We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in the Heritance Ahungalla Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday in the Heritance Ahungalla Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

On entering the private secured ornate gates to the Ahungalla Hotel in Sri Lanka I was overwhelmed by the view which I had arrived at. The beautiful water feature at the front of the hotel with its modern design and an open plan reception. I was greeted by a beautifully dressed Sri Lankan lady who presented me with a flower and showed me to a seat by a spectacular infinity swimming pool and a stunning bar area, I was then given a choice of a complimentary welcome drink and my luggage was taken to my room. On arriving at my room which was beautifully designed with an amazing view of yet another tranquil and beautifully designed pool area and the beach just behind I was more than happy with the accommodation, the bathroom was lovely and a great deal of thought had gone into the lay out and design, however there was no bath. After expressing my slight concern and explaining I was here alone for ten days and had stayed at another two Heritance hotels on this trip I was greeted by the Manager who then showed me to yet another stunning room with equally beautiful views and a bath. The food in the restaurant has been better than I could have ever imagined, with traditional, local, European and oriental and pretty much world wide cuisine. The staff were fabulous and could not do enough to help. The entertainment in the evenings was very tastefully, educational and fun. I would also like to express on my oppinion from a woman travelling alone this hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at due to its atmosphere, staff, security and the clientel which it attracts. I will be returning in the very near future with my family to come and visit the lovely people who work here which I would now class as my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avriltailorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    618
    233
    64
    54
See reviews for
1,204
1,135
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Heritance Ahungalla is not by UK standards a 4,5 star hotel but it was a nice hotel. There is a good selection of restaurants from buffet, café style, fine dining to an outdoor grill and all was off fantastic quality. We went for the B&B option and it worked out we spent about £28pp per day for lunch, dinner and a couple of drinks ( even had lobster one night!) The rooms are a good size however we found the linen and towels to often be dirty. Unfortunately we also had a small amount of money stolen by the cleaning staff. The location is perfect if you want a hotel that is more isolated but for us it was a little quite. During the monsoon session the sea was too rough to swim in so you are limited to sitting by and swimming in the pools.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_bristol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your Holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble in reviewing our property and we greatly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to your return to Heritance Ahungalla.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We visited Heritance Ahungalla after long flight from UK. It took us 3Hrs to reach the hotel from the air port. Once we arrived in the hotel we had to wait another 2Hrs to get our rooms. 9in the mean time we not not informed that rooms were ready until I requested them the delay.

Rooms were dirty in the old block and damp.

Standard Sri Lankan food serverd in the main restaurant. But pricing is so high. (USD$50.00 for two people for rice & curry)

Pool - was great - clean & large pool of two different pools were great.

Checking out was a experience where we had to go to a back office to make the payment. The cashier in the back office has no customer service experience at all. Not even a THANK YOU were said when the final bill was settle down.

Around the hotel area their is no any other shops, restuarnt or attractions.

I hope the hotel improve standards.

Considering the service you get in Asia South Hotels - Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, these hotels give a better value for your $$$ and more great options.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PanthaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to you return to the Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Loved the hotel - rooms very classy with good air conditioning. Green pool was a fantastic area with squirrels and iguanas for entertainment. Food good and nicely varied in the evenings. Staff friendly and helpful. Would return with little hesitation. Do not attract the attention of the Hawkers on the beach though!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentetetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our property and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just returned from two weeks at the Heritance and what an experience!! We were lucky enough to be staying at the hotel alongside the Sri Lankan and Indian cricket teamsand were made to feel part of the whole thing. Everyone was so welcoming and eager for us to join in with the celebrations associated with the national game. The Heritance is an experience that we would not to have missed - we have had an amazing two weeks and experienced luxury and elegance at its best - thankyou. The staff at the Heritance are truly amazing and take the time and trouble to get to know you and chat without always expecting the assoicated tips. A big thank you to Mr Arju and his staff, in particular Laknath who we understand left the day after we did - he will be missed at the hotel we are sure. The room we were upgraded to was again truly amazing, very clean with clean sheets daily and towels twice daily. The pool area was very clean and well maintained, with local widelife in abundance - again thankyou to Dr Filat who made sure our sun beds were ready each morning. Our increased waistlines are an example of how good the food was, ample choices with a wide variety available at each mealtime. Our stay at the Heritance was made even more special by the recommendations of Mr Dave Stockwell who is a regular visitor and we thank you for your input into our two week stay. Whilst on holiday we went on two trips, one a local boat trip and a 2 day trip to Kandy. We were treated to excellent service and an experience we would not have wanted to have missed by a local named Kamal. Kamal made us feel part of his family and welcomed us into his humble life eagerly. We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay and once again thank you for all at the Heritance and Dave Stockwell. Truely amazing!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bedat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Heritance Ahungalla.
Thank you for choosing Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor recounting your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay..

Once again, thank you for your valuable review and we look forward to welcoming you again at Heritance Ahungalla.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I, both late twenties, booked this hotel on a two for one fantastic deal through hayes and jarvis. We travelled with my parents, whom are well travelled and have stayed in many 5star plush hotels around the world, and my sister and her 11 year old daughter. For value for money the hotel was fantastic. It was re built after the tsunami and so is relatively knew with most mod cons and was lovely and clean. The food was some of the best we have had, although sometimes funny combinations! All a'la carte except the occassional served themed buffet - and we are talking curry night wth some of the best curry we've had, and bbq night with amazing bbq'd seafood. Only downfall was the wine list of which most they didn't have. Lovely quiet hotel, friendly staff - even gave cooking lessons to one of the guests we met. Lovely beach - don't be put off by the few beach traders as they are really friendly and we were introduced to one of them by another guest and we did all our tours through him- fantastic value and local knowledge, really reliable and friendly. The jewellers on site is a real gem, excuse the pun!, and will make anything you like at superb value. Had some earrings and a ring made with diamonds and white sapphire for £500! Would recommend a water safari to see local wildlife and buda temple, local tea plantation, local auryvedic herb gardens where they will massage lots of natural potions into you, and also galle which are fairly local things to do. Unfortunately the elephant sanctuary up in the north was a little too far- about 6 hours away. Some people did do this excursion from our hotel but a very long day. So all in all one of the best holidays we've had. My parents did say that having stayed in lots of wonderful hotels that this one was lovely but not quite the added touches you might find in some other locations (like lovely toiletries and other luxuries) although they had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend it and go back. Only downfall was that it is a long transfer from the airport - about 3 hours. But once you get there you can relax and forget about that. Weather fine although rainier season so did have a few showers but still hot and rain didn't last for long. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glitzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for spending some of your valuable time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that our product and level of service have fulfilled your expectations and we are pleased to know that you have found our accommodation worth for money and highly satisfactory.

On behalf of our entire family, I would like to inform you that we are glad to be have been of service to you and that we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A great place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of a major city. All the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. Heritance is an impressive hotel situated in an idyllic location and the weather in July was perfect. The food and range of restaurants catered for all tastes and was inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baxterfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Heritance Ahungalla.

Thank you for choosing Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor recounting your stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that our product and level of service have fulfilled your expectations we are pleased to know that you have found our accommodation worth for money and highly satisfactory.

On behalf of our entire family, I would like to inform you that we are glad to be have been of service to you and that we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing