We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very english experience!”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed August 25, 2008

After staying in some real budget accommodation we decided to stay somewhere a little nicer. We have mixed feelings towards this hotel; the rooms were clean, beds very soft and pillows lovely. There was a great English bar and some comfy sofas. The staff were lovely and very helpful.

However, there was no hot water for our first night and our room was on the main corridor next to the restaurant... it was very noisy and the waiters chatting outside our door didn't help. We moved rooms the next night and had a great night's sleep after a very hot shower.

Perhaps a little overpriced but an enjoyable second night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ms_kanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

We wanted a 'typical hill station experience', and this is just what we knew we'd get at Hotel Glendower. We arrived after a two and a half hour bus ride into the clouds from Kandy and were met at the bus station by the inevitable hotel tout for the hotel next door! So we walked with him all the way to where we intended to stay. After all, we hadn't booked, but we had every expectation of a room with the low numbers of tourists.

Negotiated the room for 3 sharing from 6,500 rupees to 6,193 because we were staying 2 nights. Beware that the 10% service and 17.5% luxury tax add ~30% to hotels in this price band and that service does not go to the staff. Those tend to be tipped separately via a tip box.

Glendower is a typical old hill station bungalow, extended over the years. It has a very "old British" feel to it.

Nuwara Eliya is a cool and damp town. It rains. So we played billiards in the hotel. This is where the mean part starts. 300 rupees for 30 minutes! That's the price of 3 meals in town!

We got soaked and cold. We asked for a heater. 400 rupees per night. After one night where the antique one bar electric fire made no difference at all we gave it back!

Why do they have to be mean like that? This is a reasonably luxurious hotel, so why the extras? Why?

Comfy beds, good shower, even a bathtub! Now that was luxury!

The food is Chinese, kind of! Sri Lankans seem to like Chinese food. So it was a spiced variant of a UK Chinese restaurant. Except they have no chopsticks! Be aware that the portion size is deceptive. Small is meant to feed 2 people. Not a hope! order one small portion per diner as a minimum.

The bar is friendly and the TV can be tuned to 24 hour cricket. Prices are reasonable.

This hotel is a great base to visit the local biological gardens and to visit the Pedro Tea Estate. No need for taxis, take a tuk tuk every time. The town is scruffy, dirty and filled with beggars bussed in from elsewhere, so, unless you are here for the horse racing, 2 nights is probably the maximum stay you will want.

We had to catch a 7:30 am bus, and we were given generously packed breakfast packets for the trip. Service is faultless, quality is ok, staff cheerfulness is very high. No need to spend more on a higher priced hotel, but know that this one is quirky!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

The most awful hotel experience I've ever had in 12 years of visiting Sri Lanka. I stayed one night at the Glendower Hotel in February 2008 with my husband, our 3 month-old baby and my parents and managed about 1 hour's sleep the whole night. We were given small, dark rooms although the room rate was fairly high and assumed this was because the hotel was full, only to find the next day that the hotel had been almost empty.
The rooms stank of mothballs so that the smell caught in our throats. In one of the two small rooms we found around 25 mothballs scattered about.
The handles came off the furniture in our hands. The crockery wasn't very clean when we ordered tea.
At about midnight a water tank on the roof above our room started to overflow down the roof. The sound was deafening. We could find no-one at reception, so we called and shouted and no-one came. So we phoned reception from our room hoping someone would hear, but nobody did.
Then the water started dripping through the roof and pouring into our room; onto the wardrobe and splashing onto us and our bags. There was water everywhere. Then the rats in the roof space started running, presumably to keep out of the water, and kept running and squeeling for a few hours.
At dawn my husband finally found someone in reception and made them turn the water to the tank off so I and the baby could get a few hours sleep.
We were given the worst breakfast we had in a month in Sri Lanka.
Then the acting manager at the desk did not apologise, and would not deduct anything from the room price. He wouldn't even come and look at the room to see how wet it was. Finally he agreed to call the actual manager on his mobile and I spoke to him myself. The actual manager asked to speak to the duty manager and the room boy, and then chose to believe the room boy (who told him there wasn't any water in the room) over me (eyes half shut with a tiny baby having been up all night trying to keep the baby dry). The manager didn't bother to apologise, and refused to deduct more than 20% from the room rate.
It was the worst customer service experience I have ever had anywhere, including Sri Lanka.
Don't stay at the Gelndower Hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FernandoGMozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SabienS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank philippealainb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Micha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $75 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing