We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent resort... Beach a bit scary though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent resort... Beach a bit scary though”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to stay at Heritance Ahungalla during our recent trip to Sri Lanka for two reasons... 1. The taj At bentota was under renovation and 2. People generally had good things to say about it. However our experience was OK.

Rooms- they are clean, decent size, comfortable beds...but they were somehow a little dull.. Otherwise the rooms were quite clean and the housekeeping generally was good. We had a beautiful view of the sea from the room

Food was expensive in the fine dining restaurants.. Buffet and coffee shop were ok though. We didn't quite like the dinner buffet, the breakfast buffet was decent.

Overall hotel is ok. When you enter the lobby you don't feel that this is a luxury property. Though it's clean it's really minimalistic. They say it's the geoffery bawa minimalistic design and I personally prefer less to more but This place was actually quite bare. The pool however is very picturesque,,,and very clean.

The main disappointment however was the beach. The beach actually was ok .. clean and all but the ocean floor was not a gentle sloping floor like in bentota near taj. It's some thing like it will be 3 feet deep ten feet from the beach and then 1 foot deep when you go further. S it was quite scary for a non swimmer like me as I was not prepared for the sudden drop in the ocean floor.

The service overall was good and very courteous. However, the fact that the housekeeping staff barges into your room once u call for a check out was something I Didn't appreciate and thought it was very rude. They knock once and use their key to enter to check the minibar. They don't hv the decency to wait till we open the door or ask them to come in.

The other staff was very good. There were a lot of children at the resort and the staff was very patient with all the kids who were almost wrecking their Christmas trees and running around the buffet place like crazy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyotsnakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about the hotel, the service and the food of the hotel on the trip advisor. We have taken the comments made by you very positively and have discussed about them with the team in order that we could improve areas that needs our attention. Thank you very much for bringing it to our notice. We are very happy that you had a good holiday with us. It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you and hope that you would come back to our hotel in the near future. We have up dated our Rooms Division Manager about the comments you have made about the Housekeeping Staff and we will definitely up date them on hotel etiquettes for the staff. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    603
    230
    63
    53
See reviews for
1,165
1,107
70
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ended a 2 week tour of the island with 7 days here to relax before the long journey back home and relax we certainly did. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and although it is a big hotel the service was excellent at all times.
The reception area is big and airy and opens out onto one of two infinity pools which was backed by the beach and Indian Ocean. A spectacular view on arrival.
The staff were extremely friendly without being overbearing and were helpful at all times especially as we had to call for a doctor at one point.
We had booked a luxury room (357) which was on the far side of the hotel overlooking the second pool and whilst it was a lovely room in some senses I think most of the luxury referred to the size rather than anything else. It was actually too big! I say this because it didn't feel very relaxing. Although it had a seating area and flat screen tv everything looked lost in such a big space.
Luckily for us we did a deal and moved into into a suite at the end of the corridor which was just superb. We had a separate lounge, lovely bedroom, amazing bathroom with jacuzzi and more importantly a big balcony from which to view the ocean and superb sunsets.
There were plenty of sun loungers and space and the pools were big enough that they were never crowded.
There are three restaurants to choose from so we avoided the buffet because the other options were so much better and more relaxing and the fine dining restaurant really is superb. The chefs here regularly enter and win awards at the chefs Olympics so that shows how good the food is.
Once again, you cannot swim in the sea but the beach is lovely. You will get some of the locals wanting to sell you the usual clothes and tours but they were not too much of a problem and if you walk far enough there is a small beach cafe ( king lobster) where you can get the owners to cook you a meal or have a drink or you can walk further down the beach and see the villagers hauling in the fishing nets.
It really was a lovely way to end three weeks in Sri Lanka. It's just a shame we had to leave and go home to snow!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have a better view of the ocean. But also ask for rooms away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting to spend your dream vacation at Heritance Ahungalla. We are very grateful for the time and trouble you have taken to write quite a lengthy comment in the trip advisor. We were delighted to read the positive comments made by you about the service provided by our staff. I will pass down your comments to them. We are very happy that you had a relaxing holiday with us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope that you will consider our hotel as a haven where you can come to, to relax and enjoy yourself with the quite beauty that sooths you the moment you are with us. It would be our pleasure to ensure that you are relaxed and rejuvenated thoroughly before you leave our home. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ahungalla Heritance can be proud of its employees. Most striking impression was their ready smile & willingness to help old without requesting for assistance. That showed their genuine willingness to help others. And food was excellent ! I would say too much of variety. Thank you Heritance, keep it up !!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the south of hotel facing the large garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us and our service on the trip advisor. We are happy and delighted about the comments made by you and I will pass them down to my staff. We are very happy that we were able to show care to you and it was our pleasure to look after you and your family during your holiday. We trust that you would continue to consider our hotel as your haven to relax and rejuvenate yourself. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been to Heritance several times and in my opinion its the best beach resort in the Island.

The beach is exceptional..... its not shared with tons of other hotels so you have it almost all to yourself :)

Rooms are always in excellent condition and very very clean and spacious.
When it comes to Food they always have a great spread and even the a la carte menu is fabulous.

The most important aspect of this gem of hotel is the staff - they are ever so friendly and helpful always going out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy. The Staff truly are the 5th star in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinSync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Also thank you very much for the very positive comments you have made about the hotel, the beach, food and the service of our staff. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and to have had the opportunity to extend our service and care to you. I will pass down your comments to our staff so that they will be motivated more to always elevate themselves in their standards. We are very happy that you had a great holiday with us. Hope you will come back to us again for another spell of a dream holiday with us when you feel that you need to relax and rejuvenate yourselves from your busy schedules. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay in this beautiful hotel... Rooms and public areas all kept clean and to a very high standard. The food and drink selection in the bars and restaurants is excellent. What sets this hotel apart are the staff, every member from room boys and pool attendants through to the managers themselves are nothing but friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much bother. I thoroughly reccomend this hotel if you are considering a visit to Sri Lanka... Looking forward to returning soon

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We hope you had a dream vacation with us although it was for a short spell of time. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about the experience that you had with us and also sharing with us your valuable ideas about the property and our staff. May we say that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to serve you and take care of you and your family during your holiday and we are waiting for your return to our beach haven soon. Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a stunningly beautiful hotel is in the most amazing location right on the ocean front. When we first arrived at this hotel I was overwhelmed with how amazing it was and only wish we had of stayed longer than one night! The hotel grounds are like what you see on postcards picture perfect! The room which we were in was basic though nice and very comfortable, the only disappointment was that we were on the side of the building so we didn't have front facing ocean views only a side glimpse. After reading past reviews about the bathroom not really being up to standard cleanliness wise for a 5 star residence with limescale etc. we found it to be not so bad but it could be improved on which would make a big difference! The hotel itself is quite sparse and very light and airy with several different bars located around the hotel. The food was great though my only suggestion would be to have more of a western choice at breakfast as it was mainly Asian and if your not wanting to eat curry for breakfast your very limited to what choice there was available. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers but try and stay longer than just one night as I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: A ocea view room would be the best as ours was located on the side of the hotel we didn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to comment about us, this way it helps many other travellers to get a clear idea of what Heritance Ahungalla is all about. It is although unfortunate that you had to leave us so soon, as we have many activities and entertainment lined up which will enhance your dream vacation.

We have taken your suggestions in a positive way and we have adviced the relevant departments to take immediate measures to make changes and rectify the minor problems. We assure you on your next visit you will see the difference and be more delighted than you are now. Our Hotel has six different room categories which you can select from. We also have beautiful ocean front deluxe rooms, On your next visit do not forget to mention to your travel agent that you will like to have a Ocean front deluxe room. We are looking forward to your next visit to serve you yet again with our warm Hospitality. Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I had the most excellent and enjoyable stay at the Heritance Ahungalla.What makes this hotel special is its staff and the food.This hotel really understands the meaning of customer service. We stayed in this beautiful hotel, maintained fantastically, for 20 nights and every day we were greeted with beautiful smiling faces, the staff had the "yes I can do" attitude and made us feel like home.Every day was a special day due the staff and their incredible friendly manner,from breakfast to pool & bar,dinner and houskeeping staff and chefs, we were spoiled by their attentiveness and pure kindness, The food is out of this world,the variety of dishes on the buffet,the freshness of the ingredients,the presentation and the taste was outstanding,every dish tasted like heaven.To our dearest Kusum,Anushka,Jananjaya,Nelka and Aeysha in the restaurant,Madhu,Puspakumara,Waruna,Indika and Lakshitha at the pool bar,Thilina in housekeeping and Rukshan and his chefs, thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for this unforgettable stay.We truly appreciated your endeavours to make our long stay the best we ever had and for that we salute to you all and to the management for treating their staff well.In sum we highly recommend the Heritance Ahungalla to all you travellers out there,there are no worlds to describe it just go and experience it yourself.Thank you again and see you soon. Yours sincerely Izra Mannan and Frank Herrenbrueck

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I trust that you spent a dream holiday with Heritance Ahungalla last November, 2012. Thank you for selecting our Beach Haven as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking your valuable time and the trouble to make a superb comment about our hotel, our staff, our food and even taking time to mention individuals who have excelled in their services. We will pass down your comments to all our staff. We appreciate your gesture very much. We consider it our privilege to have had the opportunity of looking after you both and we invite you to consider Heritance Ahungalla as your home away from home. Please come back to us whenever you feel the need to relax yourselves . We are looking forward to having you with us soon. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#4 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing