We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice English Style”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice English Style”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The hotels at Nuwara Eliya are much more expensive than those at other parts of Sri Lanka. At higher prices, the expectation is of course greater. I only get to stay one night here and I wish I can extend my stay for at least another few days. The hotel has a cosy lounge with nice ambience. The staffs were very hospitable and as I need to check out early the next day, they even prepare breakfast for me to takeaway. Room was clean and come with cable TV. However the size of the room is a bit small. For dinner, you can choose to dine in the hotel restaurant or walk 5minutes to a nearby restaurant serving western, Indian and Sri Lanka food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rejuvenate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    66
    41
    27
See reviews for
75
116
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Don't get me wrong - this has the makings of a good hotel. Its got an English country cottage style atmosphere and the rooms and public areas are quite good (although thay could restrict smoking in them). But the service and the restaurant!

When we arrived we were ignored at reception whilst 2 staff finished a conversation. One couple in our party of 4 got the room near the restaurant - noisy late evening and early morning (and I mean early). The wi fi didn't work although reception blamed my computer and I had to prove to him that the fault was there's. The wall mounted TV set in our room pointed at the ceiling or at the floor but not at our bed. And it had no US or European channels. The mattress on the bed was so worn that it couldn't disguise the wooden slats on the frame. The restaurant fell way short of the "best Chinese on the Island" claim - hot and sour soup that was tomato and sweet, tough prawns. Breakfast coffee was undrinkable.

We laughed our way through it. But never again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 and 2 - interconnected and closest to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our second visit as a family to the Glendower and the same high standard of comfort and service! Milan and his staff are to be congratulated on their quiet efficiency and politeness. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant and the chef even cooked his excellent rhubarb crumble at our request! This is just the kind of relaxing place to come after the hurly burly of the coast. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side catch the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColomboNewCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been travelling to Sri Lanka with family and by myself for many years now and always make it a point to come to Nuwara Eliya to spent time at Glendower, a home away from home! As you enter the hotel a sense of tranquility hits you. Once enscotched in one of their warm and comfortable rooms, it is a delight to soak in the atmosphere that is the Glendower! The staff are friendly, courteous and go out of their way to help you. The Chinese menu and food are excellent, with their Sri Lankan breakfasts hitting the spot everytime with a pot of high country tea. The bar is sight to behold and well stocked, the music the bar provides is class and whoever puts it together should be on the radio. A wonderful, wonderful place and all at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Over the years I spent coming to the Glendower, all rooms are warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieandthehotrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

It's a really nice English style hotel. We were brought here by our driver for lunch.

But we made a mistake and ordered Chinese food. I had duck. Instead of using the breast, they just hacked the poor fowl into pieces, including bones and everything. I was not able to pull off the meat. I ordered a new plate. There was not much more to it. In the end, they didn't charge us for the duck. Maybe they saw my face ;-) Prices are rather high for Sri Lanka. Service is good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The staff were very unfriendly. The food was bad and expensive. We had no seat on the toilet. We left feeling like we had paid over the odds for bad service and were not made to feel comfortable at all. It was the worst place we stayed in a 3 week trip to Sri Lanka, and the most expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scares123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Very nice hotel with very warm and helpful staff... You can find details of my trip with pics on www.kurupsdiary.blogspot.com.

we stayed 2 days here. teh staff helped us with all the routes and directions. This was our best of stays in the whole trip.

Room Tip: Book in advance and do carry warm cloths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadhishKurup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing