We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful tranquil oasis”
Review of Villa Ranmenika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ranmenika
Stoke Gabriel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful tranquil oasis”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you are after peace and quiet, excellent quality rooms and service, then this is the place. The swimming pool is nice and big, surrounded by beautiful gardens, and lovely birdsong. A real personal touch with the delightful Swiss owner / manager. Ask her to tell you how she came to build the hotel, and about her special elephant...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Villa Ranmenika is a gem of a guesthouse. We recently stayed with our 2 children and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very clean, comfortable rooms, delicious food, friendly staff and a beautiful garden setting are some of the highlights. There is also a large pool that the kids just loved. Ahungala Beach is just across the road and is a fine stretch of golden paradise which we found to be nearly deserted most of the time. The waves are quite rough so not great for very young children. My 6 and 14 year old had a blast body surfing.

Room Tip: We took 2 rooms for the 4 of us but there is a suite available. 101 and 102 open to a pretty atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knottsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

After many vacations spent at big,noisy, entertainment dense hotels, Villa Ranmenika was a dream. A beautiful Sri Lankan style house with wood framed windows,verandas and rooms hidden in a tropical garden. All this created an atmosphere where you could instantly relax.

The room was very clean with nice wooden furniture. There was enough hot water with good pressure. You could follow your individual day rhythm by ordering your meals from the restaurant. Food was really fresh (mostly ecofood) and excellent. Actually more like Sri Lankan home made food - but spiced to your taste.
At the beautifully shaped pool you can spend your time reading or napping. No loud speaker
music but birdsong and tranquility.
From Ahungalla it is easy to make trips to Galle, Beruwela or Hikkaduva. At Balapitya you can find boat safaris on a big lake.
A hint: go to the beach around 10 a.m then you can take part in fishing with a seine. Your help is appreciated by the fishermen. The beach is NOT crowded.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanava09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I booked through makemytrip / Booking.com and went with family to spend 2 days during X-mas last week. It's a very calm and quite place, Sea is little far away across the road, and not visible from any rooms. The service boys are very polite and very customer friendly. The owner lady speaks very nicely with the customers. There is a swimming pool, clean and maintained. All though they said the hotel is full, we could hardly see more than few people around. Our room did not have any view of outside. The balcony was only way out to see outside, however it was almost blocked by another building block of the hotel. Wi-fi coverage also did not reach to our block. Overall dissapointing !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjan_Advises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2011

A very nice , calm and cool place. Good hospitality & food. Recommend this hotel all nature lovers. Do not miss the mangrove safari.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAHESHKARTHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

What a delightful place to stay. We were there for a family wedding at the Heritance Hotel, about 500 metres along the beach. The gardens at the Ranmenika are beautiful, quiet and we saw at least 30 species of bird as well as monkeys and monitor lizards. The Ranmenika pool and garden are a haven of peace compared to the very busy and noisy Heritance pool area.

The bedrooms are comfortable but not luxurious. The pool is large, and we had it to ourselves most of the time. Visitors from the Heritance all agreed that the curries were far better at this small hotel than at the 5 star Heritance. Ranmenika has 3 stars, and they are well deserved.

The owner, Elfi, and her staff could not have been more helpful, they provided a dinner for 10 guests and 6 children from the wedding for us at short notice, and a lovely 8th birthday party, complete with cake, for our granddaughter.

The staff couldn’t do enough for us, they even climbed a coconut palm in the garden to retrieve king coconuts for us to sample. Badminton gear and other game items are provided. Taxis and tuc-tucs were always called when we needed them.

The river boat safari is well worth while, only 10 minutes from the hotel. The local buses and trains are worth a try, the girls enjoyed the ‘adventure’ of a local bus ride. A 2 or 3 day trip to Kandy and Tissimara by rail sounded very good, but we did not manage it ourselves.

We strongly suggest avoiding trips offered by beach boys to the ‘Moonstone mine’. It is a real rip-off, the mine is not genuine, the jewellery shop is the hardest sell we have found in years, and the prices are very high.

The whole area is still recovering from the Tsunami of boxing day, 2004. We saw destroyed buildings, new construction everywhere and we met several survivors. We feel that the holiday experience in Sri Lanka is excellent, and more tourist visits will help them recover.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is an undiscovered gem of a place. I have travelled Sri Lanka many times. I have travelled with my partner and 80year old mother. Staying here is like staying in your own private villa. A beautiful colonial villa excellently maintained. Spacious airy rooms, air conditioning, fan,spotlessly clean and excellent service. Elfie the owner cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one as do the staff led by the wonderful Angelo. On arrival my mother's walking stick needed a repair and this was whisked away and fixed straight away.
The grounds are large and beautifully maintained, with a huge swimming pool, which is a haven of peace and tranquility. No music, which I loathe, to disturb the natural sounds of birds and the rustle of the trees, and of course the shouts of the occasional monkey.

When I booked this place on the internet there was vitally no info, hence my first trip advisor entry. I was concerned from what I could see that the villa was next to the railway and far in land. Neither true. The train track is close as it is to all the hotels on this coast line but not a problem at all and the villa which is up a drive from the main road is only a short, less than 5 minute walk to the most beautiful unspoilt beach.

Another big plus is that you can take your breakfast at anytime, not constrained like the big hotels. And the service is second to none, nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed first in the suite, fabulous views over garden and pool and very large, and then moved into a room as we extended our stay. The room equally large had wonderful private terrace .

All in all if you are looking for a little bit of paradise on earth, i cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and for 69 dollars a night for the room plus usual taxes it is extremely good value for money

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
0.0 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ranmenika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ranmenika

Property: Villa Ranmenika
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 80562, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ranmenika 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Ranmenika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing