We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience - definitely recommendable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borderlands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borderlands
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fabulous experience - definitely recommendable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Perfect, perfect place for a family adventure holiday. The tents are great - comfortable, and such a location overlooking the river. We were looked after royally by Gwen and the team. We had our 3 boys with us, aged 9, 13 and 14, and were taken on some great adventures by Johan, rafting, canyoning and kayaking. Johan was a fabulous guide - definitely putting our safety first, and coming up with great games and adventures to keep us all happy and challenged.
We went during the rainy season, and so enjoyed sitting in the communal area, reading or playing games, as the rains lashed down. Food was delicious and plentiful. Shower blocks were clean and inviting. Stayed 2 nights. Wouldn't have minded a third!

Room Tip: The tents on the wooden platforms overlooking the river are spectacular - sitting on the balcony in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorderlandsL, Sales and Marketing Manager at Borderlands, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Rachel G
Thanks so much for sharing your experience of your stay at Borderlands on Tripadvisor.
It's such a thrill to get such positive feedback, and your kind words have been shared with the Borderlands Team.
You were a great and fun family to have stay with us, and always willing to get stuck in to whatever we put your way!
I hope that we see you with again sometime soon on a future family adventure!
Best wishes
The Borderlands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    39
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
99
77
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Borderlands. The activity guides/staff are cool, the food was great, our tent was spectacularly overlooking the nice cool river, and the activities available are so much fun. We can easily recommend this place to anyone who is keen in nature and adventure sport. Whether it be with your family, partner or group of friends, Borderlands really caters for all. I'd like to say thanks to everyone at Borderlands, you have a great set-up, and hope to be back very soon. Johnny & Becky.

Room Tip: A dip in the river each morning to wake up properly certainly beats any swimming pool in 5 star reso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CadizforniasurfJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorderlandsL, Sales and Marketing Manager at Borderlands, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Cadiz - it's been a while since you posted your review, but we all have really find memories of your stay and only wish you could have stayed another day or two with us! We really do hope that you'll find your way back to Sri Lanka and to Borderlands again sometime in the not too distant future. Happy surfing in the meantime!
Best wishes
The Borderlands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Think Queenstown, 50 years ago. No crowds, not backbackers, no bars. Just some of the best outdoor terrain in the world, full of unexplored potential. Now think of a camp overlooking a sleepy river stocked with good climbing, kayaking and canyoneering gear. Add to this the charm of loading up your gear on top of a tuck tuck for the morning shuttle and you start getting sense of why Sri Lanka will become the next big thing on the adventure travel circuit.

The camp itself is simple. Tents on top of roofed platforms. But simple is good in this setting. Food is fantastic, the cold water showers refreshing. Waking up to the sound of water flowing by is still got to be one of the best alarm clocks in the world.

The staff was great. Knowledgable and experienced guide. The manager, Gwen was fantastic. We contacted her with a few hours notice and she had everything sorted by the time we showed up. Not easy with a camp like this. She was also of great help in providing suggestions and ideas for our onwards journey.

All in all if you are looking to add a bit of adventure to the mix for your Sri Lanka trip, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wade had been telling me how he can make camp even more comfortable then usual, as I can only manage Glamping rather then hard core camping. I Like my comforts I must admit.
On that note, I held him to his word and invited a group of good friends to Borderlands for the weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday in a more adventurous way.
Camp turned into GLAMP and all of us were impressed with our glam tents along the river bank. Food: b-fast, lunch & dinner spreads was fab, all well laid out in the long house. Later in the evening Wade entertained us with his cool rocking guitar playing & singing the night away!
White water rafting & canyoning was of course the excitement for the weekend.
Even though some of our guests were nervous & not good swimmers, Wade's team was amazing with everyone from ages 8 up to 50! Starting out with safety drills, equipment & team spirit all were ready to go! What an exciting afternoon that turned out to be! Everyone came back to camp Glam feeling fearless and on top of the world!
What more can I say but we'll be back for more!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brycewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had the best two night / three day stay at Borderlands, Sri Lanka. Borderlands SL is a full service adventure base and rustic resort. Service was top notch, very personal and attentive. Location is ideal with accommodation in tents perched on platforms overlooking the river. Solid sleep to the sound of the river. Food was excellent with a nice mix of local cuisine and western dishes. I really enjoyed my day rafting with folks on the river and then canyoning. The operation is professional with close attention to safety and procedures. The activities are a real hoot. I enjoyed the place as a solo traveler. I noticed that Borderlands SL is well set up for groups. I am a teacher and thinking to get a student group from my school in Hong Kong to the place.

Room Tip: All of the lodging overlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorderlandsL, Sales and Marketing Manager at Borderlands, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Eric M
Glad that you had a good break from the hectic world of Hong Kong when you came to stay with us at Borderlands - we would of course love to have you back with your school on an outbound education programme next time, please do just get in touch with us about this. We always try and make solo travelers feel as much at home as possible when they come and stay, so am really glad you felt this way too.
Many thanks
The Borderlands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our experience in this hotel couldnt have been better. They were quite worried we didnt enjoy as much our stay because we were the only guests... as it turned out we werent and on top of that we had a marvellous time together with the rest of the clients and the staff. They are all very welcoming and ready to help you in whatever you may need. Their preparation and knowledge of the activities, the risks and the area couldnt be better.
Concerning the facilities and equipment they provide you with absolutely everything and all in really good state.
I particularly enjoyed the tent rooms and their situation facing the river... such nice views and sounds and none of the typical inconveniences of traditional campings!
If youre looking for some contact with nature I strongly recommend this place for its quality, and the friendliness of their staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isams1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorderlandsL, Sales and Marketing Manager at Borderlands, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear jaw1987
We thoroughly enjoyed having you all staying with us that weekend, and the fact that we ran our first commercial trip of our newly discovered canyon, made it all the more special.
Our staff, from our guides, waiter, kitchen staff all the way through to reservations make Borderlands what it is, and we are so incredibly proud of our staff.
i am sure that this will not be the last time we see you and your friends up at camp!
Best wishes
The Borderlands Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Living in Sri Lanka, you often look for a short weekend getaway. Borderlands has officially become my number one getaway, with its location on the Kelani River in Kithulgala and its cool weather it truly is a hidden gem. I was lucky to take part in a new canyoning event that takes you down various parts of a waterfall, it was an unforgettable experience. The group that I was with, was so much fun and as we were all living in Sri Lanka we could all agree on this being truly a great place to come and relax. The staff that takes you on the various activities are all very well trained and their main priority is your safety, something you don't find often in Sri Lanka. Due to the staffs professionalism you were able to feel relaxed and enjoy every moment of the activity. The food at Borderlands is just fantastic and as we had a vegetarian in our group the chef always made sure that he made enough vegetarian dishes. The owners of Borderlands Laxmi and Wade joined us as well and I was so glad to have met them and their little girl who was a ball of energy. Lastly, I would like to thank Gwen for organizing everything for me and I know that I will be heading to Borderlands very soon, and recommend Borderlands to anyone who is looking for a little bit of adventure on their tour of Sri Lanka or also a short getaway from the city.

Room Tip: These are tents not rooms but if you are a family I would recommend getting the family tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaw1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitulgala
16.4 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rafters Retreat
Rafters Retreat
#2 of 10 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kitulgala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal River Resort
Royal River Resort
#1 of 3 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 5 in Kitulgala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borderlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borderlands

Property: Borderlands
Address: Hatton Road, Kitulgala, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kitulgala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borderlands Adventure Eco-Lodge offers comfortable riverfront accommodation, in 4 tents and 11 cabanas (3 of which have en suite facilities) which are fully kitted with beds (which can be arranged from singles to doubles, with up to 5 beds able to fit in a family cabin) and have electricity throughout so guests can charge their laptops, phones and cameras. Each tent and cabana is located on a wooden platform with a private deck, with views overlooking the Kelani River and the surrounding mountains. All meals are served in The Long House, a great place to chill out at the end of the day. A full music system means guests can listen to their Ipods. Evening Movie Nights are offered, which is a great hit with kids. As well as offering accommodation, Borderlands runs white water rafting, canyoning, and white water and flat water kayaking activities from our ecolodge, and offers the largest number of sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in Sri Lanka. Other activities include abseiling, hiking, biking and swimming. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing