We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An even better experience on my second visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An even better experience on my second visit!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As the title says, this was my second trip to Sri Lanka. I was determined not to repeat any destination. The only exception I made was for Heritance Ahungalla, because I had had the most amazing time there on my previous visit. And I couldnt imagine going to Sri Lanka without staying at Ahungalla atleast for a short while. I was not disappointed. In fact, I was so surprised because they have made an already excellent property even better. We drove straight 7 hours from Kandalama, so we werent feeling too good when we arrived. But the moment we arrived, we were surrounded by smiling , caring faces who whisked us away, sat us down, gave us cool towels, refreshing drinks within seconds without once hassling us unnecessarily about things. Check in was smooth. We were given an upgrade to a luxury suite (we had booked a regular one). Not only us , but the family travelling with us was also given an upgrade to match us. The moment they heard it was our second visit, nothing was too much to ask. The rooms were great. The property looked absolutely fabulous. The manager called us up to find out if we were comfortable and whether we were happy with the room. WE had a lovely meal at the coffee shop , and we were soo well served by Dharshana. Infact, Dharshana really made our stay for the next two days special by looking after our every need. Nothing was too much to do for him. Next morning, we were given an upgrade to their best suite on the top floor. My son was especially excited because it is named after Sachin TEndulkar and has many of his memorabilia on display. He actually stayed there. The two pools , the beach , the food are all to die for. They have now installed a lift which was missing earlier.Every request is fulfilled with a smile. There are activities planned by the hour eg pool aerobics, water polo...very enjoyable and relaxing day spent. Lots of things to do and very peaceful as well, if you prefer. The beach is as pretty as ever.. But what really makes it special are the people, the service, and the smiling faces. Thanks everyone, and especially Dharshana. We hope to be back soon.
Food was excellent as always. However, I think some additions are required to the vegetarian menu, especially for Indian guests. I also sorely missed the seafood restaurant which existed earlier. But may I say that I seem to remember that the buffets last time were even more lavish, especially the fruits. But I was told that this isnt really the season for fruits so perhaps April is a better time to visit for that.

Room Tip: The luxury suites are awesome! Take the Tendulkar suite. All sea facing rooms should be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSon3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted and highly motivated by the comments you have made about the hotel, the staff and the food and facilities. Please know that it is our immense pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you for the second time at Heritance Ahungalla. We are so happy that you visited us again and we hope that you would consider our hotel as your beach haven to relax and rejuvenate yourself when you are in our beautiful motherland. We look forward to having you again at our home soon. We have taken note of the comments you have made about including more vegetarian dishes in the buffet and we have up dated our Executive Chef on this. When you come to visit us next time please feel free to communicate your palette preferences to us so that we can ensure you have a selection of vegetarian dishes for you. Looking forward to your next visit, we remain wishing you and your family the very best for the holiday season. Please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    618
    233
    64
    54
See reviews for
1,204
1,135
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good rooms with all amenities in a beautiful beach resort. Excellent and immediate service. As an added plus, the hotel offers a fine dining experience that truly is..fine dining. Designer food presented in an attractive venue. To spark our interest, we were presented with the days fresh catch for review by the chef. Unlike anything else we've found in Sri Lanka after three weeks of travel. Also enjoyed a tour of their remarkable kitchen by Executive Chef, Kasum Premachandra and further look at their extraordinary chocolate making by trainee cook B.H. Lakshan. Good food and lots of fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted and motivated by the very positive comments you have made about the hotel, its staff and the food. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make your holiday a comfortable and a memorable one. We trust that you will come back to us for another spell of great holiday when you are back in 'Sri Lanka next. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was in Sri Lanka for the second time. Prior to this trip would never have believed that Sri Lanka has such a luxurious hotel with a very kind and responsive staff. The ocean is not deep at the hotel, my 9 year old daughter a lot of swimming in the ocean. The beach boys are friendly, trying to help. If you have forgotten something - be sure to bring in, do not steal. Very good food, I recommend HB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLEKSANDR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to ready your positive comments about our hotel and our staff. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you and your family. We trust that you will return back to our hotel next year for another spell of great holiday. When you plan to come please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The suite was large and beautifully furnished,and had a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Very close to the beach and the suite opened out to a private patio right by the pool. The food was delicious and varied. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful.
My wife and I had a great stay and will definitely come back the next time we visit Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Fork out a little more and get a suite on the ground floor. It gives you direct access to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to ready your positive comments about our staff and our hotel. Please know that it was a great pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make your holiday a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back when you plan to visit Sri Lanka again. Please keep us up dated when you do so, so that we can be ready to welcome you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of spending 14 nights at this hotel. Firstly I would like to thank the friendly staff for all their hard work, they made our stay perfect. An extra thank you to Thilina in housekeeping for the fantastic service and all his hard work, you really do go that extra mile to make the rooms special by adding that extra touche, I loved the elephant (room 254) Also thank you to the pool attendance (green pool) for their hard work, the sun loungers and towels where ready for us every morning and thank you to kithsiri for inflating our lilos. All the bar and restaurant staff gave a fantastic service too, Rohana always ensured all our needs were met with a smile. Narmika and the young lady stood at the door in the breakfast room most mornings always gave us a warming welcome. All the members of staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our staff perfect. I would recommend the fine dinning restaurant, the food was amazing. The coffee shop served great food too, ideal for an afternoon snack or even a evening meal and all reasonably priced. The rooms were comfortable and clean, good supply of clean towels every day, a balcony with a lovely view, excellent air conditioning and ceiling fan and complimentary tea, coffee and sugar everyday. You need to take extra care when walking through the corridors as they can become slippery due to the humidity level and when returning to the room late at night it's always good idea to have the light on your phone handy because the lights are turned off, maybe sensors on the lights are a way forward in the future. I would recommend this hotel, the staff are hard working, very friendly and go out their way to make your stay a memorable one, the hotel grounds are immaculate, great food and entertainment. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Can't wait to see you all again next year. Sri Lanka at its best

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank adele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post your holiday experience with photographs on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy about the remarks you have made about our staff and the services of the hotel. I will convey your kind sentiments to my team members. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to know that you and your friends had a great holiday at our hotel. We look forward to having you back with us next year. When you plan to make your holiday please contact us so that we can assist you to plan your holiday and welcome you back for another relaxing holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The overall experience was very good. The location, the sea, the rooms, the staff and the entire property was excellent.
The food was very good. Was woken up by the sound of waves in the morning. Wonderful experience.
One of the best hotels that I stayed in Sri Lanka. Truly a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gautam023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share your valuable experience about the hotel, our staff and the food on the Trip Advisor with your photographed memories. We are delighted by the fact that you had a wonderful experience with us and that your stay with us is a memorable one. It is a great pleasure for us to know that our guests have left our home happy and satisfied. We hope you will come back for another spell of great holiday with us. When you make your plans please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Out-of-this-world food, we found ourselves pigging out. Heavenly pools and hot tub. Very luxurious rooms. Friendly and considerate staff. Lovely beach and waves. Convenient location. Beautiful layout.
Had a memorable stay. Wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about the hotel, food and our staff and service on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive comments. Please know that it was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you. We trust that you will come again to spend another holiday with us soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing