We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shashi best animator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Ahungalla, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Shashi best animator”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very very very excellent hotel; Shashi and wasitha
are very friendly and kind people in hotel especially shashi animation .nice rooms,nice beach,nice pools.thank you reception workers are very good one advice:all facilities must be free of charge because it's a five stars hotel

Room Tip: Luxury rooms sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel and the staff on the Trip Advisor. I will convey your kind sentiments to the individual staff you have mentioned. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope you would come back to us again for another spell of great holiday with us. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,518
    618
    233
    64
    54
See reviews for
1,204
1,135
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colombo
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

apart from the great food and beautiful place, the best part about this hotel is its service. the staff are polite, kind and very alert. they made our stay so much better. we were with a 1 1/2yr baby, and they made sure she was made special meals. loved the place!! highly recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: higher floors provide a better view. get rooms closer to the recepion area, or you will have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmibib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read your comments and thank you once again for your kind comments. They motivate us to elevate ourselves to a higher service standards. Please know that it was our pleasure to look after you and take care of you during your holiday with us. We trust you would come back to us again for another spell of holiday. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family stayed here, attending a beautiful wedding ceremony. Our two kids loved the spacious pool and the food. The staff were very kind and alert to our needs. The hotel was quick in contacting a doctor for us when one of the kids fell ill, this always being a concern when you travel. Make sure you ask the staff to spray your room for Mosquitos.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to know that you stayed at our hotel to attend a wedding ceremony at our hotel. Please accept our sincere thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of the comment you have made with regard to mosquitoes and we have immediately carried out a pest control exercise. We hope you will come back to our hotel for a holiday with us and if you decide to visit us please keep us informed. We will be happy to take care of you and your family. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely looking hotel with a beautiful location. A few irritations though - no soap in the rooms, just two empty soap boxes in the bathroom bin! The boutique appeared to have exactly what I was looking for, but despite three trips to the shop and finding the "open" sign in the window, the door was locked and nobody was there. As we had to depart, I didn't have time to try to find someone. On arrival we had to remind the reception staff to give us back our passports. And there was extraordinarily loud drumming below our room for perhaps 45 minutes after dinner! We presumed there must have been some sort of cultural show on that we hadn't been told about. We were just starting to get really tired of it when it stopped. We had dinner in our room, and it was served quite promptly and was delicious. Breakfast was also delicious, with a great variety. Despite this list of irritations, the hotel was quite lovely, and if we had been staying longer, we would have taken the trouble to sort them out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpipers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the minor short-comings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I very humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience you had to undergo due to our negligence. I have already called explanations from the Shop Assistant as to why she was not available in the shop when a guest had wanted to visit the shop and will severely advise her on the importance of guest service. I have also up dated my Front Office Manager about the forgetfulness of the Reception Staff to return back your passports once they have obtained the necessary information. However despite these minor shortcomings I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Please come back to our hotel for another holiday and keep us informed of your arrival. We will ensure that you have the best holiday in Sri Lanka. We will ensure that it would be a dream holiday that you will cherish all your life. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We attended a wedding at Heritance Ahungalla and stayed for four nights. The staff was very service minded, kind to our kids and intend on giving us the best possible experience on our stay. Our two small boys really enjoyed the pools and catching crabs on the beach with the help of the friendly guards seated at the hotel perimeter. The breakfast buffet was good and overwhelming in choice. Lunch at the pool bar is recommendable and the eating options (different restaurants) are generally very good. However, we tried the Mustard restaurant twice but were not so impressed with the meals here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting our hotel to attend a wedding which was at our hotel and staying with us for four nights. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you and your two sons enjoyed their stay with us. We hope that you would come back to our hotel with your family to enjoy a restful holiday. We will only be too happy to take care of you and your family. Please let us know in advance if you are considering a holiday with us. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for a four night beach stay to end our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is in a nice location next to the beach. It has two pools, one near the main foyer and another one in a quieter spot - you can't see the beach from this pool but it is nicer and used more than the other one.

We checked in on a Sunday afternoon - although it is low season, during the weekends the hotel is still fully booked due to package specials. This meant the reception was very busy when we got in and may be why we were allocated a poor standard room initially. It was dirty and had an overpowering musty smell - we were very disappointed, but fortunately after a few hours we were able to go in a much nicer room without the smell and a good view over looking the ocean.

We generally felt that our stay here was below the quality of stays we have had a similar resorts. Some staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable, but then some staff were not as accommodating. For example there are hawkers from the beach that come up in to the resort, so that when we were relaxing they would be yelling out to us to buy their wares - there is a security guard there so it is hard to believe they are even allowed to do this. We were even more shocked when one of the pool attendants actually encouraged us to buy a shirt from one of them! The beach is not actually very nice to spend time on due to a lot of rubbish washed up on the shore.

We stayed on a half board basis so ate at the hotel a lot and the quality of the meals was a bit inconsistent. The first night dinner buffet was very limited so we asked to have a la carte and this was kindly provided. The next night, there were so few guests that a special a la carte menu was offered - we had a seafood dish and wow - it was literally the best meal we had during our whole Sri Lankan holiday! Then we had a great buffet one night with lots of beautiful hot and fresh food. We also ordered lunches and the menu was quite limited - again we had some great dishes and some that were a little disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and thank you for your valuable time and trouble taken to share the experience of your stay with us on the Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that you had been allocated a room not to your liking initially and I hope the room change was ok with you. I am very sorry about your experiences with the Beach Agents. This is a constant problem that we face because the beach is not owned by the hotel and is a public property. However, we have very severely reprimanded the Life Guards for trying to induce guests into buying things from the Beach Agents. Please accept my humble apologies for any inconvenience that you may have had to undergo because of the beach agents. We are in the process of finding a permanent solution for this and hope that it will mateiralise soon. I have also noted your comments about the consistency in taste of our food. I have up dated our Executive Chef on this and he will certainly look into this immediately to ensure that the taste of our food is good and consistent. While regretting very much these little short comings, we hope you will come back to us again soon. Please keep us up dated when you visit us again. and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We attended a wedding at Heritance Ahungalla and stayed for five nights. It was a great stay. The hotel staff was very serviceminded and the hotel facilities are great. Our kids especially enjoyed the two very large pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you had a great stay of five nights at our hotel. Thank you for the very positive comments you have made about the staff and the product. We hope you will come again to spend a another holiday with us. Please keep us up dated when you visit us again. We will be very happy to take care of you. Until then please take care of yourselves and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing