We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It keeps on getting better......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It keeps on getting better......”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We agree with our fellow reviewer a few days ago (who had enjoyed his second visit here); we spent five days here in October 2013 - our ninth visit - and continue to be delighted with this place. Some members of staff are now just like old friends; we are also very happy to see newer staff members settling in and being actively encouraged to excel. Our thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay....AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla again for the 9th time. We are touched and are so happy by your loyal patronage. We hope that you will come back over and over again and our home will be your second home to relax. Thank you for taking your valuable time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are highly motivated and delighted by them. It was a great pleasure to us to take care of you both and we consider it a privilege. Please let us know when you plan your 10th trip to Ahungalla so that we can be ready to give you a warm welcome back home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    614
    232
    65
    53
See reviews for
1,197
1,129
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having just returned, the 4 of us would like to thank at the staff for a excellent and memorable first stay in Sri Lanka - we will be back. The staff were so friendly (as was everyone we met), so helpful and so attentive to our needs - too many to mention by name.
The pool attendants are superb, being very proactive and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were very good, the room boy did an excellent job, and the amenities more than matched our needs for a relaxing time.
The food was superb, especially the desserts with the only downside being a tendency to over eat to try to sample everything as well as the local Lion beer/lager being "more than acceptable".
The pool settings are memorable and we especially enjoyed the residents pool albeit the view from the main pool is fantastic.
The local wildlife was varied and will keep your interest.
Location wise, there is much to see around this area of the island if you want to venture around and it does not cost a lot to do so.
The "hawkers" on the beach are fine - have experienced much worse. They are polite and accept a "not interested" answer if you are polite in doing so.
The time of the year is important for overseas visitors to see the hotel at its best I expect in that we did experience rain every day, given it was the end of the monsoons and moving into high season. The rain ranged from a light shower to amazing electrical storms but the staff always did a great job of mopping up and it did not detract from our holiday but I can see that it might at different times of the year if constant.
As a suggestion - why not put most of the hotel TV (Channel 1) onto your web site as it tells a great story and would be a VG selling aide to help future travellers select your hotel in particular, in that once visited, you sell yourselves as to a return trip in the future.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and give you a memorable holiday experience. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been to Sri Lanka on many occasions over the last 10 years, often combining work and leisure. My experience of Heritance hotels has been consistently good and Ahungalla was no exception. As with the other Bawa properties I have visited in Sri Lanka (Kandalama and Gallery Cafe for example), Ahungalla is beautifully crafted out of local materials, respects local traditions and also meets the needs of a tropical climate. Ahungalla is also located to provide a stunning view out to the Indian Ocean and several pools from which to enjoy the experience. Perhaps more importantly, the location and architecture are complemented with a warm and extremely professional team of hotel staff. Indeed, in my 30 plus visits to Sri Lanka, only Kandalama has exceeded this hotel in terms of service quality.
I co-organised an academic conference at Ahungalla in September 2013, and many of the 142 local and international delegates were equally complimentary of the overall experience, but particularly the architecture and service quality.
Unlike many other hotels that host similar events, Ahungalla also benefits from having conference halls somewhat separate from the main hotel. This benefits delegates and hotel guests alike, with the conference proceedings not distracting from the ambience of the hotel.
The only slight downside is access. As with much of Sri Lanka, roads are not that good and congestion is common. The Expressway has helped somewhat, but it runs some way from the coast, where most hotels are located. Access from the airport is also difficult, but when the Outer Circular opens, which will bypass Colombo, this will certainly alleviate most of the access difficulties.
Despite this and overall, an excellent experience and while I don't visit down South that often, when I do, I shall definitely look to stay at Ahungalla in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and also to conduct your business matters. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a lengthy review on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments you have made about the hotel, the services and our staff. Thank you for appreciating the beautiful creation of late Mr. Gefforey Bawa in the form of our hotel. Please know that it gives us immense happiness to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and have left our home with happy hearts. We look forward to having you with us when you come down to Sri Lanka next. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was quite good. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean and well organized. I especially liked the swimming pool area facing the beach. Although, there were a couple of things that could be improved. For one thing, the rooms I stayed in had a few maintenance issues (the ac was not working properly for one of the rooms and the shower drain was clogged). Rooms where not that great. The food in the hotel was good but not nothing special compared to other hotels I've visited in Sri Lanka. Another thing that was lacking were the sports and recreation facilities. All in all, it was a nice stay but I definitely would not the best in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tej138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share your experience about your stay with us on the Trip Advisor. We have carefully reviewed your comments about some issues and first of all would like to thank you for bringing them to our notice. By doing so you have given us an opportunity to rectify our shortcomings and elevate our service and product standards. We have immediately communicated to our Chief Engineer and the Rooms Division Manager about the technical issues in the room and are pleased to inform you that we have addressed them immediately. Your comments about adding more recreational facilities in the hotel will be discussed and we will see where we could improve them. Your review has been discussed at our Morning Meeting and we assure you that we will do our best to address all the areas mentioned by you. We hope you will come back to our hotel to see these changes. When you decide to come back please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nothing matches the exurburent architecture of Jeffrey Bawa than a great location, excellent service and great food. All of this can be found in the Heritance Ahungalla. Having stayed at both this Heritance and the Heritance in Kandalama which is also another Bawa architectural masterpiece..I can count myself as being a truly lucky man.. The hotel, the ambience and the ways the staff and the team go out of their way to make you feel welcomed, this is truly a 5 star experience. Lovde every minute of my weekend stay. Since I work in Colombo, I will be coming back to these Heritance hotels! Great weekend!

Room Tip: I took the Premium room which is on the 3rd floor and and great view of the Ocean...I recommend them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted about the fact that you appreciate the beautiful creation of late Mr. Gefforey Bawa. Thank you also for appreciating our service, our staff and the product. We are highly motivated and happy about the fact that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon. When you decide to come back, please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As the title says, this was my second trip to Sri Lanka. I was determined not to repeat any destination. The only exception I made was for Heritance Ahungalla, because I had had the most amazing time there on my previous visit. And I couldnt imagine going to Sri Lanka without staying at Ahungalla atleast for a short while. I was not disappointed. In fact, I was so surprised because they have made an already excellent property even better. We drove straight 7 hours from Kandalama, so we werent feeling too good when we arrived. But the moment we arrived, we were surrounded by smiling , caring faces who whisked us away, sat us down, gave us cool towels, refreshing drinks within seconds without once hassling us unnecessarily about things. Check in was smooth. We were given an upgrade to a luxury suite (we had booked a regular one). Not only us , but the family travelling with us was also given an upgrade to match us. The moment they heard it was our second visit, nothing was too much to ask. The rooms were great. The property looked absolutely fabulous. The manager called us up to find out if we were comfortable and whether we were happy with the room. WE had a lovely meal at the coffee shop , and we were soo well served by Dharshana. Infact, Dharshana really made our stay for the next two days special by looking after our every need. Nothing was too much to do for him. Next morning, we were given an upgrade to their best suite on the top floor. My son was especially excited because it is named after Sachin TEndulkar and has many of his memorabilia on display. He actually stayed there. The two pools , the beach , the food are all to die for. They have now installed a lift which was missing earlier.Every request is fulfilled with a smile. There are activities planned by the hour eg pool aerobics, water polo...very enjoyable and relaxing day spent. Lots of things to do and very peaceful as well, if you prefer. The beach is as pretty as ever.. But what really makes it special are the people, the service, and the smiling faces. Thanks everyone, and especially Dharshana. We hope to be back soon.
Food was excellent as always. However, I think some additions are required to the vegetarian menu, especially for Indian guests. I also sorely missed the seafood restaurant which existed earlier. But may I say that I seem to remember that the buffets last time were even more lavish, especially the fruits. But I was told that this isnt really the season for fruits so perhaps April is a better time to visit for that.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are awesome! Take the Tendulkar suite. All sea facing rooms should be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSon3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted and highly motivated by the comments you have made about the hotel, the staff and the food and facilities. Please know that it is our immense pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you for the second time at Heritance Ahungalla. We are so happy that you visited us again and we hope that you would consider our hotel as your beach haven to relax and rejuvenate yourself when you are in our beautiful motherland. We look forward to having you again at our home soon. We have taken note of the comments you have made about including more vegetarian dishes in the buffet and we have up dated our Executive Chef on this. When you come to visit us next time please feel free to communicate your palette preferences to us so that we can ensure you have a selection of vegetarian dishes for you. Looking forward to your next visit, we remain wishing you and your family the very best for the holiday season. Please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good rooms with all amenities in a beautiful beach resort. Excellent and immediate service. As an added plus, the hotel offers a fine dining experience that truly is..fine dining. Designer food presented in an attractive venue. To spark our interest, we were presented with the days fresh catch for review by the chef. Unlike anything else we've found in Sri Lanka after three weeks of travel. Also enjoyed a tour of their remarkable kitchen by Executive Chef, Kasum Premachandra and further look at their extraordinary chocolate making by trainee cook B.H. Lakshan. Good food and lots of fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted and motivated by the very positive comments you have made about the hotel, its staff and the food. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make your holiday a comfortable and a memorable one. We trust that you will come back to us for another spell of great holiday when you are back in 'Sri Lanka next. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,233 reviews
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing