We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesnt live up to the hype”

Oyster Bay Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Mandaue
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Oyster Bay Seafood Restaurant offers you a delightful dining experience. We take pride in our wide selection of LIVE and FRESH seafood. Make your own selections and choose from our several delicious cooking suggestions. Also, feast on the mouth-watering Filipino and Chinese favorites like lechon kawali, bicol express, Pata tim with fried bread and more! Plus we offer a wide choice of delectable set menus for different budgets and occasions.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Doesnt live up to the hype”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Upon reading the reviews and seeing the pictures we thought this was the perfect place for a romantic dinner away from the beach. However, reality is not the fantasy the reviews and pictures portray. The wonderful lagoon and sandy beach overlooks a shopping mall carpark and we had a wonderful view of gardens urns littered around the garden center.
Food was overpriced and ive never had that type of oyster rockerfellers in my many years of travelling the world and enjoying seafood. For a Vancouverite im fortunate to enjoy some of the best seafood in the world and this place is a very very poor second in comparison.
Crayfish is disguised as lobster and charged at lobster prices. I've yet to witness a supposed high end restaurant unable to serve wine by the glass. The service was good until more than 6 guests arrived. At that point we lost the waiter for over 45 minutes. Cocktail drinks I have had more frisky milkshakes. Not sure the interpretation of high quality seafood from an Asian standpoint but this is not up to the expectations of Western seafood culture.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tasarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place! Great Food! Great Service!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I love the ambience and charm of this place. Fresh oysters, crispy shrimps, crabs, bamboo rice...yum! The staff are very friendly too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marey Emerence ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Promising food. Service needs a system in place.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Fresh seafood is quite satisfying here. Service though needs to have a proper system. The waitstaff are friendly though.

They have service charge though so they need to address service flaws.

Helpful?
Thank Emet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lovey Ambiance”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Quite a distance from Cebu City but worth the travel. Real Value for money. Service is very personalized.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chingklay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“this made our Christmas dinner extra special”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We always come here everytime there is a family occassion so when I found out that they were having a promo thru groupon I purchase two vouchers which cost P649 each(about US$14) with a value of P1500 (US$34). Luckily I called them for a resrvation for christmas dinner and we were so happy because we were greatly accomodated. I really love their ambiance and the area is so big for our kids to run around while having fun feeding the fishes. At the end of our dinner we asked for the bill and was so surprised that we did not exceed on the value of the voucher. We even had some foods to bring home... This restaurant never fails me! Fresh seafoods, great taste, good service!! I recommend this restaurant to try especially if you have friends from abroad who wants to try fresh seafoods. The place is so decent. We would definetely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivy_delgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Bay Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Bay Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing