We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel for Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
“Incredible hotel for Sri Lanka”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was in Sri Lanka for the second time. Prior to this trip would never have believed that Sri Lanka has such a luxurious hotel with a very kind and responsive staff. The ocean is not deep at the hotel, my 9 year old daughter a lot of swimming in the ocean. The beach boys are friendly, trying to help. If you have forgotten something - be sure to bring in, do not steal. Very good food, I recommend HB

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLEKSANDR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to ready your positive comments about our hotel and our staff. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you and your family. We trust that you will return back to our hotel next year for another spell of great holiday. When you plan to come please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,496
    609
    232
    64
    53
See reviews for
1,188
1,125
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The suite was large and beautifully furnished,and had a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Very close to the beach and the suite opened out to a private patio right by the pool. The food was delicious and varied. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful.
My wife and I had a great stay and will definitely come back the next time we visit Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Fork out a little more and get a suite on the ground floor. It gives you direct access to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to ready your positive comments about our staff and our hotel. Please know that it was a great pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make your holiday a relaxing and rejuvenating experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back when you plan to visit Sri Lanka again. Please keep us up dated when you do so, so that we can be ready to welcome you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of spending 14 nights at this hotel. Firstly I would like to thank the friendly staff for all their hard work, they made our stay perfect. An extra thank you to Thilina in housekeeping for the fantastic service and all his hard work, you really do go that extra mile to make the rooms special by adding that extra touche, I loved the elephant (room 254) Also thank you to the pool attendance (green pool) for their hard work, the sun loungers and towels where ready for us every morning and thank you to kithsiri for inflating our lilos. All the bar and restaurant staff gave a fantastic service too, Rohana always ensured all our needs were met with a smile. Narmika and the young lady stood at the door in the breakfast room most mornings always gave us a warming welcome. All the members of staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our staff perfect. I would recommend the fine dinning restaurant, the food was amazing. The coffee shop served great food too, ideal for an afternoon snack or even a evening meal and all reasonably priced. The rooms were comfortable and clean, good supply of clean towels every day, a balcony with a lovely view, excellent air conditioning and ceiling fan and complimentary tea, coffee and sugar everyday. You need to take extra care when walking through the corridors as they can become slippery due to the humidity level and when returning to the room late at night it's always good idea to have the light on your phone handy because the lights are turned off, maybe sensors on the lights are a way forward in the future. I would recommend this hotel, the staff are hard working, very friendly and go out their way to make your stay a memorable one, the hotel grounds are immaculate, great food and entertainment. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Can't wait to see you all again next year. Sri Lanka at its best

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank adele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post your holiday experience with photographs on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy about the remarks you have made about our staff and the services of the hotel. I will convey your kind sentiments to my team members. Please know that it was a pleasure for us to know that you and your friends had a great holiday at our hotel. We look forward to having you back with us next year. When you plan to make your holiday please contact us so that we can assist you to plan your holiday and welcome you back for another relaxing holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The overall experience was very good. The location, the sea, the rooms, the staff and the entire property was excellent.
The food was very good. Was woken up by the sound of waves in the morning. Wonderful experience.
One of the best hotels that I stayed in Sri Lanka. Truly a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gautam023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share your valuable experience about the hotel, our staff and the food on the Trip Advisor with your photographed memories. We are delighted by the fact that you had a wonderful experience with us and that your stay with us is a memorable one. It is a great pleasure for us to know that our guests have left our home happy and satisfied. We hope you will come back for another spell of great holiday with us. When you make your plans please keep us up dated so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Out-of-this-world food, we found ourselves pigging out. Heavenly pools and hot tub. Very luxurious rooms. Friendly and considerate staff. Lovely beach and waves. Convenient location. Beautiful layout.
Had a memorable stay. Wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about the hotel, food and our staff and service on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive comments. Please know that it was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you. We trust that you will come again to spend another holiday with us soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was simply amazing. From the time we arrived the checkin was very smooth. Then we were taken to our room which was small but very nice and well furnished. The room was clean with new furniture and a ocean view balcony.

The architecture and view in this hotel were amazing. From swimming pool to its proximity to the beach everything made it a unique experience.

The food is also good with big variety. However we faced only one drawback during breakfast where the dinning hall was smelly so we had to sit outside to avoid it.

I strongly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post your experience about the hotel, the staff and the services of the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments and are very happy to note that you had a great time with us. With regard to the comment made by you on the Restaurant, we are pleased to inform you that we are up grading the Restaurant and the buffet at the moment. Please know that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you and we hope that you will come back to us again in the near future. When you plan your next holiday please keep us informed so that we can be ready to welcome you back. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived to red carpet treatment and band, albeit for the wrong bus as another group bus pulled in behind us. The welcome was meant for them. We were a bus load of 2 families returning from a family wedding. We were greeted, given welcoming drinks and escorted to our rooms.
With 3 small children in our group, we have been catered for with high chair readily available (a safety harness would be an advantage here) and children's meals have appeared promptly.
Swimming pool is very child friendly with plenty of space for everyone.
Thilina, our room attendant, surprised the children by making towel elephants and went out of his way to make sure we were happy with the room.
Beautiful setting, friendly and helpful staff and great food.

Room Tip: We had 2 3-bed rooms which were more than adequate for the 7 of us. One improvement would be a conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taranaki39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note your very positive comments about our hotel, the service and the staff. Please know that it is our pleasure to ensure that our guests are always happy and satisfied and leave our home relaxed and rejuvenated. We hope that you and your families will come back to Heritance Ahungalla for another spell of holiday soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,213 reviews
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing