We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beachside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Heritance Ahungalla for 2 nights at the end of October. The hotel is on the Ahungalla Beach near Bentota and is a scenically beautiful and spacious property. The view from the lobby of the pool and the sea - unbeatable!!

First day it was raining quite a bit so could not enjoy the pool and beach to the fullest... the red flags were always up at the beach and apparently the sea is not very swim worthy for novices.

Second day thankfully the sun was out and we could paddle around a bit in the sea and the pool.
Lovely pool!!

Food at the hotel - what we had for dinner one day was fine, the breakfast is fairly good too.

Spa - my husband tried it out - and he said it was very very good.
The rates are fairly expensive though and we ended up paying almost as much as we would in Dubai for a similar massage!

Rooms -
We had a mix up with reservations and so finally landed up paying much more than the going rate (20% off rack rate) and this was sad.
Paid more than what was the current rate for a premium room for a deluxe room, and got "upgraded" to a premium room.
Reservations tried to help but since we had booked through an external agency they couldnt help much.
So I guess for all of you out there - please try a couple of time on their direct reservations site first!!

Rooms continued - Lovely sea view from the premium room, but housekeeping needed to be called in as i felt the room was not too clean. Also the drain in the bathroom was smelling and they came by and put some cinnamon oil and covered the drain with a towel!!

All in all it was a nice stay, but i would look for another option near bentota or hikkaduwa before I return to the Heritance Ahungalla.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annu0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. We are very grateful also for the time and trouble you have taken to make valuable comments on the trip advisor. We take these comments very positively and consider them as tools to improve ourselves.

We are happy that you were happy with our beautiful hotel and the fact that you enjoyed our food and other facilities. We are very sorry that you had to undergo a bad experience with the bathrooms of the room that you stayed in. I have communicated this to my Rooms Division Manager and it will be handled by her immediately to ensure that this situation will not be repeated again. We hope you will consider to return back to our hotel during your next vacation to experience the deifference in our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,602 - 2,608 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of a touring holiday in Sri Lanka. It is claimed to be the only five-star hotel on this coast, which is not entirely accurate. In some aspects the hotel is very good - the two huge swimming pools, large public areas, well spread-out accommodation & nicely-appointed rooms - and deserves its five stars. However, there are some aspects which are not five-star and were a source of irritation during our stay. For example, on the whole, the food was very good but tended to be served not very hot, and is rather expensive for what it is. We tried the buffet, which is OK, but very expensive. We had several meals in the Coffee Shop, which is more reasonable in price but, despite being a la carte, we twice had to send food back because it was virtually cold. Getting things like that fixed, which would happen promptly in a real 5-star hotel, seemed to take an age. Service is helpful & charming, but inept and inefficient at times. There often seems to be no-one on duty with sufficient authority to make a decision about things. Complaints are handled by constantly referring them to some-one else, who often is not in a position to actually do anything, other than telling someone else. The staff are not very quick to clear up after the rain sweeps into the public areas (which are tiled) leaving very slippery surfaces around for too long. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, but I think they could try harder to merit their 5-star tag.

Room Tip: Upper rooms on 3rd floor have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. Also thank you very much for the very constructive remarks you have made with regard to the experiences you had during your stay at our hotel. We appreciate them very much and take a very positive view of your comments and will take immediate action to notify the respective departments to rectify them immediately. We are happy that you had enjoyed our hotel and the beautiful architecture. However we are very sorry for the short-comings in our service. As for the remarks you have made with regard to the food has been directed to our Executive Chef and we will ensure that this type of errors are not repeated in the future. Thank you for your valuable time and remarks that will give us opportunity to raise our bar in our service standards. We hope that you will visit us again to experience a different level of hospitality that would delight you from the beginning to the end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in the Heritance Anhungalla for six nights in September. It is a smart stylish hotel designed by Bawa, Sri Lanka's foremost architect. Some may find it a bit stark and white, we loved it. The rooms were large with a lot of character; comfortable beds and a very diligent roomboys. Food in the main restaurant was buffet style with lots of choice and some interesting Sri Lankan dishes. Prices are a bit on the high side, there is a cheaper restaurant but the menu was limited. There are two pools, one is reserved for reidents, they have weekend visitors who can use the other pool. It is quite a large hotel but still got a bit crowded when they had a convention at the weekend. There are fabulous sunsets out to sea. The beach is heavily occupied by traders, the ladies have some good scarves and sarongs at cheap prices, guys want to sell you a boet ride or visit the restaurant down the beach. Some of our party did and found it very good and cheap. The beach boys are very polite, as are all Sri Lankans that we met and if you say you just want to be quiet and don't want to talk they leave you alone. The beach drops sharply into the sea and waves were popwerful so bathing is banned. This is one of the drawbacks of the hotle. The other problem is that there is nowhere to walk outside the hotel, if you venture out of the gate swarms of helpfull people appear! I think it's a great hotel for three or four nights, we got a bit bored after that.

Room Tip: Ask for a clear view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and also for taking the time and trouble to write a few comments about our hotel and our services. We are very happy that you liked the architectural beauty of our hotel created at the hands of Late Mr. Gefforey Bawa. We appreciate very much all the comments you make about us and take them as our guide lines to improve our services and raise the bar of our standards. We will pass down all the good comments made by you to our room boys and our Chefs. We are happy that you have enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and our Sri Lankan cuisine. We are sorry that you were not aware that you could have visited so many interesting places quite close by to the hotel. For instance there is a Turtle Hatchery quite close to the hotel and you could have gone on a Boat Safari on River Madu. We are very sorry if you had not been updated on these. We hope you will visit us again to experience all these and much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel's right by the Galle Road (A2) about 75km down South from Colombo. Had to drive around a bit (within the hotel premises) to find a place to park the car. Checking in took sometime as well.

The hotel's interior is aesthetically designed. It's got two big swimming pools. One is near the lobby. The other is in a more secluded place; making it the better option.

We got a Premium room on the 3rd floor with a balcony which overlooked the sea. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, flat panel TV, spacious wardrobe and safe. The rain shower-head in the bathroom was great. However, noises from the corridor could be heard in the room. Better soundproofing would've been great. Also, the door did not have a chain-lock; which we were surprised to find out in a star class hotel such as this.

The food was excellent! Great choice at the buffets and tasty food you really can enjoy.

We also made a trip to a turtle hatchery nearby in Kosgoda just a few kilometres away. The hotel staff helped us locate this place. It's at the end of a road that runs by the Kosgoda Police station.

In short, Heritance Ahungalla is a great sun & sand hotel with truly star-class food.

Room Tip: Premium rooms on the 3rd floor overlook the sea and give easy access to the pool. Ask for a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sundomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your leisure destination. We are very happy and thankful that you have taken time and trouble to comment about the hotel and our services on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had a good holiday with us enjoying our cuisine and our two beautiful pools. We have taken note of your comments with regard to the time taken in for your check in and the corridors being noisy. We thank you for beginning these shortcomings to our notice and have immediately taken steps to inform the respective departments about them. We hope that you will return back to our hotel for your next holiday also and give us the opportunity to take care of you in our own special way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

An excellent experience where food served was extremely delicious (particularly the breakfast menu). We stayed at luxury rooms which were good but nothing exceptional to really 'wow' us over. The staff at Heritance were very courteous and friendly. They were also flexible in all our requests. Had a great time while at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdgoal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and for taking time and trouble to share your thoughts about our hotel on the trip advisor. We are very happy that you had a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed our cuisine. Thank you for the very positive remark you have made about our staff. I will pass it on to them. Hope you will return back to us again in the near future and give us another opportunity to take care of you in true Sri Lankan southern hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel looked amazing when we arrived and we were upgraded to a fantastic suite which we were very happy with. The beach was long and wide however the sea is rough so don't expect to do too much swimming in there. Having stayed in a few other Heritance hotels during our visit to Sri Lanka we were pretty expectant when it came to the food at Heritance Ahungalla if nothing else, but we were let down here. There was not enough to choose from which was our main issue. Another bug bear was how the hotel allowed women in niqabs to swim in the hotel pools, not the type designed to be worn for swimming which of course I have no issue with. Despite these relatively small complaints we had a very relaxing stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your Holiday Resort. Also thank you very much for the very constructive comments you have made about our hotel and its services. We are very grateful to you for bringing your disappointments to our notice and we have immediately up dated our pool staff and the kitchen department with regard to the concerns expressed by you. We are happy that you had a good time at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our pools and had a relaxing holiday with us. Hope you would pay us a visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My self and my friends wanted to spend some time away from the norm of life, looked for a place where we could be feel free, be pampered and have a memorable experience...and that's exactly what Heritance Ahungalle surprised us with!! From the very second we entered the Hotel we greeted with such warmth and taken to a lounge where we were offered refreshments and to relax while the paperwork was taken care of, everything was done no different to a Butler service which was awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanjikumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Please also accept our sincere appreciation for the time and trouble taken to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. It was a delight to see the positive comments you have made about us. Thank you so very much. Please know that it is our pleasure to know that our valued guests have left us with joy in their hearts after their holiday. That is our desire. So we trust that you would come back to us for another spell of holiday soon. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: $99 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing