We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Charector”
Review of Plantation Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantation Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel with Charector”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one day on our birding trip of Sri Lanka inJanuary. Frankly, I am surprised at some of the negative reviews in this site. I, for one was really impressed by the place. Apart from some really exquisite vintage cars including Porsche design tractor, the design, furniture and the general atmosphere impressed one with a colonial tea plantation air. Rooms have a quirky art-deco type feel, which I suspect put off some reviewers who expected urban Spock and span.
The staff is extremely well behaved and friendly. Food was also quite palatable. What really takes the cake is the ambience of the dining area. The lower dining room overlooks the Kelani river and you watch rafters and fishermen in the river. Even our rooms had balcony with the a view of the river.
I will recommend the place to anyone who enjoys old colonial luxury.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kkoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
36
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NE England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Of the rooms 3 excellent, 6 OK, 3 poor.
We were in a just OK one!
Small hotel with big grounds set by the river.
Outside dining but under cover in 3 locations.
Food good but can be very busy during the day as plenty of tourists stop here.
Bedrooms disappointed and bathrooms not good and need a refurb.
Interesting car museum and superb location if intending to go white water rafting or forest walking.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the 3 bedrooms overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackoNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Plantation Hotel during our road trip to Kandy. we stayed there one night. The hotel situated by Kalani river, the location is good. We found this hotel online and the photos we saw in their website was looking good. however, it was a completely misleading situation. We were offered a room facing the river but to get there you have to pass very old looking two kitchens and very dirty walking path. when we entered to the room it was not what we imagine. The bathroom is very smelly and there is no air circulation. The person who took us to the room did not explained well about the room and the hotel as a result we had to spend time to find light switches/remote control/ ect before we leave for the lunch.

The room is itself very old and dirty looking. Cushions and armchair should be cleaned. food was horrible and very dry. If you need any room service you have to call them using your mobile or have to walk to the reception through kitchen and the dirty path.
We arranged rafting from the hotel but if you go out you can find it cheaper than the hotel. Hotel staff is not friendly but very curious to know whats happening in the inside of the room. If you are going with young girls or as a couple, you should not allow any room service to inside of your room and keep your doors locked properly.
Defiantly not recommending to go there. You can find some other decent place to stay that value what you pay for.
I see that they need good operational manager and a renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thara-kodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kitulgala hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night only. The reason we chose this place was because our travel agent gave us two options either the tents at River resort or the room at plantation. Because f the inclusion of a bathroom here we chose this place. However as soon as we gt here we regretted by dinner we wanted to run. By breakfast we were out f here. The bedroom is all antiques and dirty! Three dead insects in the shower. With some renovation it would be an amazing place due to its structure.
The staff at the restaurant are extremely rude and ignorant. At lunch the place was full bcz the endpoint fr the whitewater rafting is here. By evening we realised us and another family were the only occupants here. Our neighbours complained about a lizard in their room.
Fr dinner I had spaghetti which was not very nice. Best and safest food here to eat is the fries!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatemajamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here while whitewater rafting in Kitulgala.First of all we enjoyed our stay here,quite relaxed and laid back and a super location to stay if you plan to do the whitewater rafting.Room was clean,TV worked fine as did the aircon.

The hotel itself is quite old and in serious need of renovating but is kinda quirky at the same time.Overpriced,room locks need to be replaced and pump in showers needs fixing to avoid someone getting badly scalded when waters goes from cold to boiling.
Staff were nice but could do with a proverbial kick up the behind to improve the service.

All in all I'd stay there again but only for a night and I'd be trying to negotiate a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niallgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a part of our bird-watching itinerary...had to wait for an hour for our rooms to get ready but I guess that was because we were checking in early...Otherwise this was the best place in our entire itinerary...to relax after a hard day of walking in the jungle...

Room Tip: Try getting rooms near the pool...facing the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samir_Ovalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for lunch as part of a tour. It is billed as a 5 star designer hotel so we were expecting good things. The service was dreadful. We waited 30 mins for our food (sandwiches) and asked when they would be ready. A few minutes we were told. 2 more times of asking the food eventually appeared. 50 mins after ordering!! I had a toasted cheese sandwich which was like warm and tasteless. The accompanying chips were hard as it appeared they had been cooked more than once. Our request for a free drink to compensate for the service and food was ignored and our complaint fell on deaf ears. It was such a shame as the setting by the river was perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitulgala hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountriver Hotel
Mountriver Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kitulgala
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Edge
Forest Edge
#2 of 7 in Kitulgala
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 7 in Kitulgala
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rafters Retreat
Rafters Retreat
#2 of 11 in Kitulgala
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 7 in Kitulgala
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hotel

Property: Plantation Hotel
Address: 250 Kalukohutenna, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing