We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison Nil Manel
Nearby Hotels
$232
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
$101
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River House(Balapitiya)
$163
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
334
16
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
16
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon plantationbeautiful gardenperfect hostssri lankaour honeymoonboutique hotelmoniqueparadisegalle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 353 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed here for a few days including new years eve. It was like staying at a rich relative's luxurious mansion filled with antiques, art, and smiling staff to take care of everything you might require. beach is a short stroll and we took two days of tours; to Galle / tea plantation and to a nearby lagoon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank th5xe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Please take the time to read our full report as we are probably the first reviewer to score La Maison Nil Manel as less than excellent. We did think that this hotel was excellent. The building is splendid - a fine property retaining original features and incorporating contemporary materials and furnishings alongside traditional furniture and antiquities. The swimming pool is delightful - warm and clear. The food from their kitchen is excellent. We heard that some people said it was expensive - we didn‘t but don't compare it to Sri Lanka's popular low cost curry and rice, this is high quality fusion cooking. La Maison Nil Manel is only a very short walk from a very long, almost deserted, sandy beach which is ideal for a daily walk. The sea undercurrents are strong so it isn't really a swimming beach but still very enjoyable. So why the negative mark? As we said, the hotel is a very small boutique hotel - it only has 6 rooms. This makes it ideally suited to offering the most luxurious service for the discerning client but the little touches were sometimes lacking. We had one of the two suites and, other than more space, there was no reason to have booked it. Having looked at the deluxe and standard rooms, there was little to justify the additional cost of the suites. We were there to holiday but as business people we do like to keep in touch with the rest of the world. The suite, in fact non of the rooms have any facilities - no fridge and no radio or TV. Wi-fi was switched on half way through our stay but the access code was not readily available. The suite did not have additional luxuries to make it homely - no flowers, fruit or drinks other than tea/coffee and water. In short, the hotel is wonderful, but could have offered those 'little extras' that make all the difference. We would have been less fussy if we had booked the standard or deluxe rooms but we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank The_Robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We've stayed 2 days in La Maison de Nil Manhel, and I have to say it was the perfect place to have a rest and end up our honeymoon. Monique and Chanaka are absolutely charming and they've made our stay unforgettable.
The rooms are furnished with excellent taste. The swimming pool is wonderful and the overall place looks like a little paradise on earth.
Chanaka is an amazing cook. We've had the best lobster and barracuda ever... !!Monique is a very nice and sweet hostess.
This is definitely a "must go" for sri lanka! I strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymoonersParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We spent a week at Nil Manel, and it was among our best hotel experiences ever. The hotel exudes a cosy and stylish atmosphere, with (only!) six perfectly designed and decorated rooms. Well chosen local art and craftsmanship can be admired in the rooms, in the lobby and in the restaurant part of the hotel. The owners, Monique and Chanaka, made us feel welcome from the very beginning to the end of our stay. Chanaka, who grew up in this region, is an excellent guide and resource for the numerous sights and places to discover in this part of the island, and into Sri Lankan life in general. And every night, after a dip in the nearby sea or the hotel pool, we discovered his local Sri Lankan kitchen with a European touch. All in all a superb place with superb people.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: L'hotel est à 200m de la mer, en retrait de la route, il est très calme
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews