We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first Holiday in SriLanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first Holiday in SriLanka”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were at the Hotel in February 2011 for our Honeymoon! We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel thoroughly. I had booked our stay at the Hotel through 'Aitken Spence Travels' Company. They tok good care of us, right from receiving us at Colombo Airport and dropping us off on the last day. The hotel property is beautiful, and their location is splendid. The location of the Hotel is perfect, away from the busy traffic of the city. The quality of food was great and the staff was very helpful through our stay. Our room was over-looking the 2 Tennis courts, but that wasn't a problem. The Hotel spa was also nice. The 2 Swimming pools were awesome! Overall a great way to spend your Holiday and thoroughly relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about our hotel and its serv ice on the Trip Advisor. We were vey happy to know that you had a great holiday with us and had enjoyed the good food and the facilities such as the two swimming pools etc. We trust that you would come back to us for another spell of great holiday. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,508
    614
    232
    65
    53
See reviews for
1,198
1,129
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaduwela, null, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was at the hotel with my staff and their families occupying 8 rooms last week end. Rooms, pools and the food were at its best. All the staff were very pleasent and always ready to help. Our group was small but the hotel staff was very concern on keeping us occupied and always inquired whether we need any extra activities to be done. We all had a splendid week end and will recommend to others as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirosha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happoy to know that you and your friends had a great time with us. We trust you will visit us again for another spell of holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Sri Lanka has beautiful hotels but some of the hotels owned by Aitken Spence are by far the best hotels I have stayed in during my stay. There may be better hotels but as far as I know, I enjoyed every one of the hotels. Heritance Ahungalla had a charm and sence of peace, that I found to be quite enchanting. From the moment we walked in, I felt relaxed. The first thing you notice is the beauty that surrounds this hotel, the main pool and the lobby that faces the ocean.

At check in, we were offered a drink while the staff got us the rooms. The hotel is large by comparison to other hotels. We got the rooms that were quite a long walk, but the good thing is that the rooms were away from the music in the main lobby, that sometimes was quite loud. One of the rooms we were staying in was quite large, and we had trouble cooling the room due to its size. However, the beds were so comfortable and you feel so relaxed. The hotel has three pools, one in the main lobby area, and the others situated on either side of the wings, mainly for the guests of the hotel. Sometimes it can be crowded during the weekends, due to weekend travelers coming to the hotels, but after Sunday afternoon, the hotel is peaceful and enjoyable.

The food at the restaurant was extremly good and we loved the food selections featured. The weekend breakfast and lunch can be a challenge as the capacity of the guests outnumbered the seats available in the restaurant. It is best to come early and get a good table. But the selection of food offered on the weekend is the best. You simply can not finish all the food choices.

As far as going to the beach area, it is not that shallow and the waves can be a bit harsh and very choppy. On two occasions, my kids got stung by a small, black jellyfish and had to be treated by the hotel staff. The staff at the hotel took extra care of the kids when they got the jellyfish stings. Even after the event, they wanted to know how the kids were.

The staff at the hotel made my stay such a pleasant experience that I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff of this hotel were so attentive to everything we needed, and made sure everything went smoothly.

One thing I forgot to mention is that this hotel seems to be getting old fast due to the close proximity of the ocean. However, they do their very best in maintaining the hotel to the best of their ability. The dinner time music at the pool area was great to listen to, and it was also a good place to relax and listen to the ocean waves.

Hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gihan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the very detailed review about us on the Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time and trouble you took to post it. Thank you very much for the great comments that you have made and rating us five star. We are delighted by your comments and are extremely happy to know that you and your family enjoyed and relaxed at our hotel. We trust that you would come back to our beach haven soon with your family for another spell of great holiday. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

experienced relaxing weekend with friendly staff and tasty foods at heritance ahungalla ...Scenic beauty of the sea & the cleaned wide beach nowhere else in the south West coast. ,lovely lobby design and ambiance express the uniqueness of the Heritance where inheritance blended with heritage blessings.
Special thank to zashin,indika at the pool bar and the R/boy for the special arrangements done to surprise my GF

Thankz

GG

Room Tip: "Rooms in the 3rd floor north side"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gihan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us. We trust you will come back to us when you feel the need to releax and rejuvenate yourself from your busy schedules. Until then please take care and keep in touch.


Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a long trip from Nuwara Eliya and we were wellcomed with refreshing wet towels and delicios soft driks.
The lobby is beautiful and you can't wait to make the check-in to go to the beach.
We had a small problem at check in , but it was solved in no time.
Our suite was spacious with nice furniture and 3 balconies, where we could enjoy a cup of coffee or tea and listen to the sound of the Indian Ocean's waves.
The location is beautiful; you feel like stepping in a postcard with fabulous colors.
The beach is amazing and you could sit there forever.
We enjoyed the breakfast and lunch at the hotel's reataurants;plenty of food and sweets exposed with taste.
The staff is friendlly and helpfull.
The hotel is very quiet and private.
A perfect place to spend a dream holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mihaela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy and motivated by your remarks. It gives us great pleasure to know that our guests relaxed and had a happy holiday with us. We trust that you would return back to our hotel with your family for another spell of holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great ambiene enhanced by the genuine warmth of friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Probably the breakfast spread and variations need to be looked into. Overall a wonderfully relaxing stay at the Heritance Ahungalla.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Also thank you very much for the time taken off to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We have positively taken note on the comments made by you and are very grateful for them. We have conveyed your comments about the breakfast spread to our chefs. Hope you will come back to spend your next holiday with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin Israel
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as the relax part of our trip to Sri Lanka. We can said that the others heritance hotels we been were better. Because you are in a village, we probably will have all your meals at the hotel, we were disappointed about the quality and the variation of the food during dinner. The hotel is very large and they have to swimming pool areas, the northern one has less people.

Room Tip: choose a room at the northern part of the hotel they are more quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjaminModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to write about the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We also taken this opportunity to say thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and bringing them to our notice. I am very sorry that you were not too happy about our food. Your comments have been directed to my Executive Chef and we will certainly consider your remarks to enhance the quality of the buffet wherever necessary. We hope you will come back for another holiday with us and we can make up for your disappointment. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,233 reviews
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing