English Country House.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRANKSILVAGMGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Nuwara Eliya is cold, I'm English but trust me the place is cold. So why is there no heating in this guest house (it's not a hotel) and why is there no hot water? Even these I could quite happily put up with but everyone working in this hotel is just plain miserable. Sri Lanka has some oft he friendliest people in the world but none of them work at this hotel. The restaurant is rubbish as well and overpriced. Go to the curry restaraunt just up the road instead it's fantastic. If you can get in touch with Ari in Nuwara Eliya you'll be much better off. He works out of the golf club, but runs a taxi and has the usual links and will hook you up without ripping you off.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paxton_N17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

2700 rps. a night for a big wood room with high ceilings in this cool old building. some rooms have fireplaces. food is so-so.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

My taxi driver booked this hotel for me - a night cost $48 without breakfast. It's a long bungalow style B&B consisting of a small dining room, a nice lounge with a TV with a few satellite channels, a small bar and a snooker room.

The rooms are basic with tired furniture. But there is a nice garden you can escape to with your newspaper.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. If you turn right out of the hotel it is only a 10 minute walk into town. If you turn left you are a couple of minutes from the Grand Hotel. I was happy to eat in the English pub in the Grand Hotel at night and wander back to the Glendower in the evening. Also next to the hotel is the Grand Indian restaurant and pastry shop. This is owned by the Grand Hotel. The place is modern and spotless - the food is lovely and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews