We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence at Heritance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
sawbo,herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellence at Heritance”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from an 11 night stay at Heritance Ahungalla and already making plans to return.
Check in was fast and faultless. The room was well appointed, spotless and, considering the amount of guests, quiet too. Efficiently cleaned daily (even the balcony), tea/coffee replaced, evening turn down service, couldn't fault it. Having spent a month travelling,in Sri Lanka, this was by far the best hotel of my trip. Breakfast buffet was something to look forward too with a superb and varied choice. The evening meals had a different theme with a massive array of western and asian dishes, all cooked and presented at a high standard. After a longish stay at a hotel, buffet meals can sometimes become a bit tedious with a longing to eat elsewhere, but despite several beach cafe choices, we were never tempted away from the quality food served at the hotel. Getting tea and coffee could require a bit of patience in the mornings but this is not logged as a complaint just a niggle when you need your early morning caffiene fix. The pools are amongst the best I saw in Sri Lanka, cleaned daily, the grounds kept neat and tidy and the beach vendors kept at bay by security and a respected boundry line although they do become a complete nusiance shouting and calling out to try and sell their goods but after a couple of days they tend to get the hang of who is worth pursuing and who needs to keep having sales tactics applied to. Beach is a beautiful mile plus of fine sand backed by palm trees and suprisingly free of plastic debris; not totally free but judged against standards of some asian beaches and the collection of bags etc that gets washed up, it's a gem. Only problem is that a walk along this beach is punctuated by the attention of several 'best friends' you never knew you had that want to get you to a cafe/gem shop/ tour but a firm 'no thanks' seems to be respected. There is a handy wine shop to the right of the hotel and several little shops that sell most stuff you could need but don't let any of the men that pounce on you the moment you walk through the gate follow you or continue any sort of converstion as they will be clocking a commission at your expense for taking you to the shop. They get the plan and politely telling them to stop, stay here and don't follow me is respected and didn't cause offence. Would I return to this hotel, too right I will. Would I recommend it, absolutely without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank baldbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We are very thankful for the time and trouble you have taken to post a review about your holiday experience with us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments and are very happy in the knowledge that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and we hope you will continue to be with us during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    603
    230
    63
    53
See reviews for
1,165
1,107
70
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in many ways but it isn't quite good enough to get a "very good". It seemed very expensive for what one got but that may be because we booked a suite directly with the hotel. I suspect many of the hotel guests had booked via tour operators and got a considerably better deal than we got. We were shocked by the average age of the guests which must have been 60+. Don't come here expecting a wild or exciting time!

The setting is lovely and the beach is good. The waves are wonderful to play in but they are very strong and only for confident swimmers. The food was of a high quality and reasonably priced although breakfast was a little disappointing.

Staff were well meaning but often inept. I once asked for bread 5 times before we got any. We could see the bread baskets in the restaurant ready to be given to diners but the waiters just didn't seem able to serve us (there was only one other table dining in the restaurant so the waiters were not rushed off their feet). We also asked for the bill only to be ignored for 15 minutes (despite being the only people in the restaurant by then). When we asked again, we were met with a blank look and a lack of comprehension. In the end, we said we were going to our room and asked if they could send the bill to us there? The bill never arrived although we were charged for the meal so someone managed to sort things out. At breakfast, we wanted to sit outside as the restaurant was very gloomy. There was only one umbrella between about 20 tables so we would sit in the shade which sometimes necessitated moving the table a little or turning it so we weren't in the sun. Quite often, the staff would then move the table back whilst we were serving ourselves at the buffet. We would then move it again. Also, I asked the chef making omelettes if I could have poached eggs and he had no idea what they were. Fortunately, another chef did and went and organised them for me in the kitchen (they were cooked perfectly). Having said all of that, the staff were lovely and wanted to please. The Valentine's dinner was great. It had the perfect level of cheesy entertainment (the dancers were hamming it up brilliantly), the food was very good and the staff couldn't do enough to please.

The beds are very uncomfortable so do consider that if bed comfort is important to you. It was like sleeping on wooden boards.

We had a good holiday here but it really wasn't worth what we paid.

Room Tip: The suites have a totally separate living room that can house a teenager sleeping on an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EREL131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your experiences on the Trip Advisor. Whilst being happy about the positive comments you have made we are very worried about the lack of attention given to you at the restaurant. I have up dated my F&B Manager on your comments and have requested to advise his staff that prompt attention should be given to guest requests. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that you had to undergo due to this and thank you very much for bringing it to our notice. We trust that despite these shortcomings you still had a lovely stay at our hotel and sincerely hope that you will return back for another holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Heritance Ahungalla is a beautiful hotel, pools excellent especially the one with the infinity design! Staff could not be more helpful, rooms were a bit tired but the laundry/towels changed daily and room cleaned. Hotel is on a beautiful beach which is almost always empty, except for the rather troublesome vendors, you have to be firm and eventually they go away. Not much choice of places to eat out if you don't eat at the hotel, we found one restaurant called Sunshine, really nice, but other than that it is a tuk tuk ride into a nearby town, about half an hour or so, this was a bit annoying as we were not full board. I would recommend this hotel if you wish to be full board, otherwise it would be worth going to another area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottyHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble for commenting on the Trip Advisor regarding your experiences. We are very happy about your comments with regard to our service and the product. It gives us immense pleasure for us to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you would come back to us for your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we can be ready to welcome you. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our 1st visit to Sri Lanka won't be our last thanks to our stay at Heritance. I'm repeating what others have said before me but the staff at all levels were wonderful, friendly, well spoken and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our room, pools and restaurant were immaculate. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country and we did some wonderful trips booked though our rep Mercury Direct. We also hired bikes from the hotel one morning and followed a route (ask at reception for map)that took us past temples,paddy fields and a couple of villages, this was an amazing experience, but be aware when you first step outside the hotel gates you will be bombarded by eager tuk tuk drivers and shop owners all wanting your attention. I can't really complain about the people selling things on the beach as I did buy from them, but I feel they are a little bit intrusive, they're not allowed in the grounds so call to you from the beach.
I just can't wait to return to Ahungalla and wish I was there now.
Whooops nearly forgot to mention the food was exceptional, the best hotel meals we ever had, its certainly ideal for curry lovers and vegetarians

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very pleased and delighted by your positive comments and star ratings for our hotel. It is indeed a pleasure for us to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciate the beauty of our hotel. We hope that you will come back to us again on your next holiday. Please keep us informed when you plan your next holiday so that we can be ready to welcome you back to our midst. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We are about to leave the hotel after a fantastic week at the beach. A little hiccup at check in where we booked 2 adjoining rooms, as we have two young boys and were told connecting rooms were not available. However we got a great suite with spacious balcony that made up for it. Staff is smiley and corteous, and service is of high standard, though sometimes a bit slow. Overall the beach is excellent, despite the red flag my five year old really enjoyed the waves. The pool is also excellent and really relaxing. The spa is of good quality as well. Sugar one of the staff is particularly talented. A trip to Kandy is well worth it, despite terrible traffic. Temples, local culture centre and elephant orphanage have made an unforgettable experience.A great family experience, sand, see and great service. We hope to be back!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmorandinideoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and give you a memorable holiday experience. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a great holiday experience in a great hotel. The hotel itself was superb as was our room. It's in a lovely location with excellent facilities, giving us everything we wanted from our holiday.
The two pools are great to lounge around and set in attractive grounds with lots of natural shade to enjoy. It's also easy to access the beautiful beach.
The staff were all exceptional. Polite, friendly and helpful, they were always ready to engage in conversation and take an interest in how we were.
The food here is of a very high standard. A mix of traditional Sri Lankan and western and always fresh, varied and plentiful. The range of curries were superb. Wine is expensive but good quality Lion lager and delicious EGB (elephant ginger beer) makes up for it. The cocktails are great too!
Possibly the one downside was the attention from the beach vendors. The vendors selling saris, tunics and throws were ok and were nice to talk with. But some of those selling trips and promoting their restaurants were very annoying. Persistently following you when walking on the beach. But you soon learn to deal with them.
Overall this was an amazing holiday in what is an amazing country.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank welsh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for sharing your holiday experience with photographs on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to ready your very positive review. Thank you so much for your kind sentiments about our staff and our service. However we have noted the remarks you have made about the beach agents. We are hopeful that very soon we can bring about a solution to this problem. We are working towards it these days. Hope you will come back to our home for another spell of holiday when your decide to go on a holiday. Please keep us up dated when you do so. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a joyous masterpiece of design and makes full use of the flora by blurring the distinction between outdoors and indoors. All corridors and most public spaces are open to the outside. The gardens are extremely spacious and sun bed and umbrellas can be placed to give a maximum amount of privacy - there is certainly no fighting for sun beds round the pool! To keep you company in the gardens are water monitors and chipmunks.
The staff are all unfailingly cheerful and friendly and always willing to engage in conversation. On one occasion the Sous Chef, Roshan stopped for a conversation in the dining room and when we asked about the kitchen he invited us to look round. The hotel is very proud of its culinary accomplishments, winning prizes at international competitions and the quality of the food certainly reflects this.
The value of the pound against the SR Rupee makes this a reasonably priced holiday, and even the prices at a hotel of this standard are reasonable (except the wine list).
Galle is in easy reach by car. We hired a car with driver and guide for 8000 Rupees and apart from simply going to Galle our guide, Pippi, also stopped at a mask museum, the tsunami memorial and a moonstone mine, none of which we asked for but which enhanced the trip. The journey itself is of interest and highlights the devastation of the 2004 tsunami and the efforts made to repair the damage.
An unforgettable holiday and well worth going, the only downside being the length of the flights!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and give you a memorable holiday experience. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing