We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Wedding at the Heritance Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Ahungalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding at the Heritance Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We got married at the Heritance Hotel 3 weeks ago and I must say that it was a “DREAM WEDDING”. We had close to 100 guests attending from all over the world, many of whom were in Sri Lanka for the first time. We were also hosting 4 functions (3 dinners and a lunch), all to be coordinated by the hotel whom we had been interacting with mainly through email and phone calls (aside from a couple of visits to the hotel during the initial stages of planning). We were a bit concerned about how things would pan out over the three days of festivities and I have to say that we could not have been happier!!!

During the evenings of our celebrations, it was expected to rain and the hotel did a great job to meet with us to discuss alternate locations for the functions in the event of rain. Even the alternate locations were all different places as we wanted to make sure we had different venues to create a different vibe for each of our functions.

The chefs of the hotel held separate meetings with us to ensure that the menus were what we wanted. They delivered to all our needs, including creating figurines for our wedding cake that were wearing the same outfits my husband and I had on for the wedding!!! Additionally, a friend of ours had specific dietary needs and the staff at the functions made it a point to find it and give him his specially created meals.

Our Friday evening function was to be held on an island outside the hotel but due to the threat of rain, we cancelled that and decided to reschedule it for the next day at lunchtime- quite a last minute decision! The hotel took charge of all the logistics and we had an incredible lunch the next day at the Island catered to by the hotel. We even wanted to rent a boat that was already on the lake to serve our guests drinks while they were taking a boat ride, and even on that the hotel delivered!!!!!

On the day of our main event, it started to rain during our outdoor sit-down dinner. In less than 5 minutes (and I am NOT exaggerating), the hotel had moved us into the alternate location and we were back into the swing of our celebrations!!

Sampath (the Assistant Manager at the hotel), the Chefs, the F&B team, Kay Kay and the rest of the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us at every instant, even when we had less formal dinners and meals before and after the wedding celebrations.

In addition to this, the hotel rooms were very nice and the hotel accommodated all our requests in terms of room and needs. The ambiance itself of the hotel is great- the hotel is the perfect size: small enough where we could run into and mingle with our guests during the day and also large enough where our guests could have their own space and time.

So in the end, we managed to have cocktails on the beach at sunset, dinner in the lawns, dancing in the nightclub, wedding ceremony on the beach, sit down dinner on another set of lawns, a welcome dinner in the open air at yet another location in the hotel and a great boat ride followed by an incredible lunch on an Island.

It is a wonderful place to host a wedding and the hotel made sure that we got everything we wanted and made our wedding even more perfect!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your ideal wedding destination and also for taking time and trouble to post a review on the Trip Advisor sharing your wedding experience with us. We are delighted by the comments that you have made and are extremely happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. Please know that it is a great pleasure for us to know that we have been able to make our dear guests happy and satisfied with our service and our product. We hope that your next holiday too would be to Heritance Ahungalla. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we too can be ready to welcome you back. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,434
    592
    227
    62
    53
See reviews for
1,153
1,095
69
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Checked into hotel Mid August into a luxury room and I would highly reccomend paying that little bit extra as the rooms are huge! And you get a bath tub that overlooks the pool.. but no one can see in as there is mesh stopping.. so its very private!

On arrival sat down with a welcome drink (Pineapple or Wood Apple juice) as we came early from Colombo around 11am and room was not ready.. but that did not bother me as they advised full occupancy in hotel before we came and cannot get early check in which was ok because My partner and I sat in the bar and had a few drinks.. they came to us and gave the key instead of us going to reception....

Went to our room! and I thought it was very very clean.. the bed was so comfy...
In the luxury rooms there is no ceiling fan tho, but you have an aircon which gets cool in the nights ... Room was cleaned every morning and evening.. fresh towels and bathrobes...

Both pools were good but i prefered the private pool the best!
& it had a spa you can use from certain hours and relaxing!!

I used the Coco Spa and got a sweedish massage and it was the most relaxing thing, and was very professional as they drape you properly with the towels and do an amazing job.. they are Balinese ladies and very lovely and do a great job!
My husband got one the following day!

Food in the resturant was beautiful... you can get your Sri Lankan curries or you can get Bbq night.. prawns.. lots of salad to choose from... & soups.. my favourite was the deserts.. so lovely ...


Staff and chefs were nice! overall i would stay here again.. beach is too rough to swim though which is dissappointing.. as im from Australia .. i love the beaches..

I reccomend seing Hikkaduwa and the huge turtles you can swim with..
Great experience you dont even feel like your in the hustle and bustle of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife and I had two great weeks here, we found all the staff delightfully friendly and polite. special mention to Kithriri,Paleitha and Sunil the pool attendants and K K who is so helpful and friendly. Both the pools are fabulous, the food was good and plentifull.
Two must visit places are the Turtle Hatchery which is very close to the hotel and the Elephant Orphenage even though it is a 3 and 1/2 hour drive by car. Dont drive yourself unless you are very brave.There is also a mix of wild life around the hotel like Chipmonks, Iguanas and monkeys, the chipmonks will come and eat from your hand.
It was our first visit to Sri Lanka and we would visit again the people are wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymadBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We planned a weekend outing to the Heritance Ahungalle with the expectation of spending a weekend doing nothing but relaxing all day long. The Heritance didn't fail to deliver and in fact exceed our expectations.

The striking points was the absolutely awesome food and very friendly and helpful nature of the staff. Despite the fact that all 150 rooms of the hotel were occupied, the staff still found the time to have a friendly chat with us and make us feel at home.

My wife and I had a very relaxing holiday and my 1.5 year old daughter truly had the time of her life. In fact she enjoyed it so much that she got into a very playful mood and kept us up half the night.

In a nutshell our experience was as follows,

Pluses
- Super food
- Very friendly staff
- Spacious and clean room
- Two pools

Minuses
- Renovations were underway at the hotel and we couldn't use the room balcony
- Spa was overpriced

Overall it was a super holiday and a big thank you to the Heritance staff who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property and our services. We are delighted by the comments that you have made and are extremely happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return to Heritance Ahungalla.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

This is a big beachfront property a little south of Bentota. Though the hotel is visibly aged, the rooms are maintained pretty well and are very comfortable. Most rooms have nice view of the sea. The swimming pool is large and is very well maintained. The beach is quite good and is clean but is not ok for swimming.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabyasachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on the Trip Advisor.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you again.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here for a few nights in August 2010 as part of a one month trip. I was very excited about staying here as it was designed by one of my favourite architects, Geoffrey Bawa. However, it was a little bit of a let down on a whole.

On arrival the hotel is lovely. You drive through some large gates and up to the open reception area where you immediately notice the infinity pool which looks great. All the staff are very smiley but unfortunately the front desk staff don't really know what they are doing. There was a lot of commotion and we did not get checked in for an hour. Some of our friends did not get checked in for 2 hours. Not what you want after a long journey!

First impressions of our room were ok. They are clean but nothing special. We were promised a spectular suite as we were there for a special occassion but we were just given a standard deluxe room which was disappointing. We eventually got our suite on our last night but the only difference was a bit more space and a bath so not really worth the extra money in my opinion.

We spent a lot time around the infinity pool which is very clean and the pool boys are great. They provide water aerobics every morning and organise water volleyball straight after so it's a bit lively around that pool up unti lunchtime. There is another pool but we didn't use it. If you like your exercise there is also a small gym which is ok. It's small and basic but has the essentials. You can also go for a run along the beach but as with almost every beach in Sri Lanka be prepared to get hassled by the beach boys/women. One guy came for a run with me whilst trying to sell a tour which I thought was very amusing. Unfortunately I could not give him any business!

The food here is great. There is a huge variety on offer and you won't be disappointed. However, if you order snack food be prepared to wait or for the staff to get your order wrong. This seemed to be the norm from our experience and speaking to other guests. The same goes for ordering drinks. They are super slow. You can quite often see your cold drink getting warm on the bar whilst the waiters have a chat. People were constantly chasing up the waiters or walking up to collect their own drinks.

The staff, with a few exceptions, seemed to be the main problem at this hotel. They are all very friendly but even the simple things seemed to be an effort. Luckily we have a lot of patience so we found it funny but it was obvious some couples and groups there were getting very frustrated. We stayed at several other hotels in Sri Lanka and the staff were a lot more on the ball. Even when we checked out it became chaos. Lot's of confusion, incorrect bills and in one case it took nearly 1.5 hours! It was a group of 6 but still, not acceptable. We took 30mins and there was only 2 of us.

To sum up, this hotel is nice. It has character but it is certainly not 5 star. The rooms and staff could be so much better. My plus points would be the infinty pool and the food. Everthing else could do with improvements. I would recommend this hotel but on the basis don't go there expecting the ultimate paradise. It's good but there is better in Sri Lanka. It's pretty good value for money but needs some attention. 7.5/10 overall.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your Holiday Destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and our service on the Trip Advisor. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back to us with your family soon. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Loved this hotel, great for couples. Gives you everything you expect from a 5 star hotel. nothing too fancy but very relaxing with very nice staff.
"beach boys" as locals call them are a bit annoying when you leave the hotel boundaries which are marked with flags.
those were the only thing to annoy, but as long as you keep yourself inside the hotel boundaries and enjoy watching the ocean not swimming you are fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waleed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property and we greatly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return to Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.4 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
13.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing