We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap perfect guesthouse”
Review of King Fern Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #2 of 277 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really nice chalet-style cottage, with personnel who are really friendly and more Western orientated than most of the places, which was nice for a change :-). Had a good night sleep before waking up early for a visit of the Horton plains and world's end.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 520 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

King fern lives up to its reviews on tripadvisor. It is beautifully located in a quiet corner of Nuwara Eliya, over a running stream of water in a small patch of woodlands. You're greeted by the friendly staff with a steaming pot of Ceylon tea and sit by the fire with your feet up, in our case drying out from the rain! The room we stayed in was very nice, although the doors were hard to open and close due to the wooden doors expanding with the moisture, I'm guessing. Beds and pillows were comfortable and very few mosquitoes here, making a change for Sri Lanka! There is a PC you can use or free wifi which is a reasonable speed. The food was nice and they serve a cold lion lager if you don't feel like a hot tea! The setting, as mentioned before, is fantastic and the building is very smartly designed to fit in with the landscape, even though it is a small hotel. The price is good value but book in advance as it seemed busy when we were there. We only stayed 1 night but genuinely wish we had longer here, it was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a brilliant place to stay. The room is great, really spacious and big balcony. The staff are incredible. So helpful and friendly. The best thing is the food. Try the special byriani. Some of the best food we had during our month on sri lanka...and sooo cheap aswell!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thushani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place already has many good reviews all of which I agree with. However I want to add a big thank you to the staff for their help and kindness to a solo woman traveler. Excellent all round. This is the only place we stayed at in Sri Lanka which was so good we elected to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We originally booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4, its a great atmosphere where drums and guitar will get played in the evenings, the staff will go out of their way to help and there's great food.
We found the room very cosy but still spacious and there's HOT water, a must in the hill country!
Brilliant place a 5 min walk to town for anything you need, you should stay here. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_katy_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nuwara Eliya itself is slightly shabby and underwhelming, but an interesting place architecturally to pass through. The surrounding countryside is spectacular and the real highlight; winding through the tea terraces, vegetable gardens and waterfalls.

Unfortunately the cold and rain hampered our hiking plans in June, though the guesthouse manager Lai was an invaluable fountain of knowledge (he speaks great English) and helped arrange a Plan B for us, including info about buses and taxis.

The guesthouse is walking distance to the town centre and street food, but is set back from the main bustle in a green, private and quiet setting.

Rooms are spacious and great value though a little damp, given the climate, with occasional power cuts (pretty common across Sri Lanka). Wifi signal was strong, and the window-filled lounge/dining area has great views to a private fern garden and stream. The place has heaps of character. On especially chilly nights the fire is roaring and there's a nice communal area with TV if you're feeling social.

You can eat here, but we opted for the street food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcass272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a great stay here at King Fern Cottage in Nuwara Eliya. Staff was okay but helpful with other bookings. The rooms and the lounge were really nice and comfortable. Very good option for this city. We also had dinner here, which was very good. We will defintetely come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,659 reviews
5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#6 of 277 in Nuwara Eliya
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ferncliff
Ferncliff
#1 of 277 in Nuwara Eliya
265 reviews
1 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#20 of 277 in Nuwara Eliya
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $31 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing