We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like creature comforts - this is NOT for you”
Review of Rafters Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafters Retreat
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We only stayed here for one night (thank goodness) as we were keen to do some white water rafting.
As you drive in, there is a really beautful old colonial house in the middle of a massive garden and we thought this was where we would be staying. Turned out this was the owners house and our accomodation was in a badly built treehouse down the way. I dont want to be mean, as the staff were very friendly, but the accomodation itself was super basic. The 'treehouse' was really badly constructed, the bed was on a slope and the 'walls' did not really offer any protection from the mosquito's since the windows had no glass and were open to the outside. The treehouse was set right by the river, wich offered a great view, but at night when we were trying to sleep - it was almost impossible due to the crashing noise of the river.

The staff did put up a mosquito net for us on request, but it was full of holes. The sheets also looked like they werent entirely clean.

The bathroom was very basic too. The first treehouse we were offered had the bathroom in a horrible 'basement' which you had to access through a trap door in the floor. Luckily they were able to offer us a different treehouse where the bathroom was at least on the same level as the bedroom. There was no hot water but at least the facilities looked relatively clean.

On a positive side, the rafting was great and though the guide didnt speak much english, it was enough to communicate the essentials. The river rafting was really fun. Also the food served was suprisingly good. I guess you get what you pay for here as the accomodation was cheap. Be careful not to book up front for the rafting (or to book it through your travel agent) as you will be charged approx $38 dollars per person. If you book it locally you should be able to get it for $15 - 20.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2006

This was exactly what we needed!
We stayed here in July 2006 which is meant to be the rainy season.. it rained once! But we were the only guest staying there, which was amazing... we had a wicked room, the bathroom was thourgh a trap door on the floor, and our balcony overlooked Kitulaga river. Food was fantastic, so beautifyl... we had curries all the time and loved it! We also went on a jungle trek... and white water rafting... would advise people to do both...
It was an amazing experience and would do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jan-Willem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Astrid9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank frederique g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kitulgala hotels
1.9 mi away
Mountriver Hotel
Mountriver Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kitulgala
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Edge
Forest Edge
#3 of 9 in Kitulgala
40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 9 in Kitulgala
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
3.2 mi away
Paradise Garden Resort
Paradise Garden Resort
#2 of 9 in Kitulgala
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adventure Base Camp Kitulgala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafters Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafters Retreat

Address: Hilland Group, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Kitulgala
Price Range: $76 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rafters Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafters Retreat Hotel Kitulgala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing