We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated, over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over-rated, over-priced”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at this place for 4 days 3 nights - US$1,100, included a lame New Year buffet and "celebration" (US$125 per person)

This hotel bore no resemblance with its sister hotel in the same group Heritance Kandalama (where we stayed over Christmas and which was impressive). The architectual and design elememts that make Heritance Kandalama very special are total lacking in the Heritance Alungalla. The level of service could not compared. The attitude of staff generally was insincere and gear towards tips rather than service. We also had 2 experiences of male staff members making inappropriate comments to the females in our group.

The food was uninspiring at best and unhygenically prepared at worst (one of our party and a known other guest were both made ill by poor food preparation.) When the issue was raised on our departure with the most senior staff member made available (only a room division manager), no responsiblity was taken nor apology offered and the stock response was that the guest had not until then made a formal complaint (despite the matter being known to reception and housekeeping staff) and the guest was blamed for not having asked for a hotel doctor at the time.

The room we had was an attempt maximizing a corner area and was at first glance impressive. However, not all the electrics were wired up and the basic layout of the location of the light switches was poor (you have to get out of bed to turn off the bed side light). And one of the toilet in the suite smelt which affected our enjoyment of the suite. We couldn't use the sitting area of the suite.

To cap it all, having paid US$100 for a vehicle to take us to the airport, the hotel provided a desperately underpower, mini people mover which had no safety belts for passengers (an essential requirement for Sri Lankan roads).

Compared to the rest of our experience of accommodation in Sri Lanka, Heritance Alungalla was over-priced and poor value. It is definitely not 5 star accommodation as it claims to be. It just seems to be a money making "machine".

The main positive point about this hotel is the beach which is beautiful like the rest of the West coast of Sri Lanka (you do have to however put up with beach touts).

We will be lodging a formal complaint to the hotel but given their initial response we do not expect any joy.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Service, attitude, food hygene, value
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to you return to the Heritance Ahungalla. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,478
    608
    231
    63
    53
See reviews for
1,181
1,115
71
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2008

I have been at Heritance a few times before and simply love this place. It has got better since the Tsunami and the hotel was refurbished. It is a must stay if you are on a holiday in Sri Lanka. Staff are very friendly and the food fantastic!!!

The hotel is great to just relax or there are things around the town to see, Galle is not too far away for a day trip.

I will be looking forward to my next stay at this hotel!

  • Liked — The Fantastic rooms , the pool the pool the pool , The size of the hotel makes it very relaxed even when occupancy is high!
  • Disliked — None to report
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We've just returned from our honeymoon - a week in the Maldives(paradise) followed by a week in Sri Lanka staying in the Heritance Ahungalla. The hotel is beautiful just like any hotel in a major city let it be London, Dublin or New York so if its traditional Sri Lankan style your looking for than its not for you.
Our room was looking out onto the ocean however the water was unfortunately too rough for swimming. There wasn't a soul on the beach for the entire duration of our trip apart from the usual hawkers who camp out on the beach for the day in the hope of selling the odd sarong or two.
The food was nice but became extremely repetitive when your there for 6 days, bearing in mind there's nothing outside the hotel so no chance of eating anywhere else. If you like a drink and a bit of a buzz at nite then this is also not the hotel for you, the bars have no atmosphere.Your not encouraged to go out of the hotel however saying that there's nothing to go out for in the line of entertainment, shopping or eating just a little shop across the road which sells water and snacks which may come in handy as hotels prices are the same if not even more expenive than home. Once you walk out of the hotel you'll be surrounded by hawkers trying to sell you tours which can be annoying as they're fairly persistent.
We went on a local tour by tuk tuk with Raji who camps out outside the hotel or beach, his English is perfect which helps. This was quite enjoyable apart from being brought to two different shops trying to get us to buy stuff, this is standard procedure if u take a tuk tuk anyway. We did the nearby river safari which we booked through our travel rep. This would be very managable and much cheaper to do by travelling by tuk tuk and hopping on a boat when you get there, just a few mins down the road. We also went to a national park spotting elephants, about 9 hrs in a car but enjoyable all the same.All of the staff in the hotel were outstanding very friendly and pleasant. Sri Lanka is really just a country for touring around, the ideal would be 4 or 5 days seeing the sights staying in a different hotel ever nite. As part of a tour I would defintely recommend a nite or two in this hotel but def no longer.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank murph99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice. We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorks.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Just got back from the Heritance and had a marvellous time there.It is beautifully designed,with two infinity pools leading your eye out to the sea.Our room had a great sea view and was very well furnished.Beds were comfy and the bathroom was great-I want a wet room like theirs!!!Premiership matches on the box and two english speaking movie channels.
The food was very good and i found myself eating curry three times a day!!i also brought a hopper pan back with me to have egg-hoppers for beakfast.However we were a little disappointed with the fine dining restaurant.The prices are the same as back home, and they had very pretty food on the plate, but it needs Gordon Ramsey to go in and make it less fussy and more tasty.With such good seafood(the tuna is the best!) i would have liked to have seen a japanese restaurant or something similar.The 'mustard' coffe shop was more to our liking-less pretentious and good food,and of course you can always find something nice in the buffet restaurant.
Service is very good,if a little too much!
Sri Lanka is a paradise for wildlife and the hotel has in it's grounds; egrets,bee-eaters,squirrels,a small monitor lizard,gecko's and on an evening a large bat which we named 'Nora' (Batty!) which swooped around the pool bar while we were sipping pre dinner Martini's!
We went on a river cruise through the mangroves which was excellent and a trip to Sinharaja Rainforest ,which is a must for bird watchers.Our driver Erish was the best.He took us around the village he grew up in and to meet some of his family,and releasing baby turtles into the sea at Kosgoda was very satisfying.
Don't let tales of war in the north put you off going,you are not affected in the least.Soldiers with guns are at a lot of check points near Colombo,but there are thousands of Tamils and Sinhalese living in perfect harmony,it is lot more safe than Northern Ireland ever was.Just keep away from the north and north east to be on the safe side.
They have recovered physically very well from the Tsunami,but anyone you talk to has lost loved ones(60,000 people)There won't be another one for hundreds of years,so don't let that put you off either!
The Hotel is excellent and Sri Lanka is a lush,wildlife filled paradise,with sun and picture postcard beaches.It reminded me of a cross between Thailand(with Buddhist temples all over) and the nicer parts of south goa,give it a try.We'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — it felt very special
  • Disliked — reception staff couldn't find me a Durian fruit(out of season)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martinEastYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at the Heritance for two nights at the end of the Kuoni Ceylon South Tour before we flew to the Maldives. The hotel was absolute heaven. We were stunned by the beautiful entrance when we arrived and the rest of our group were very jealous and were tempted to sneak off the bus too! The room was beautiful with an excellent view. The hotel was immaculate, the staff were wonderful, the food was delicious.
The only thing that upset us was that the hotel was so quiet. Obviously it was nice and relaxing from our point of view. We were always the only people in the pool and the gym – we felt like celebrities who had hired the whole hotel to ourselves. However the downside of this was that the wonderful staff must make far less in tips when there are so few guests staying. We have sent a letter to Kuoni urging them to make this hotel the standard hotel for the end of the Ceylon South Tour as it was simply the perfect end to our tour. We were sad that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Liked — The views, the pool, the room and the wonderful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGoughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for 6 days in June and it really is a fantastic place.
The hotel is exceptionally presented, the room we had immaculate, with a stunning sea view.

The staff there deserve high praise for making this place what it is, they really know how to look after you and are some of the friendliest people I’ve ever met. Everyone always had a smile and seemed genuinely interested in helping or just making conversation (without being intrusive) whatever time of the day! Their knowledge of football was limited though as they only seem to have heard of David Beckham!! – Cricket is what matters here!

The pools were excellent, large and clean & the food in the restaurants (Jute & Mustard) outstanding. The meals were great value (we stayed on B&B basis) with the evening meals costing on average about £35 for both of us (3 courses) including a bottle of wine. (The wine is the same price as UK restaurants) The evenings that we ate in the main restaurant (Jute) this was always buffet with a theme (Chinese, BBQ etc) but there were always other options available. My wife described the curries as the ‘best she’d ever eaten’

The hotel is a little isolated but set in beautiful grounds and right on a great stretch of beach – unfortunately due to the time of year the sea was too rough for swimming. I didn’t really get the impression though that this was a ‘beach resort’ as all the guests stayed by the pools, this maybe however due to the time of year I visited (monsoon season) but the weather was fantastic and extremely hot - also the beaches are public so although they are only trying to make a living you are targeted by the ‘beach hawkers’ as soon as they spot you on the sand!

We did a day trip to Galle, incorporating a visit to a turtle hatchery, a river boat safari, mask museum & lunch at a great seafood restaurant. On our check out morning we left for a mini tour to Kandy, visiting the Elephant Orphanage at Pinnawala, the Millennium Elephant Foundation (where as well as learning about the elephants you can ride and feed them – this was a fantastic experience and in my opinion much better than the Orphanage, where the workers main interest seems to be getting as many tips out of you for photo’s as possible!) a tea factory, a herb garden, the Botanical Gardens & the Temple of the Tooth. There is some stunning scenery & views in Kandy and none more so than from the cliff side restaurant we stopped at for lunch, which offered great views for miles across the City. We arranged all our excursions & Airport transfers through Rammuni Tours, (Mr Silva) which were great value and I’d highly recommend to any of my family and friends travelling to Sri Lanka (I’m happy to pass on his contact details to anyone who wants them)

Sri Lanka really is a country to be visited & the Heritance Ahungalla is definitely a great place to stay. We are hoping to return some time in the near future and would with out a doubt stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff & the food
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Great for rest. Beautiful beach, with lots of waves. The fauna in the hotel was great: squirrels, monkeys, iguanas... all friendly. The staff was very nice, especially the animator and the gim guy.

  • Liked — the design
  • Disliked — the size of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TSengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing