We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming colonial style hotel in need of some refurbishment.”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is not too big and is an old-style bungalow made into a hotel.
As soon as you enter the hotel's common room, you find yourself immersed in an old world charm with deep brown upholstered sofas and a fireplace. The wooden flooring as well as the room furniture continue in the same vein.
Once inside your room you will find that the basin (as with a couple of other tea bungalows I have visited) is outside the bathroom. The bathroom itself has a large-ish bath which has its own charm.

However, charm can only take a hotel so far. After a while the old-world charm gives way (unpleasantly) to a feeling of outdated-ness, not-so-pleasant beds and uncomfortable bathrooms. It is in need of urgent refurbishment. Not only the rooms but the reception area/ dining room, in short the entire place.
Also, the food available here is nothing spectacular.

If adequate capital is used in restoring and renovating this place, I am sure that it can become a tourist magnet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 256 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was a dissapointment. Lovely from the outside but sooo dated inside - needs tlc badly.
We found ourselves doing everything we could to avoid going back and spending time in the hotel.
Can't fault the staff to be fair.
Breakfast was average.
I'd avoid if you can, but if everywhere is full (like it was for us) you'll be able to get by here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Glendower Hotel is a tired throw back to the Colonial era. Nice gardens, but the interior needs significant capital investment. Bedrooms are large but shabby interior, feeling damp and musty.
The only positive was lots of hot water - unlike many other places in Sri Lanka and its good central location. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We didn't stay the night at the Glendower, but we headed here to watch a football match and they were kind enough to get their big screen out for us so that we could watch it. The staff were very friendly and the guests that we spoke to seemed more than happy with their stay. Good location for walking around the town too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathwilseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wow, this hotel messes with your mind. After leaving the extreme heat of Sri Lanka and arriving to the cool, damp Nuwara Eliya you are instantly transported to a dreary, drizzly English town. The Glendower is quaint and chock full of colonial charm. Our room was very large with creaky hardwood floors. The floors in the room were gorgeous. I found the room itself to be exceptionally clean. The bar in the hotel is something to be seen, and the garden out back was nicely manicured - too bad the weather didn't cooperate for us. As we were leaving early to hike at Horton Plains, they packed a take away breakfast for us and our driver. The meal was good.

We were unable to connect to wifi and were told they had been having trouble for several days. We ended up going to have tea at the hotel just behind Glendower's gardens so we could use their wifi connection to get caught up.

The hotel is located well within walking distance from the centre of town, but away enough that you avoid the traffic noise. It was also nice for a little walk to see the town.

Given the climate, the extreme dampness and mildew in the hotel was not unexpected. Damp linens are not the best but hard to avoid in this situation. The beds themselves were not comfortable. I had to flip my mattress end over end to avoid being stabbed by springs. It was slightly better but still less than comfortable.

Our room was extremely noisy. There was a lot of banging noise late into the night and early in the morning. I do not know if it was pipes or perhaps carried from the restaurant? We were also situated in a room where we could easily hear the conversation of those in the room next to us. Luckily, we only heard talking!

Our driver enjoyed his quarters and there was ample secure parking and good water pressure for a shower.

There is a quaint charm to this hotel. I would stay here again if in the area and the price was right. I felt we overpaid by about 2000 rupees for the room compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent two nights here during our tour of Sri Lanka. We arrived by train from Kandy at Nanu Oya, which is 9km away. The Glendower has a wonderful colonial feel. Our bedroom looked onto the beautifully kept garden and was a very good size. The food was good and service from all the staff was excellent. It is a short walk from the Glendower to the town centre (passing the Victoria Gardens on the way). A short walk in the other direction is the Single Tree Hotel, where we hired mountain bikes and went out on the road to Kandapola where the views across the tea plantation are fantastic. (Head up to the Heritance tea factory for a really great cup of tea in a breath taking location - we liked it so much we booked in for a night after we left the Glendower).
We ate at the Glendower on the first night - the food was predominantly Chinese. The dining room is comfortable with some impressive tables. Then there is a very comfortable lounge with comfortable deep leather chairs - where we watched the 20/20 cricket. There is also a bar and a billiard room upstairs. The second night we ate at a restaurant next door (I can't remember the name, but you can't miss it) which was basically a tent in the back yard of a service station - where the food was Sri Lankan and excellent - and cheap) For the money, I could not fault this hotel. They organised our onward travel which arrived promptly and after the tea factory the driver then returned to pick us up and take us to Kitulgala.
There is a good selection of hotels in Nuwara Eliya, but I can certainly recommend this one. I have added some photos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeydeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

wonderful hotel in the colonial style. In a quiet location in nuwara eliya, not far from the Grand hotel. Rooms are large and decorated on colder days. For a short stay during one tour very suitable. The restaurant has to chin is Brown kitchen specialized, took some getting used to.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $75 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing