We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little treasure, you will want to stay longer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King Fern Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #2 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little treasure, you will want to stay longer...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We originally booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4, its a great atmosphere where drums and guitar will get played in the evenings, the staff will go out of their way to help and there's great food.
We found the room very cosy but still spacious and there's HOT water, a must in the hill country!
Brilliant place a 5 min walk to town for anything you need, you should stay here. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_katy_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    148
    47
    31
    16
See reviews for
49
244
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nuwara Eliya itself is slightly shabby and underwhelming, but an interesting place architecturally to pass through. The surrounding countryside is spectacular and the real highlight; winding through the tea terraces, vegetable gardens and waterfalls.

Unfortunately the cold and rain hampered our hiking plans in June, though the guesthouse manager Lai was an invaluable fountain of knowledge (he speaks great English) and helped arrange a Plan B for us, including info about buses and taxis.

The guesthouse is walking distance to the town centre and street food, but is set back from the main bustle in a green, private and quiet setting.

Rooms are spacious and great value though a little damp, given the climate, with occasional power cuts (pretty common across Sri Lanka). Wifi signal was strong, and the window-filled lounge/dining area has great views to a private fern garden and stream. The place has heaps of character. On especially chilly nights the fire is roaring and there's a nice communal area with TV if you're feeling social.

You can eat here, but we opted for the street food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcass272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a great stay here at King Fern Cottage in Nuwara Eliya. Staff was okay but helpful with other bookings. The rooms and the lounge were really nice and comfortable. Very good option for this city. We also had dinner here, which was very good. We will defintetely come back here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May. After staying in not so great accommodation the night before, we had seen this guest house mentioned in our guide book and saw it had won lots of trip advisor reviews, so were hopeful of some nice accommodation. On arrival it turns out they had no space for our driver to stay (either that or our driver knew something we didn't and managed to get himself a nicer room elsewhere!) so he had to stay 1 km down the road. The place looked funky - all made out of wood and quite 'hippy'. The complex is a bit odd - all built on different levels. We had the middle height room to the right of the complex - they were refurbishing the room underneath us. Our room stank of damp which was a shame as it looked quite cosy - a superking double bed and a single bed. The bathroom was quite garish - dark blue tiles with a yellow toilet and sink - I quite liked it. Our mirror was broken and the bathroom shelf fell off when we put anything on it. Again the bathroom was a 'wet room' with no shower curtain.

The food was lovely in the restaurant and was the cheapest place we ate in on our trip - a coke was 80 rupees! Our waiter wasn't great at english so a few things got lost in translation. We had rice and curry which was again a lot of food which was lovely.

We didn't get a very good night sleep as everything was damp and clammy - it was horrible. The beds had blankets on them instead of sheets and they smelt of BO and damp - I don't think they'd been washed in a while. Getting to sleep was hard as you just felt very clammy and wet. The pillows smelt too - we put our towels over the pillows. On closer inspection in the morning, we noticed our walls actually had damp mould growing on them.

We wouldn't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at king fern cottage was amazing! Very friendly staff and owner and we had a super room! The beds are really wide with good mattresses and the shower is lovely... We read about the complaints of moist rooms but the are currently replacing all the floors (carpets etc) with wooden floors... hope it helps!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfreriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place was amazing. A beautiful little peaceful hideaway with amazingly helpful staff. Unfortunately our room smelt really bad - like it was musty and it was a bit dirty. The food was also only ok. If you get a clean room it would be a great place to stay. It's also just a 20 minute walk to town from here.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room under the stairs to the second floor as its the dirty one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1234Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but got out of the taxi here while dropping off two othere girls. We escaped from the taxi because we were being hounded by a rather agressive tout who goes by the name of Yoga. He kept trying to push us into staying in certain gyesthouses, no doubt for a commission. Upon arriving a King Fern, he actually ran towards the owner, begging him to say he was fully booked for the day, so we would have to search elsewhere. We decided to ignore him and he went away, clearly very annoyed. The owner of King Fern was very friendly and helpful. He phoned a few places and eventually set us up at the Trevene. We offered to pay for the phonecalls, but he wouldn't accept any money. Place seemed really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraLut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Property: King Fern Cottage
Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing