We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best deal in Nuwara Eliya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Fern Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #2 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best deal in Nuwara Eliya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This must be the best budget option in Nuwara Elyia. We stayed here two nights and had to move the third one, and to have the same type of comfort we should have spent much more. We had a spacious family room (a little cold the first night as we were not used to the climate), and enjoyed the breakfast (but the dinner was mediocre - we do not recommend the restaurant here!). The common spaces were very comfortable, with fire burning at night to keep us warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders_Briders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    146
    47
    31
    16
See reviews for
48
243
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived and entered through the restaurant, impressed by the design and friendly staff. When we reached our room on the second floor, it felt like an attic because it didn't have enough lighting and has squeaky floors. There was a small balcony but the view outside is not great so I'd rather stay inside. When we slept, we felt the sheets really worn out and should have been replaced. There was a very loud broadcast over the hills from some temple at 4am, which almost drove me crazy.

There was an incident that made us especially not happy with the manager. We asked for the price of a rental van with driver, and we could not agree on the price. He immediately showed attitude and asked us to settle our bill. While I didn't mind paying as I was leaving early next morning, he definitely was not friendly due to the car rental incident.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor are probably less damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We didnt stay here but joined a couple of friends for sri lankan breakfast. The hotel seems very nice, clean, warm with very nice and cozy common areas. There is one room for 2500 rps and prices rise up depending on the size and quality of the room. Food is good, though a bit expensive to my taste. The location is the only problem that wr find. U need a took-took ride to get to the centet, otherwise itsa 15 min walk (which is not very bad). Free wifi and hot waters in the showers.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank imki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place ticks some of the boxes; it has friendly staff, good food and is conveniently located, however we wouldn't hurry to recommend it. The main reason for this is the damp problem. The walls were covered in the stuff and the air in the room was musty (we were travelling with a baby and I wouldn't have wanted her staying there any more than a couple of nights). Although Nuwara Eliya is cold by Sri Lankan standards and it was raining when we were there, the other guesthouse we stayed in did not have this problem. A shame, as this guesthouse has potential.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed mid September 2012. First impression was excellent - so pretty, clever design, friendly staff. But they need to get the basics right and that means sheets on the bed! We overheard other travellers asking for bedding so checked ours and no sheet. One was given soon enough but to be honest it didn't smell too good but maybe it was just musty with damp. Wouldn't take much to make this a really pleasurable place to stay - as it was it came down low on best places we stayed.

Room Tip: Without a building site outside the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newton447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent two nights here during an extended birding tour of the Indian subcontinent. We stayed in an upstairs room accessed through a trapdoor at the top of the stairs and were amazed with size and stylish decor in the very clean room. It was like being in a spa retreat, so peaceful and relaxing with the garden with the running water flowing through. Very friendly staff and good quality food with a reasonable menu. The cool nights were eased by the great fireplace in the restaurant. It was within easy walking distance to shops and Victoria Park (great birding location).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The manager and his team are very very friendly and kind to all customers. most friendly of all places I´ve stayed in SL. beginning with transportation from train to the nice gesture of offering a tea before the rooms are to be seen. A very relaxing gesture for a relaxing arrival. Finally, they take care of tours to interesting sites in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Property: King Fern Cottage
Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing