We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel dangerous waves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I write this review purely to warn people to respect the surf. I have recently returned from this hotel where immediately in front of the hotel I body surfed a moderate size wave of hidden force which threw me head first into the ocean bottom. I escaped breaking my neck, but did not escape a head injury which left me with two black eyes. I am an experienced body surfer and I write this to warn people. There IS a danger flag in front of this hotel I just apparently chose to ignore it. Please don't be as stupid as I was.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
Thank viajeritita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment your experiences on the Trip Advisor We are very sorry about the accident you had to face at while surfing in the sea. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and will return back to our hotel soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,789 - 2,795 of 3,575 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

Excellent Hotel, good food, friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms
I spent 2 Nights in this wonderful Hotel and didn't want to leave
Me and my friend were so saddened while leaving this magnificent Hotel
It's the place to be :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you and your friends had a great stay with us although it was a short one. We hope you will return back to Sri Lanka and to our hotel soon. When you decide to come back please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Planned to trip to Srilanka for my wedding anniversary with my entire family. After landing at the airport and a pleasant drive to ahungalla we reached this magnificent property that sprawls out from the entrance and the fabulous use of water spaces. The property with its alluring pool, fabulous beach and amazing large rooms is magical. With excellent food, great all day activities, 2 superb pools, a stunning beach front and pleasing service this is one stay that will linger in memory for a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharamhinduja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla to celebrate a special day of you life. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful property and the array of food and the other services we provide. We are delighted to know that you have relaxed and enjoyed your holiday and carried back a wonderful memory with you. We trust you will come back soon to relive your happy moments with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday with our 10 month old baby here in November 2010. We stayed for 5 nights and came away so relaxed. The Resort has a fabulous setting right on the beach and is a fabulous design. The rooms are well appointed, with a very comfortable bed and the baby cot was a traditional wooden cot with high bars. Our baby slept very well. The bathrooms are lovely but a suggestion to the hotel to use different containers for the refillable products (as the shampoo etc was impossible to get out!). There are two excellent pools with loads of wildlife wandering around the poolside. The food was of good quality, and we had some nice meals. Not a lot of choice at lunch in the cafes. However in the main buffet restaurant, the breakfast was always lovely and there are different theme meals every night. The chef at the restaurant even made special meals for our fussy baby - fresh puree pumpkin etc at no charge. So kind of the Resort! The Coco Spa was also great, and I had a lovely body scrub and massage. My husband had a massage on another occasion and he loved that too. The staff were on the whole fantastic and couldn't do enough for you, but sometimes the cleaners of the rooms were a bit hit and miss (probably dependent on how much you tipped!). These minor criticisms aside, we would really reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about your holidy experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel , food and the services during your stay. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and your family and we hope that you will visit us soon for another great spell of holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

76km down south from colombo city. Approx 3 hours of travel. Located 500meters inside from the main Galle Road. Entrance is magnificient, pass through big palm trees and the last turn brings the WOW factor, as you will see the pond, marbled lobby floor, swimming pool and the ocean in one level in the horizon. MAGINIFIQUE!.

The welcome was warm and casual. Good way to start a holiday. Ideal place for relaxation and quite holiday. Beach is less populated as its the only hotel standing there.

Food is nothing exclusive, usual 5 star food and service from the staff. One bar and the lounge. Reasonably priced menu.

Activities are very much limited within the hotel. Nice place to pick your favourite author's latest production and enjoy the holiday.

Beach is rough during the time we visited. Always check with the life guard before dipping in to the sea. There are 2 swimming pools to compensate the bad sea conditions for a nice swim.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla As your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about your holidy experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive comments and are happy to note that you had a relaxing holiday with us. We are also extremely happy that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and the facilities. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you while you were on holiday with us. We trust that you would come back for another spell of great holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Nice hotel but let down by a couple of things. Some of the staff are lovely but.... My daughter's favourite Jack Wills t-shirt went missing - one she wore to sleep in, so she never took it out of the room. The hotel staff are very hungry for tips (one waiter told me within a minute of meeting that he was the sole breadwinner for his family and he only earned 4,000 rupees a month). It gets oppressive. The cleaners come into your room (both sets, am and pm) and tell you they are the only person responsible for cleaning your room (and can I have a tip please! ). We were given only one mug, and there were a lot of mosquitos in the room. The toiletries are in refillable china containers and its impossible to get anything out of them. Food is very good but lunches and drinks very expensive. Gave us a lovely christmas eve meal and went to great efforts (ice sculptures and father christmas arriving in a boat.) Waited for ever for coffee in the morning. Not much to do when it rains and the water was too rough to go in the sea, plus you get hassled and followed on the beach. Could be so much better.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank janeadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience about the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We have read your comments about the shortcomings that you had to undergo during your stay in the hotel We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused to you in this regard. We have immediately taken note of the shortcomings that needed to be rectified and we assure you that we have handled them. We have also advised our service staff it is against the policies of the hotel to ask for any tips and that if they are reported, the management will take a very serious view of the complaint. Despite these few shortcomings we trust you had a good stay at our hotel. Please do visit us again to see the difference in our service and our product. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

After a long and sick drive of about 9 hrs at a stretch right frm the Heritance Tea Factory Nuwaraeliya...totally devastated with the fluctuations in the temperatures ...n in the most crankiest of states i checked in at around 8 pm with my husband and my 9 yr old child..assumin its gonna be sad..but to our surprise we were welcomed by the stafff with that everlasting smile..not to forget the very patent quality on every face of the stafff...must thank the management for training them well..smart guys....followed with a young charming stafff leadin us to the main lobbyy..who offered us the welcom drinks..which she very meticulously carried each time ina lovely wooden old age herited trolly and offerd it to the guests with great pleasure..hope it was real...but if nt very well mastered.. And than followed the smooth checkins... we wwer led to our rooms....well to be honest..the roomsdi d have a perfect combination of asthetics but the only regret...no perfection in the fittings n finish of thewashrooms...although when demanded to the staff, was told it is one of the most expensive finishes they have used....very diplomatic...also the monotonous use of the tiger print cushions all around the room and the lobby appeared very loud..could have used more soothing colours as it hindered with the lovely asthetics....of the property...full marks for the external beautification...especially the greens created on the first floor..... excellent spread of food in jute...although no good ventilation...could use better exhaust systems s could be suffocsting for kids n for vegetarians..piping hot services in the coffee shop....which could be customised....a boon for veggies as have a seperate vegetarian menu...a special thanks to who so ever who included it...a lovely infinity poooll..which is the most significant n distinguishing portion..of the property....the blues ready to give the most perfect relaxation to ones eyes...n followed wwith the serene beach...where one can enjoy the sun settin down and watch how it adorns the sea n blazes it in shades of yellow,pink,and sometimes orange...a perfect romantic moment for a couple who has taken its first baby steps ina relation....cest voyage de noces....or honeymoon......and but ofcourse how can i forget the most over whelming experience..special private cocktails along the beach side for a few hand picked guests...and we were one of them it was aprivilege..the bartender showing all his skills..juggling away..well we were served cocktails to our hearts content...along with a perfect interaction with the guest relation guys....who made us feel extremly comfortable....n not to forget also apologised if anything was not done rightly throughout the stay...very convincing way..good training ..i had a stay for just three nights but i regret for havin done a late checkin at 8 i lost on a half day..... wish i could have stayed for the new years and hadent gonee to colombo...and wasted my stay at Taj samudra..one of the most horrible way to begin ones new year...a special thanks to ll the wonderful and ever helping and smiling staff..from ahungalla..YOU GUYS ROCK BUDDIES...THANKS for making my stay the most beautiful in srilanka....must say....c"'etait une experience inoubliable....et sans aucune doute selon moi c""est le meillieur property a srilanka entierment...bonne chance mes amis...je vais vous voir si j""aurai la chance...merci a tous..aurevoir...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinjalsejpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination although your stay was a short one. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted by the lengthy positive description you have made about the hotel and are motivated by them. We hope you will come back to our hotel once again during the holiday season and give us another opportunity to take care of you and your family. Please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: $112 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing