We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”
Review of Chika-an sa Cebu

Chika-an sa Cebu
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Mandaue
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Ok, food ---too expensive for what you get--we have only eaten once--won't go back

Helpful?
1 Thank dmiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    28
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“the best crispy pata in Cebu”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My family always eat out on Saturdays. This is one dish that I cannot cook. Luckily, we found the best here. Chika-an has many outlets, this one at Salinas Drive, Lahug serves the best crispy pata. The soup "utan bisaya" is also good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAndrews10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 910 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality in the different branches”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The one in Parkmall is just a branch. The 1st branch when it reopened under new owners is in an old house in Salinas Drive, Cebu, just across Northwinds Hotel. Compared to the filipino restaurant beside Northwinds Hotel, I prefer the way Chika-an cooks their food. It is much less oily than the other restaurant.

I always order their crispy pata, which is deep fried pork leg. I would go for filipino-cebuano foods like monggo soup, salted fish (buwad) with tomato, seaweed salads. Surprisingly, their bicol express (chopped sword peppers, spicy!) is also very good, even if that is not a cebuano delicacy. Their kare-kare is also very good, which is meats and veggies in peanut/peanut butter based sauce, although the shrimp paste that goes with their kare kare is too commercial, I've tasted much better shrimp paste. Their veggies are above average, but provides a good balance for the meat dishes that are popular.

Again, chika-an is a winner, whichever branch you decide to eat in, because the service is good, the food is good, and most of all, it is not that oily as compared with other filipino restaurants offering the same type of food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank al22tecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very Good Filipino Food Restaurant in Mandaue”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have consistently gotten very good food at this restaurant (four visits so far). It has very good Filipino food and average to better service. The prices are a bit higher than some Filipino restaurants in Mandaue/Cebu City, but the quality of the cooking is clearly superior. There is also a very good selection.

The tempura shrimp is very tasty and popular. The Crispy Pata is really delicious. Their mango shakes can sometimes be a bit on the sour side, but are also quite good. All of maybe 6-8 different Filipino dishes I, and some Filipino dining companions, have sampled at this restaurant have all be quite tasty.

I usually try to find the best (not at all necessarily the most expensive), most tasty and rewarding dining experiences (only just so many opportunities while traveling, right?). Because this restaurant is so reliably good, I have returned numerous times.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfacets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandaue
1 review
“very nice”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The food was the best I have had so far on this trip and my local companion agrees.
The staff was friendly and professional.
The food was very tasty and the portions were more than enough.
The restaurant was busy, but service did not suffer.
The restaurant is located in a shopping center, which detracts somewhat from the atmosphere, but not very much.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnckark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chika-an sa Cebu also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Chika-an sa Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing