We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet resort by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
mashhad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quiet resort by the beach”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a very quiet resort located away from the town.there is pretty much nothing to do around here other than lazing by the pool and the beach.The sunset here is awesome.The hotel is a bit old and i would not rate it as a 5 star hotel.the view was nice but the room was poor and give you the feeling of the 80s starting from the key to the furniture,the ac,the toilets...The main buffet restaurant is extremely tired.We stayed on a half board basis so ate at the hotel a lot and the quality of the meals was a bit inconsistent.The breakfast buffet was very limited.The first night dinner buffet was also limited but the next night was great because of new guests form arabian countries!!!!it was the best meal we had during our whole stay in this hotel!!!Live music every night was enjoyable.High speed free wifi was excellent.The room boy had mad an elephant with bath towels on bed.Thanks A Lot

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination and thank you for taking the time and trouble to update us on your holiday experience. We are extremely upset with regard to the comments made by you and the star rating given, also. First of all, let me very sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience and disappointment that you had to go through at our hotel during your stay. We are concerned about the remarks you have made about our staff, food and hotel standards. We thank you for bringing this to our attention. While appreciating your comments we trust that they will not put you off in visiting us again during the next year to see the changes that will take place soon. I have also updated my relevant managers on the comments made by you with regards to the standards of the food and service of all departments and will ensure that they will be rectified immediately. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. You have given us the opportunity to improve ourselves and we have already begun to take the necessary actions. Hope to see you soon again at our hotel. Please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    603
    230
    63
    53
See reviews for
1,165
1,107
70
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A quick drive from Colombo,a great choice if you are planning a trip with bunch of long lost friends . Good food, friendly staff and a lot of things to do while you are there.The range of food is better on weekends I guess so try to plan your trip accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you had a great time at our hotel with your friends and trust that you will come back to us soon with them and more. We look forward to having all of you amidst us in the near future. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were at heritance ahugalla for Two days on the 21st and 22nd of June 2014.

While the other aspects of our stay was satisfatory the food was HORRIBLE and maybe even nearing on Atrocious!!

In all meals the food was actually flavor less... the worst part is that most of us had to suffer from food poisoning and purging the same day!

I will definitely never visit this hotel again and will definitely advise all of my friends and family to never go there even if it was the last place on earth!! solely because there was something that was seriously wrong with the food in that hotel

So please if anyone of you are thinking of going there... Think again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment on Trip Advisor. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and are thankful for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely apologize and have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We hope and look forward to your return to Heritance Ahungalla. Until then, take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Heritance, Ahungalla last week (on a week day), for a one night stay. We were pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the staff and the beauty of the hotel. It's obvious that the hotel itself is a bit old, but this will hardly cross your mind when you see its location which allows breathtaking views of the sea. The residents pool towards the north wing of the hotel is great, secluded and shady enough for an afternoon dip. The food was excellent. All in all, a great stay. Special mention must be made of Amila and Shehan who went out of their way to show us a good time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pravs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel and our food. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and give you a memorable holiday experience. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at Heritance Ahungalla as part of Emirates Holidays Best of Sri Lanka tour. Upon arrival on the Saturday night we were at first a little taken aback with the number of people in the infinity pool/reception area where we were welcomed with the traditional hot towels and fresh fruit drink. The receptionist explained that there was a lot of activity because they have local families staying at the weekends in the low season and that by Sunday afternoon there would only be a handful of guests - which was correct. Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked the private swimming pool (which was quiet) and the Indian Ocean - fantastic view. Saturday night was busy in the buffet restaurant however the food and service was excellent. Sunday we were in the restaurant with only 2 other couples! All the staff were always extremely polite, professional and couldn't help you enough - but without crowding you. Always greeted us with a wave and a smile and asking how we were, this included the room service, reception, waiters, pool attendant and security guards - we were even invited to tour the kitchens and the chocolate museum. We went onto the beach - the only drawback was being asked if we'd like to see turtles and being led down the beach only to find we were being taken to see the local restaurant and other business ventures! so be prepared to be misled - although they were amicable - almost begging us to go to their shops etc. - it was the low season and they do need to make a living as well.
The hotel was very clean, comfortable, spacious and the wildlife in the rounds included kingfishers, and many other birds, squirrels and iguanas which kept us amused with their antics and being chased from the lawns by the gardeners!
Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has good views and further from the reception is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We are very thankful for the time and trouble you have taken to post a review about your holiday experience with us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments and are very happy in the knowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and we hope you will continue to be with us during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Heritance Ahungulla was everything that can be expected from a top class Hotel on the beach at south western Sri Lanka. We would not hesitate to recommend it and we would love to come back.
The ambience and service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RamsesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. we are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to us for another spell of great holiday with us .Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I took my wife here for her birthday, and boy was this place a treat!

1. The architecture of the hotel bears the hallmark of its creator - It was designed by the legendary geoffrey bawa and its a beautiful work of art.

2. The service was the best I've experienced in any hotel. The staff makes you feel like really special. And I have to commend Indika (The front office Manager) and Shehan who really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. All hotels can learn a lot from these two and their style of doing things. They are indeed two of the finest I've met.

3. The food - the fine dining restaurant deserves a review of its own. The food was 1st class. Then again, I'm told this hotel has an award winning culinary team.

4. Other facilities - if you're staying here, use the resident's pool- gotta love the secluded setting and the jacuzzi.

All in all, probably the best hotel stay I've ever had. Will be returning soon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shamir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla to celebrate your special day . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your very positive comments and hope that you had a great stay with us. Please know that it is a pleasure to have had the opportunity of looking after you, We trust that you would consider this as your dream location where you can have a relaxing and rejuvenating break from your busy schedules. Look forward to having you back with us soon. Please Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing