We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Motel

Grand Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Motel
Ranked #3 of 85 Chuncheon B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
154 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Cozy and clean modern rooms with all the equipement. English speaking owner is also a big plus. Reasonable prices, walking distance to downtown area, quiet sleep... I think this motel has it all, nothing was missing.
Might be hard to find so make sure to show the driver the address.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We strongly recommend every guests to stay in this hotel when they're in Chuncheon.

Location: For the first time visit, the hotel might be a little bit difficult to find. So remember to write down the hotel address and show it to the taxi driver. Almost every driver will have a GPS navigation system in their car. So if you could provide the address, they could simply type it in the system and take you to the place. But in fact, the hotel is in the center of Chuncheon city and it only takes about 2 minutes to walk to Chuncheon Myeong-dong. Super convenient.

Room: We requested a room for three adults. Like most of Korean hotels design, the room offers one double bed and one single bed, which is all fine for us. Decoration is very sweet and makes us feel like at home. The room is also very, very clean. TV, computer with internet (but no wifi), hair dryer, air conditioner…basically the room is equipped with everything necessary for travelers. In the bathroom, the hotel also provides big bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. There is also a shared tooth paste, but I think you’d better bring you own since this item is kinda personal.

Service: We had a late arrival, but the hotel staff welcomed us warmly. When we mentioned that we haven’t had dinner yet, a gentleman who speaks good English even guided us to walk to Myeong-dong by himself. This hotel is run by an old couple, who didn’t speak much English but still are very friendly and nice. There is also a young gentleman who speaks good English and is very helpful. This is a family-run hotel, so don’t expect that you could always find a staff sitting at the reception to answer your questions and provide service (most of the time you’ll find there is no one at the reception).

How to book: You could not find this hotel on OTAs right now. But you could find its telephone number on visit korea website.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul Selina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Grand Motel is located near the centre of town, but it was quite a walk from Chuncheon Train Station, probably about 25 mins walk, but the weather was nice and cool so walking for us ain't any problem.

Stayed here for 2 nights at 40000 KRW per night. Grand motel had a big sign that says "Foreigners are welcome" The guy that received us at the counter could speak English reasonably well and he was really nice and helpful too. Room was clean and reasonable size. It had a huge tv, probably about 40 inch. There was no wifi, but they have computer and Internet in the room.

Bathroom was big and clean. They have amenities like toothbrush, comb, shampoo, shower foam, hair conditioner, towels, etc available. Comfy stay we had! The guy at the reception recommended us places to go and was helpful in answering our questions.. Walking to the town was only 10-15 mins. He also helped us call for a cab to get us safely to the bus station when we checked out.

Overall a good and clean stay here. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I went to Chuncheon for two nights from Malaysia after a week stay in Seoul,and stayed at Grand Motel. We were picked up from the Chuncheon train station by Mr. Shin who was the hotel manager after a phone call to him. The hotel was located right in the city and about 10 minutes walk from the train station. We were given a clean comfortable room with a clean bathroom and toilet. The room was equiped with a large TV flat screen and a computer with free internet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great time staying in that hotel and will not hesitate to recommend anyone who wishes to look for an accommodation in Chuncheon. We only wished that you could have stayed longer in Chuncheon because there were a lot of things to do and to see around the area, one of which was the Nami Island which became famous after the shooting by KBS of the serial "Winter Sonata".

Kim C Ly

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was our second time at the Grand Motel and we've been very happy with both stays. On our latest trip, we stayed for two days as a weekend getaway from Seoul.

The owner is a very kind older woman who speaks decent English, so communication isn't a problem for English-speakers. The rooms are spacious, very clean and equipped with TVs, mini-fridges, and water dispensers. Although some of the rooms also have computers, there's no wi-fi in the building. The Grand Motel also has free parking.

The cost of the rooms is about 35,000 KRW/night, which is an excellent price if you are looking for a cheap and clean place to lay your head without too many frills. The hotel is located about 5 minutes (walking) from the famous Dalkgalbi Street in downtown Chuncheon.

Friendly service is probably one of the best aspects of this hotel. Guests are always greeted with a smile and cans of coffee will be waiting for you in the refrigerator. We had a small issue with our toilet, but the owner came up immediately to solve the problem. Even when we missed the check-out time by several hours (late night!), nobody even bothered us or asked for an additional fee.

The only potential down-side is that there is a norebang (karaoke room) in the same building, but we didn't hear any noise during our trip.

The Grand Motel is definitely worth checking out if you are looking for a budget motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a computer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank et81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

The location is good. Just 10 minute by walk to the Central area. Clean room with TV, Refrigerator and Internet. Convenience store is pretty close to the motel and you can easily get the Taxi there. The owner is so nice and he can speak English. He also advice a great place for dinner!!! So Delicious..

I and friends (total 3 persons) choose corner room
(Room rate =35,000 Won for 2 persons.** Additional 5,000 Won for 1 Extra bed**)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PookoPooko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Cleanliness and comfortable room, not far from the main city in Chuncheon, also the owners are very nice

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeerjui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chuncheon hotels
1.6 mi away
KT&G Sangsang Madang Chuncheon Stay
0.3 mi away
Chuncheon Tourist Hotel
Chuncheon Tourist Hotel
#4 of 16 in Chuncheon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chuncheon WalkerHill Hotel
Chuncheon WalkerHill Hotel
#10 of 16 in Chuncheon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sejong Hotel Chunchon
Sejong Hotel Chunchon
#6 of 16 in Chuncheon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.9 mi away
Benikea Hotel Bears
Benikea Hotel Bears
#5 of 16 in Chuncheon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
8.7 mi away
Elysian Gangchon
Elysian Gangchon
#2 of 16 in Chuncheon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Motel

Property: Grand Motel
Address: 39-6, Okcheon-dong, Chuncheon, Gangwon-do 200-010, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Chuncheon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Chuncheon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing