We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good apart from one thing!”
Review of Alpa City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alpa City Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good apart from one thing!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

room was clean, service was good, food was alright, staff were friendly, but.....
bed bugs! From my first day to the last i had accumulated many bites which itched like crazy. The bed sheets were changed everyday which leads me to believe that it must have been the matress. My brother stayed with me in the same room but seperate bed and he had the same problem. Im sure it wasnt from anywhere else as fresh bites would appear every morning. We told the manager on duty as we checked out who thanked us for bringing it to her attention (no apology at all).
Apart from that it was an alright stay

Helpful?
1 Thank antbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    104
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
97
39
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Camiguin, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

compromise location between airport and Cebu city
on a heavily trafficked intersection = can be noisy
not so nice immediate surroundings, but it takes only a P. 100 taxi ride to Ayala Center
pleasant hall/reception and restaurant
it's called "suites" because of a sink, a microwave and a big fridge in the otherwise "normal" room
good bed but only double (standard) instead of king-size
bathroom small but ok
no Wi-Fi in the room but in the lobby ok
aircon a bit noisy (as usual)
above average buffet breakfast
had dinner at the in-house restaurant which offers a good choice of international and Filipino dishes at reasonable prices and, not often found in Cebu, some "stone-grilled" specialties; we enjoyed our dinner even if the waiters showed more interest in the big and always running TV than in the costumer's wishes :-(
taxis are easy to stop, unless it rains
unlike at other hotels, they don't offer a little breakfast pack when you have to leave very early :-(
good ratio price/value - best rate we found on Hotelopia booking site

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsada_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a great hotel at this price it's five stars ! Location it's about a 25 min drive from the airport depending on traffic and will cost you about 200P ,(£3),it's within walking distance of the IMAX and Ayala mall ,( about 25 mins), or taxis are incredibly cheap to the average foreigner like myself , i.e. 100P inc a tip!!! To either of the malls . The room is medium size, modern comfortable and very clean.. The staff can't do enough for you ,and are always smiling and happy to see you ,which actually is really nice. There is a tv showing loads of English Chanel's inc discovery etc in your room and the bathroom is good ,although the shower is a bit weak. The breakfast is fantastic , great coffee and loads of choice. The price for this hotel was 1500P a night inc breakfast an amazing bargain . I would stay here again and recommend it 100% .

Room Tip: Get a room at back away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced, very friendly and accomodating staff, good food, very clean rooms. My third time to visit and it still remains my favorite.

I only have one minor complain, the soap doesnt bubble at all..had to buy one from the nearest convenience store..or just bring your own.



Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very spacious and clean rooms. My room featured a microwave and full sized fridge. There is wired internet access in the rooms free of charge. The hotel provided me with a wifi router so I could connect my ipad. My room was very quiet and I slept well. Some people may find the window type air conditioning a bit noisy.
The food in the restaurant was not great. However it only takes a few minutes to get to the main shopping malls by taxi. There is nothing worth visiting in the vicinity of the hotel, and the road can be a little chaotic but the hotel staff will hail taxis.
I asked for an iron but the hotel refused to provide this.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here and I think the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpa City S, Director of Sales at Alpa City Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi! Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you had a great time in Cebu. Apologies if we could not extend an iron. This is for safety reasons as we do not have an ironing board in our rooms. Our previous guests' tendency was to iron their clothes either on the bed or on the writing desk. Both posted a fire hazard =(

We hope you come and visit us soon.

Warm Regards,

Anna Galicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Great breakfast buffet, much better than some renown 4 n 5 star hotels in Cebu, clean rooms, not too noisy location, plenty of local style eateries within walking distance, good location half way between Ayala and SM Malls, not far from Mandaue's party mile of Fortuna Street, and a short taxi ride to Cebu's Mango Street night life. Absolutely beats Tune style hotels 10 times over.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face the busy road, the sides don't face any busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Alpa City Suites having moved from another hotel nearby.
Check In was swift and very efficient.
Rooms are clean, large and comfortable with good quality fittings.
There is a nice little Kitchenette with Fridge and Microwave provided.
Aircon is a Thru-Wall unit, quite noisy with limited temperature control but it is efficient.
TV has a good selection of channels.
Bathroom is large and water pressure is quite good. The Electric water heater was faulty and worked for a few minutes then cut out and could not be reset again. I asked the Reception to send somebody to fix it, but they never appeared. We used it by holding in the reset button whilst having a shower.
There is no Wifi, but rooms do have a LAN Connection. Internet is free but speed ranges from very poor to zero.
Breakfast is a basic buffet with fairly limited choices, but service is good. The hotel motto is a European Standard, however the breakfast is very Asian.
On the whole the Hotel is well situated and offers very good value for money. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaue
1.0 mi away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#3 of 13 in Mandaue
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
BIG Hotel
BIG Hotel
#1 of 13 in Mandaue
81 reviews
2.0 mi away
Copenhagen Residences
Copenhagen Residences
#4 of 13 in Mandaue
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.9 mi away
The Orchard Cebu Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 89 in Cebu City
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpa City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpa City Suites

Property: Alpa City Suites
Address: Hernan Cortes corner F. Cabahug sts., Mandaue 6014, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mandaue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpa City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest all-studio suites hotel. Strategically located at the border of the cities of Cebu City and Mandaue, we are very near major shopping malls (SM Mall, Ayala Mall and Terraces, Park Mall), Cebu Business Park and Asiatown IT Park, churches restaurants, Cebu International Convention Center, the seaport, white sand beaches and the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpa City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpa City Hotel Mandaue
Alpa City Suites Cebu Island/Mandaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing