We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the town”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in the town”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a nice time here, stayed 3 nights. The room was spotless and large and the bed was cosy and warm in what can be a cool place in Sri Lanka. Bathroom was adequate.
But what made this hotel for us was the staff and manager Mr De Jong. He was just so friendly to us, and entertained us with his billiard playing! The staff are excellent, made us feel really welcome.
Once the sun goes down the town is not very inviting, so this hotel with a fire in the lounge is lovely in the evenings, reading a book with a pot of tea was just so comfortable.
The grounds are based on an English country garden, lovely to sit in when the sun shines. The location is perfect, near to the town yet no noise issue at all. We didn't eat dinner so can't comment. We would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    82
    67
    41
    27
See reviews for
77
116
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location is excellent. The well manicured garden with the view of the hills is very refreshing specially when you are sitting in the garden and enjoying your morning tea.
The beds and pillows are really very cozy and soft. After the whole days touring and travelling this is what you need. They provided an extra bed for my teen child.. the room was very spacious.
Staff are friendly, they try to be at your service but as the town itself is sleepy by nature with the cold and mist... so is their service.... but with given time they do a decent job.
What the management need to really focus is the toiletries that they provide...that is of really very poor quality and they give only a tiny of the tiniest soaps,,, with nothing else.. so the guests are advised to take those along with them.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your child/children u mention it to them they will arrange for a bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is best for short stay. Foods are ala-cart. No much vareities in meals. Rooms are OK. Price is slightly high with other hotels around. But it helps to keep this some level. Overall satisfied & can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGHarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Check in was very fast. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, but unfortunately the bathroom was dank and smelly and there was some mould and mildew, it needed a revamp desperately. We only stayed one night, and had dinner in the Chinese restaurant for convenience. The meal was cold and rather unappetizing. Breakfast was good, an egg and plenty of toast, the fruit juice was freshly squeezed. The setting was quaint with a rural feel. The service was good and value for money wise it was ok if your on a budget. Maybe for the better bathroom, next time I would perhaps try the Grand Hotel up the road. Its within walking distance to town which is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't get fooled by the outside cottage look. This is really bad. Rooms are humid, bathroom is really old, and the restaurant, how to describe? chinese nightmare meets an English house? Food was not good at all. Fortunately it was just for one night that I certainly need to forget.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mundo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice hotel situated in the city center. Beautiful hotel, garden and friendly staff. The lounge is so comfy and lot of things to see. very nice inn.
It was very cold but the rooms had no heaters. Yet comfortable.
The only disappointed was the food- very poor quality.
I would give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Roques National Park, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived to our last day, the staff's attention to detail in room service and poolside was absolutely the best ! All staff were friendly and courteous. The level of cleanliness was as good as if not better than our house. All the grounds were very well kept up. To the management and Staff - thanks for an awesome vacation!! I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
792 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing