We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We visited the Heritance Ahungalla in September having arrived on an early morning flight from Singapore. The journey from Colombo to the hotel took about 3 hrs but unlike some previous reports we did not find the" Sri Lankan driving experience" too alarming.On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were delightful and completed the check-in process quickly. Indeed the attitude of reception personnel was reflected throughout the hotel, but of particular note was Mr Arju Vijayarajah really did go the "extra mile" to ensure our stay was comfortable.
We stayed in a deluxe room with Ocean view and found the accommodation to be nicely proportioned with a good sized balcony. Also worthy of comment is the food which was well cooked and well presented. Altogether it was peaceful and relaxing experience.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank retiredrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your stay. We are glad to know that our dear guests have left our home relaxed and rejuvenated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,876 - 2,882 of 3,577 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

Wow what a place to get married. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff, great rooms, (bathroom needs brightening up a bit) but everything kept very clean. The swimming pools are lovely & pool guys look after you very well. A week wasn't long enough for us to see everything & arrange our wedding so will definately go back and see the friends we made there. we found the food rather good (definately wasn't chips every night) restaurant staff friendly and attentive. My hubby always had his beer chilling in an ice bucket at meal times, this was ready and waiting.... lol. Even the beach sellers were not as bad as we thought....they seem to know everything & are only trying to earn a living. They can't cross over to the hotel and have to stay on the beach as security guards are on duty day & night. The hotel has lovely foiliage in between floors, chipmunks are great & there was monkeys, but didn't get to see them. We both wanted to cry when we had to leave, it's truely a beautiful magical place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your ideal wedding destination and also for taking time and trouble to post a review on the Trip Advisor sharing your wedding experience with us. We are extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Loved the hotel, beautiful setting, lovely service, good food, good settings, loved the pool

Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
1  Thank shobs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This was the best hotel holiday we have ever had - wife and I and son (21) and daughter (18) really appreciated the genuinely friendly and extraordinarily helpful staff. Food was was great in the main restaurant - no need to go to the exclusive restaurant.
We were so impressed that we wrote to thank the manager and copied to our tour operator. We have never felt the desire to do that before! We had stayed at two apparently similar hotels elsewhere in Sri Lanka and these were clean and pleasant, but Heritance was simply in a different league altogether.
Reception, restaurant and 'games' staff especially helpful

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed beginning of August for 3 nights in the Junior Suite in Heritance Ahungalla.

In general, the rooms are clean, the swimming pool is nice, especially for kids and also the beach is great.

Unfortunately, like most 5-star hotels in Sri Lanka, also this one lacked essential things like a proper finishing in the room (the bathroom was a desaster, I cut myself several times at the glass door there), a very small TV only etc.

The food was good quality, thoug a little expensive, but because we liked it we only ate at the hotel. The breakfast had a wide selection, and there was a big variety at the dinner buffetts, for example "seafood grill night" etc.

The service was very poor, anything you wanted to do or to get took ages and did not work properly. On one saturday night there was a wedding with extremely loud music next to the second pool (where all the suites are localed; it was like a disco), and with still going on after 11 o´clock and the kids not being able to sleep I complained several times without success. It went on until 3 in the morning, which literally destroyed our next day and is something no 5-star hotel should accept. Many guests complained, but the management rather preferred to cash in the money for the ceremony instead of satisfiying their guests.

Nevertheless we had altogether a good time, the animateurs at the hotel were dedicated and we had a lot of fun with waterpolo and beach volleyball.

One last note: as generally in Sri Lankan 5 star hotels, they overprice taxis etc. by 300 to 400%. Just go out of the hotel and rent a taxi or tuc-tuc there, as next to the savings the locals know all the places to go.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Latif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to you return to the Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The stunning view beach is the only positive memory that we have from our stay. Otherwise the hotel is dated, poorly managed, and many unmaintained facilities. Air conditioning, ceiling fan in our room did not work. The door locks in our room to the bathroom and balcony were broken. Considering that balconies from other rooms are essentially interconnected, there was little or no security from the balcony side of our room.

The main restaurant buffet is expensive and of poor cafeteria style food. Very little flair to the food, designed to please those who did not really want to leave home.

Entertainment in the lobby at night is essentially Karaoke musicians mouthing CD music. The hotel was built in the 1960s and it seems nothing was done to improve or redecorate the place since it's initial opening. It is a nice visit back to a mid 1960's contemporary architecture that has a seedy ambiance.

The staff is friendly and helpful as long as it does not involve complicated activities such as room maintenance, directions to anywhere, or being served coffee in the restaurants.

The hotel has no control over the touts in front of the hotel nor at the beach. These touts are of course part of the scenery but makes the guests not want to wander onto the beach since they will not leave visitors alone and will not take no as an answer. It is a sad commentary of Sri Lanka, but the hotel could do more to discourage these parasites.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BahrainElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to you return to the Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We booked this hotel for the second part of our holiday by the coast. We were swayed to book this hotel due to the raging reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately it didn’t quite live up to our expectations, especially after leaving the Cinnamon Lodge in Habarana which was advertised to be a lower rating hotel.
Our opinions do differ from those on here. The hotel is well known for the architect and so we expected something quite special, as it was also a ‘5’ star resort. On arrival the Loby is attractive as you can see through to a lush swimming pool right onto the sea. The swimming pools were the best bit of this hotel. They are lovely.
However, we did find the hotel lacked character and that holiday feel. The architecture was a bit cold and bleak, very concrete, modern and minimalist. Somewhat like a business Hilton hotel which is just not we want on a holiday. The plants around the hotel seemed tired and a bit dead, just outside our room we overlooked a moulding wall where there used to be vegetation climbing up it. The hotel was all very open which was good for a natural breeze, but as soon as the monsoons came this caused a death trap of slippery hallways bars, seat cushions etc.
The hotel rooms were nice, again modern but of good quality. The whole place lacked good lighting though. There was also the natural bare plastered look in the hotel bathrooms etc. Not our taste but might appeal to some. I personally like a bright lick of paint or something it bit more luxurious.
The hotel did have good facilities if you wanted tennis, ping pong, badminton, spa’s etc. However going onto the beach was slightly annoying due to the persistent locals selling on the beach who would sit on the beach facing the hotel shouting at you to come and look as they will “give you good price”. This is a little off putting but I understand it’s just the way there. We never managed to go onto the beach without having to say no thanks to several different people.
The restaurants and entertainment were the biggest disappointment. The food was always nice (wine expensive) but the restaurants lacked atmosphere. The main restaurant had set menus for most of our stay and these were quite pricey. The buffets in that restaurant were a bit better as at least you got more choice. But the restaurant is dark and dreary. No ambience. The a la carte “Cafe”? did have nice food but a bit limited on choice. You also don’t expect to have your a la carte meal in a cafe which lacked again any sort of luxury and really had the ambience slightly above that of a McDonalds. (I am being slightly harsh).
The entertainment at the hotel was pretty poor. Sometimes there was a band singing the same songs every night. A cocktail promotion (doesn’t mean it’s a price promotion) with live demonstration. Or simply someone plays an instrument. It was very quiet during our stay so maybe they do more in the main season.
We actually spent many of our nights at the Taj hotel in Bentota after this was recommended to us by fellow guests in the same boat as us. I suggest you go there just to get a comparison of what a 5 star hotel should really be like. We had a Chinese in the restaurant there and it was lovely. There buffet meals also had a great deal more ambience. Just grab a tuk tuk to get there. The Refresh restaurant 20 mins away in Hikkaduwa was also lovely. I recommend you stay in Bentota though if you want choice and to be able to walk out the hotel to more restuarants. There is nothing near the Heritance.
Having said all that, if you want a quiet, clean relaxing hotel to just unwind sit by the pool and have early nights then it’s a great option. If you are lucky you will see some black monkeys around the hotel. We did get this hotel at a good price so we can’t complain I just believe the ratings on here are misleading. This is not to discredit the staff at the Heritance who were mostly all very helpful and nice people.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatKingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to you return to the Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: $109 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing