We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at the Heritance for two nights at the end of the Kuoni Ceylon South Tour before we flew to the Maldives. The hotel was absolute heaven. We were stunned by the beautiful entrance when we arrived and the rest of our group were very jealous and were tempted to sneak off the bus too! The room was beautiful with an excellent view. The hotel was immaculate, the staff were wonderful, the food was delicious.
The only thing that upset us was that the hotel was so quiet. Obviously it was nice and relaxing from our point of view. We were always the only people in the pool and the gym – we felt like celebrities who had hired the whole hotel to ourselves. However the downside of this was that the wonderful staff must make far less in tips when there are so few guests staying. We have sent a letter to Kuoni urging them to make this hotel the standard hotel for the end of the Ceylon South Tour as it was simply the perfect end to our tour. We were sad that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Liked — The views, the pool, the room and the wonderful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGoughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    614
    232
    64
    53
See reviews for
1,196
1,129
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for 6 days in June and it really is a fantastic place.
The hotel is exceptionally presented, the room we had immaculate, with a stunning sea view.

The staff there deserve high praise for making this place what it is, they really know how to look after you and are some of the friendliest people I’ve ever met. Everyone always had a smile and seemed genuinely interested in helping or just making conversation (without being intrusive) whatever time of the day! Their knowledge of football was limited though as they only seem to have heard of David Beckham!! – Cricket is what matters here!

The pools were excellent, large and clean & the food in the restaurants (Jute & Mustard) outstanding. The meals were great value (we stayed on B&B basis) with the evening meals costing on average about £35 for both of us (3 courses) including a bottle of wine. (The wine is the same price as UK restaurants) The evenings that we ate in the main restaurant (Jute) this was always buffet with a theme (Chinese, BBQ etc) but there were always other options available. My wife described the curries as the ‘best she’d ever eaten’

The hotel is a little isolated but set in beautiful grounds and right on a great stretch of beach – unfortunately due to the time of year the sea was too rough for swimming. I didn’t really get the impression though that this was a ‘beach resort’ as all the guests stayed by the pools, this maybe however due to the time of year I visited (monsoon season) but the weather was fantastic and extremely hot - also the beaches are public so although they are only trying to make a living you are targeted by the ‘beach hawkers’ as soon as they spot you on the sand!

We did a day trip to Galle, incorporating a visit to a turtle hatchery, a river boat safari, mask museum & lunch at a great seafood restaurant. On our check out morning we left for a mini tour to Kandy, visiting the Elephant Orphanage at Pinnawala, the Millennium Elephant Foundation (where as well as learning about the elephants you can ride and feed them – this was a fantastic experience and in my opinion much better than the Orphanage, where the workers main interest seems to be getting as many tips out of you for photo’s as possible!) a tea factory, a herb garden, the Botanical Gardens & the Temple of the Tooth. There is some stunning scenery & views in Kandy and none more so than from the cliff side restaurant we stopped at for lunch, which offered great views for miles across the City. We arranged all our excursions & Airport transfers through Rammuni Tours, (Mr Silva) which were great value and I’d highly recommend to any of my family and friends travelling to Sri Lanka (I’m happy to pass on his contact details to anyone who wants them)

Sri Lanka really is a country to be visited & the Heritance Ahungalla is definitely a great place to stay. We are hoping to return some time in the near future and would with out a doubt stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff & the food
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Great for rest. Beautiful beach, with lots of waves. The fauna in the hotel was great: squirrels, monkeys, iguanas... all friendly. The staff was very nice, especially the animator and the gim guy.

  • Liked — the design
  • Disliked — the size of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TSengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightlingsea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

we travelled here with our two sons, 13 and 16, in 2001, as a two centre with the maldives, this was our first stop. firstly sri lankan airlines was the best airline we had ever travelled on, even better than virgin.
the hotel then was called the triton, which we was upgraded from after we complained, before we travelled, as our original hotel, the swanee, was slated in a telly programme.
the hotel was first rate.it's own elephant, numerous weddings going on. beautiful food, even curry for breakfast, if you wished ! ice carving and fruit carving to watch. little chipmunks running all over the place, don't touch them though. a bloke rescued one from the swimming pool, got bit, and was taken to hospital for a rabies jab.
sea rough, just paddle and jump the waves. swimming pools good. would watch a large monitor lizard some days, it would wander and then start digging, sadly eating turtle eggs, it was digging up, but hey, that's nature.lots of other little lizards around. and many insects, didn't see any spiders though.
took a taxi, they are friendly and cheap, please give them a tip, they work for very low wages, especially the staff at the hotel, my husband gave a bloke that was cleaning up round the pool, a few dollars and he said it was more than he earned in a week !
we went to a turtle farm, worth going, and unawatuna beach, as we were told it may be calmer there, it was a little.we wished we had went to the elephant orphanage, but it was so hot.
i know the hotel now is under another name, i hope the people here weren't too badly affected by the tsunami, i know it hit here. did the elephant survive ?i know when we heard of the disaster, our first thoughts were for a family, which sold tablecloths on the beach, and had a little place right up on the right hand side of the beach. they lived here. i still think of them, when i lay down my elephant cloth on my dining table.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — a long way from the airport.
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruba43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Booked this along with a 5 day stay in Dubai for our Honeymoon last October. Booked through Key2Holidays (also very good!!).

The hotel was fantastic, we splashed out and booked one of the top suites - named the 'Cliff Richard' suite and it was amazing (marred by a slight smell of drains in the bathroom - but this was fixed within 30 minutes of raising the concern. Top notch service)

Room was large with huge whirlpool bath and rain shower, bed was amazing and surrounded on 3 sides with ocean views..large balcony overlooking the beach..need I say more?

Now for the staff, they are without doubt the nicest bunch of hotel staff we have ever experienced. They were all so friendly and genuine. Everyone from the room boys to the pool boys and bar staff were all brilliant!! I cannot say enough good things about them....apart from we hope to see them all again soon.

The food to was exemplary, breakfast buffet was top draw with a selection of local, European and American options...all superb. Lunch time we ate mainly at the pool bars which were par for the course...burgers etc but all good.

Evening meals were superb; we ate several times in the coffee shop 'Mustard' as it was so good...and cheap!

The main restaurant 'Jute' was also ok but on BBQ night it was out of this world. We treated ourselves to 2 special meals; the 1st was on the beach where we ate lobster etc....what a fantastic experience with the sea lapping behind us whilst dining by candlelight. The other was in the 'Upper Room' where we were the only people in there and this was the highlight as both the food and the service was outstanding.

Some people have aired their opinions on both the tipping issue and the beach touts so let’s get both these out of the way.

Tipping - this has to be put in perspective. The people work very very hard for little pay and do such good jobs so why not tip? We had no problem with this at all and I cannot see what all the fuss is about.

Beach touts - Yes they can be a pain but again this is their living. The hotel can do nothing about them as the beach is not private. They will respect your feelings and leave you be, if you tell them to leave you alone and they will never cross the boundary of the hotel.

We used a couple of chaps called Charlie and Tino for 3 trips and they were brilliant so if you meet them on the beach tell them we said hi!! Yes they will try and sell you the earth but just be honest and tell them what you want..they will respect this.

Overall a fantastic and unforgettable experience!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchester_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. . Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel, the staff and its service on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to look after you and take care of your needs during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Just as my title says... Heritance Ahungalla is one of the best beach resorts I have been to. This is my 3rd time in Sri Lanka and the 1st time after the tsunami. It is unbelievable how this hotel has been refurbished..
The staff is very friendly and the food is also great.
I very much like the view you get as soon as you enter the hotel lobby, where the pool seems like it connects with the sea.
Sri Lanka is a brilliant place to visit and Heritance Ahungalla is a must stay resort if you are travelling down south.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed for Christmas 2007 and agree with other reviewers that the hotel has been beautifully refurbished. We had a fantastic room with a sea view, very comfy bed, huge bathroom, all spotlessly clean. The pool area is stunning and the pool attendants very helpful in brining loungers, towels and refreshing slices of watermelon. A few rupees on day one will get you a great spot and a parasol for the rest of your stay!

However we were disappointed with both the food and the service. Yes the fine dinning is superb but overall the food was too "international" with very limited choice for those of us that travel in Asia for the delicious local food. As there is absolutely nothing outside of the hotel ,and only very limited choices if you take long a taxi ride to other towns along the coast, we soon became bored with the choice of one Sri lanka curry, one chinese style stir fry and the local dish of Devilled chicken. Personally we don't travel for 11 hours to eat a rack of lamb no matter how good it is! The hotel was busy at it was Chistmas and it took ages to get served, particularly at the pool bar. Over one hour for a sandwich and a beer for lunch on one occaision.

Overal the hotel is excellent provided you like an "all inclusive" type of holiday.

Having travelled extensivley in India, Thailand, and Malaysia we were a little disappointed in Sri Lanka overall. It takes forever to get anywhere as the roads are so bad and so congested, the food wasn't that great anywhere, Columbo is polluted and rather grim. Whilst the beaches in the South are fantastic we enjoyed our stay further North more. Tragically there is still a long way to go to recover from the Tsunami. The lack of tourists is having the effect that those that do go are seen as "cash cows" we felt somewhat ripped off on more than one occaision. Beware the moonstone mines - you can buy them cheaper in the UK!

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Service at the pool bar
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We also thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive review. We are very concerned about the remarks you have made and thankful for bringing it to our notice. We have noted your comments with concern and immediate steps will be taken for improvement where necessary. We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritance Ahungalla on your next visit. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,232 reviews
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing