We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ancestors Pension
Ranked #4 of 16 Mandaue B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our fam stayed there sinulog time. Location wise it's okey but i don't like their front desk staffs, they have attitudes which is not pleasing at all. I think they need to undergo seminar, they even eat meriendas infront of your face, take incoming calls even youre still talking to them not asking excuses. Location wise, good but Not too good because of the trikes and videookes surrounding the area. No elevators, hot and cold shower not working, good thing linens are clean and smelling fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancestors_Pension, Owner at The Ancestors Pension, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello Jam C,

Thank you for staying with us at the Ancestors Pension. I am sorry to hear about the bad experience you had during your stay. I would like for you to know that our front desk clerks attend seminars regularly. That being said we are always striving to improve our customer service. I will visit the the manager and make sure we are doing everything we can to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. I am also sorry to hear about the hot and cold shower. If you can tell me which room you stayed in I will be sure to have that fixed right away. Once again, I thank you for choosing us for your stay during Sinulog and I hope to have you as a guest soon so that we can show you the improvements we have made.

Thank you and God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when we go to Cebu because it is close to my wife's family. Over the years we have stayed in most of the rooms. This time we stayed on the ground floor in one of the suites for about 1600 peso a night ($40). The staff is always friendly and helpful. They also have a "taxi" service. 500 pesos to/from the airport for example which is real fair especially if you have a lot of bags. They offer a breakfast for about $2. Personally I didn't try it as my wife's family always brought us food.

I gave the 5 star rating because of the staff and value for the money. As mentioned above if you are expecting a 3-5 star US hotel then you'll need to spend a lot more.

One improvement that I would consider for the ground floor rooms is a door between the reception area and the two rooms. Because all the floor surfaces are hard sound echos very easily. I would imagine they could also hear us pretty easy,

Room Tip: As mentioned above the ground floor rooms are good if you have a lot of bags and don't want to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phileaglesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancestors_Pension, Owner at The Ancestors Pension, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear phileaglesfan,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you choose our Pension house as your home away from home when you come to Cebu. We are always looking for ways to improve, and we will take your suggestion into consideration. Our utmost concern is the comfort of our guests and with that we will look to replace the door that connects the lobby and the ground floor hallway in order to reduce the sound. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

The Ancestors Pension
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

july 12 th to july 26th,2012. stay. Entire stay with my family was good. . I hope the bosses are reading this review. The entire staff was helpful,courteous, knowlegeable, respectful and accomodating. i felt very safe in this hotel. Please keep up the good work. I will stay again in this hotel. i recommend this place to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, good service, and safe place to stay.

Room Tip: first floor is better if you have problems climbing stairs . no elevators here but staff is really h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nxtrabzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancestors_Pension, Owner at The Ancestors Pension, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear nxtrabzmom

Thank very much for your kind words. Our staff works hard to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We pride ourselves on our outstanding service and safe atmosphere. Once again, thank you for your compliments and we hope to see you again soon.

God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagum City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Ancestors Pension House near Cebu City (Mandaue) is a very nice, affordable hotel, just 20-30 minutes by Taxi from Mactan International Airport. Typical rate is around P1000-1200 pesos per night ($28 USD) Clean rooms, adequate facilities, showers, amenities. If you are expecting Five Star accomodations anywhere in the Philippines, you should probably stay at the places P5000+ ($120 USD) or visit another place. However if you're a seasoned traveler and don't mind a basic yet comfortable room, Ancestors fits the bill nicely!

Room Tip: I believe some rooms have refrigerators, but not all. It depends on what you ask for and want, so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PabloSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancestors_Pension, Owner at The Ancestors Pension, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear PabloSantiago,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We can only hope to have more great guests like you checking in to our establishment.

Take care and God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao, philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

It was my thrid time in the ancestors in Mandaue. What i like most are the staff, very accomodating and friendly. It is ideal for Sinulog festival. One get to participate in almost all its activities both in St. Joseph National Shrine and in Sto. Basilica in Cebu City. Its location is very ideal. The proximity of at least the basic necessities like the Church, the eateries, banks. I suggest however for bigger room for three (3), say one twin sharing plus additional bed. Very affordable. Have recommended to a friend already.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crisdavao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancestors_Pension, Owner at The Ancestors Pension, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear crisdavao,

Thank you for the compliments and for referring your friend. We pride our business on cultivating a great atmosphere not only for our guests but also for our great staff. We strive to provide not only great service but a great attitude as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Pit Senyor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mandaue hotels
0.7 mi away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#3 of 13 in Mandaue
77 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Maria Pension & Tourist Inn Hotel
0.7 mi away
BIG Hotel
BIG Hotel
#1 of 13 in Mandaue
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alpa City Suites
Alpa City Suites
#2 of 13 in Mandaue
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leope Hotel
Leope Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mandaue
20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dohera Hotel
Dohera Hotel
#8 of 13 in Mandaue
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ancestors Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ancestors Pension

Property: The Ancestors Pension
Address: Cor. C. Ouano and P. Burgos Sts., Mandaue 6014, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mandaue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Mandaue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ancestors Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the fastest growing economy in the central Visayas, you will be minutes away from the beautiful Mactan beaches, Cebu City shopping centers, the Mactan International Airport and the passenger boat docks. Transportation, from jeepneys to taxis, is readily available as soon as you step out the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Ancestors Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ancestors Pension Cebu Island/Mandaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing