We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, unlike the location!”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nuwara Eliya is a beautiful location - breath-taking! Unfortunately the Glendower Hotel needs a fair bit of work to come close to that! The rooms are clean and neat, but old and in need of a revamp. The bed in our room was sooooooo bad we nearly slept on the floor! The other guests we were with didn't get that unlucky - however they were moved to another room as the door lock on the room booked just fell off!
The menu and food in the restaurant was also average and time to service needs a serious review. It's a shame because the place has character, the bar and guest lounge has a lovely feel. Glendower has loads of potential, but it desperately needs some TLC!

Room Tip: Check the door handles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracytrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The place is near the Victoria Park. The entrance, garden is very beautiful and filled with flowers. Rooms are tidy and clean.
The rooms were furnished with good facilities. (blanket, Cupboard, Mirror and Table, Reading Table, Couch, Bed Side Tables, Towels, soap, bath tub). No tea in the room (tea bags and a water heater is suggested)
Room service is fast.
Ho heaters in the room. (The time we went was cold and it would have been better is heaters were there)
Food is expensive but good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhawa_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We (family with two four-year old girls) visited Nuwara Eliya off-season in May and seemed to be the only guests. We were greeted warmly and had a nice and large room reserved for us. One has to understand that this is indeed an old house dating from the colonial days, so room layout, bathroom plumbing etc. might not be up to the latest fashing, but everything was absolutely clean, service was most friendly, food was served in nice quality and abundant quantity, and it felt good to finish breakfast with an additional cup of coffee (or tea, if you will) in the wonderful garden. Whereas Nuwara Eliya was the only place in our five weeks in Sri Lanka where we found some of the locals rude, the hotel staff was very helpful (even walked to the park with us) to negotiate a reasonable price to go horse-riding for the girls.
Summary: Yes, this hotel cannot compete with high-luxury resorts like the Mahaveli Reach in Kandy, but whatever lacking in technology, the staff comes up with friendly assistance. The only reasons why the hotel does not get my full five points is the absence of tea/coffee cooker in the room (which you would especially expect from a british-inspired stay), also a safety box was missing. The second thing one might want to critisize that the bar opening in the evening seems to be a kind of last resort for any european soul thrust away to Nuwara Eliya, so if the rock music would played a little less loud, the dinner in the (quite expensive) restaurant might have been even more enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Stefan-Contributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nuwara Eliya would live on forever in my mind for nothing but Glendower. The wooden structure, the dew swept lawn and the palate of colours the flowers had to offer in the misty garden. What a peaceful retreat !!
During my stay one evening when it rained, the fireplace inside was enchanting. Atleast 20-25 different varieties of flower shrubs grow on the premises of the property. To keep concrete at bay,even the fencing all around is done with hedges. It is soothing to have a cup of tea in the garden to spend a laid back evening watching the hills light up dimly for the night. Occasionally a cloud might pass over.
The best thing about this place is that the management has not changed the flavour of the colonial past (believe this bungalow belonged to an Englishman). Situated conveniently at the centre of the main town yet secluded from the hustle-bustle of it. Some of the rooms (mine included) offer view of the sprawling golf course just across the adjoining street.
The manager was helpful and his staff was non-intrusive and always smiling.
This place exudes a feel of a slow paced world which is very charming.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer view of the sprawling golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Out the front door is the sprawling golf course, up the road to the left is the inviting garden and patio of the Grand Hotel and within a 10 minute walk is Nuwara Eliya's city center. Also, this is a convenient base to travel 45+ minutes to Horton Plains National Park and World's End. After exploring the small town of Nuwara Eliya, I enjoyed a pot of tea in Glendower's well tended garden. The staff was friendly and helpful. The down side of this hotel is that the room is a bit "worn". The furnishings, lighting and bathroom all could use some updating. The towels were thin and ragged. Though I found the hotel acceptable, it might be advisable to research other accommodations before booking here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEMAltitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Good value hotel. Very English style. Quite quaint inside and the rooms were a touch dark. Bathroom could do with updating but worked well enough. The manager was excellent and organised a trip to Horton plains for us. The restaurant was overpriced.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KJLvsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff at this hotel is very helpful, polite and friendly.

Nice and beautiful hotel with decorated interiors which makes it feels like home. Price is a bit steep, but worth paying to get an old school colonial and cosy feel. Had a nice chinese/thai dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wong85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#23 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
7.1 mi away
Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $69 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing