We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Both of these are symbols of Sri Lanka and it was good to see it displayed so well in this hotel. Food was excellent and the beds were comfortable after a long drive. The rainwater shower was tops! Of course the enormous infinity pool which seems to bring the sea into the hotel, was splendid as usual. All round good marks for this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashantha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your Holiday Destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel,The staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. We too are very happy to know that our dear guests have left our home relaxed and rejuvenated. We trust that you will come back to us with your family soon. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,208 - 2,214 of 3,535 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Since we had already experienced the exceptional hospitality at Heritance Kandalama and The Sands at Kalutara (Aitken Spence properties), we booked our Christmas vacation at Heritance Ahungalla a couple of months back to avoid disappointment.

When we arrived at the property we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we had been upgraded to the Luxury Suite with the garden balcony. The Suite (room 324) was HUGE compared to a regular room, in fact if I am not mistaken, the bathroom of the suite probably had the same square footage as a regular room, with a 2 person bathtub, a shower stall, double sinks and a huge walk in closet.

The suite was richly appointed with real furniture including a small library. My 13yr old was thrilled to find an age appropriate book by Rick Riordan that she had not previously read. The bedroom had a comfortable king sized Four Poster bed and a recliner. Mini fridge, TV, surround sound system and tea/coffee service rounded off the comforts.

Food was excellent as this hotel's chefs had emerged as the Most Outstanding Culinary Team in Sri Lanka after competing against both international and domestic star-class city and resort hotels at the 15th Culinary Art Competition. Sous chef Roshan Pujitha was kind enough to show us some of the culinary masterpieces and their chocolate factory. Most nights were theme nights, and on the night where they served Chinese food, we were prepared to order A la Carte for our daughter who has nut allergies, but the server quickly brought her a plate of Lasagna from another restaurant at no extra charge. the wait staff was attentive and responded to our requests in a timely manner.

The rooms were clean and well stocked with fresh towels, bath robes and bottled water. The room steward came every evening to make sure we had fresh towels and to turn down the beds. Fresh fruit was also delivered to the room.

The only issue we had was, we wanted the vacation over Christmas, but we were told that the hotel was booked solid. This was not the case as there were plenty of vacant rooms available. This was a bit of a disappointment since we really wanted to be away during Christmas. It was a pleasant surprise to meet Ms Niranjala the hostess, who was also at Heritance Kandalama during our visit to that property in August, and she recognized us and came over to chat.

It was an enjoyable experience and a great vacation.

Room Tip: Luxury Suite (room 324) is really spacious and bright. but be prepared to walk a distance to the Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience with us at Heritance Ahungalla. We are delighted by the comments you have made about us and wish to inform you that it was pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to look after you and your family. We hope you and your family had a great stay with us and will return back to our hotel next year too. Before I wind up may I take this opportunity to wish all of you the very best of the Season. Good luck and take care.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Staying at heritance ahungalla was indeed a superb experience.The main buffet was extremely delecious and the staff were very helpful when anything extra was needed. The rooms were very clean and the room service very efficient. Hospitality was at its best and it was nice to see all the staff well mannered. It felt like being at home

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very pleased with your positive comments. Please know that it was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you. We trust that you will come back to us when you want to relax from your busy schedules. Please keep us up dated when you plan to visit us next. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My 13 year old daughter and I spent 4 glorious days in the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and they have a daily program of activities which include water aerobics, beach volleyball, stretching and pool games. The activities suit all ages and are loads of fun.
We have been travelling the world for 8 months and the staff at this hotel are the best we have come across. Not only are they good at their jobs but they take great pride in their hotel.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
I would recommend that any families with children stock up on snacks before arriving at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as a holiday destination of yours. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments and are very happy in the knowledge that you and your daughter had a wonderful time at our hotel. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you both. I hope both of you have reached home safely by now. We look forward to having you and your family back at the hotel during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was the first destination of our honeymoon. The cool and calm environment that one encounters as you drive through the gates up to the reception is certainly inviting and to say that reflects the hotel's outlook would be an understatement. The check in was breezy with a warm welcoming service by the front office staff - now that's what I call hospitality. Although the room we got was located in the far corner, the room condition and facilities were simply breathtaking. The snacks provided were somewhat overwhelming but they tasted so well, that one would be stupid to resist. The Jacuzzi was a mind-blowing experience.

As for the hotel service, I simply don't know how they do it, but they will be there at your doorstep literally seconds after you keep the phone.

The restaurant and its management have won many accolades which they proudly display at the entrance. It was not before long that we realised why they receive them. The food is simply amazing with an endless spread. To walk around and have a look alone can fill you up. The flavours blend so well and they know how to exert the correct balance of tastes especially in local cuisines. The action stations were constantly full of action with a variety from prawns, sausages, bacon and waffles steaming continuously. Despite serious time restrictions and a house full of guests, the staff will go the extra mile just to see that smile on your face.

The weekend extravaganza is something that one should not miss. On Fridays and Saturdays, the hotel features a cultural extravaganza with traditional and contemporary performances including the occasional fire limbo. Simply worth the time.

The locality of the area features picteresque river boat rides to which the hotel also has some arrangements at additional cost. We could not make this journey, but previous experiences suggest that this cannot fail.

The only option for improvement that I could think for the hotel is that it shows no signage for anyone plying from the South towards it. Whilst motorists from Colombo along the Galle Road (A2) would not miss the hotel sign, we travelled along the expressway (E1) to come up from south. Nearly missed the turn but managed not to overshoot it too much thanks to some roadside assistance.

All in all, this was the first destination upon entering matrimony, and the warm service and comfortable outing at Heritance Ahungalla will be etched in our memories forever. A surefire revisiting option for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shyam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your destination to start your new life. We feel very proud that you have selected our hotel to start your new journey of life. Thank you for the time and trouble your have taken to post descriptive review on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted by your comments. First of all let me once again take this opportunity to wish both of you a very happy wedded life filled with good health, good luck and God's choicest blessings. We are very happy that you had a memorable stay with us which will be with you forever. Please visit us again to celebrate your wedding anniversary at our hotel and when you make your plans keep us up dated so that we too can be ready for you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night towards the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and had a fantastic time. The hotel is right on the beach and the pools are lovely. We are at the Mustard Cafe and enjoyed a delicious Lobster Dinner. The staff have to be one of the hotel's best features, everyone was polite, professional and very helpful our waiter in particular (whose name I can't now remember) was wonderful. We highly reccomend!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TaWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us although it was a short one. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We hope you will come back to Sri Lanka for another spell of holiday and visit us and stay with us for a longer period of time. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A place you will be treated as a family. You will find a staff who sill look after you very well. They will provide you a good service. And the Pool area is really cool with the Sea very relaxing. Housekeeping guys are like machines. You can enjoy a Dinner with Fire light in the beach area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafrazrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very pleased with your positive comments and are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We trust that you will come back for another spell of holiday with us soon. Please keep us up dated when you make your next holiday plan with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: $93 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing