We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our perfect honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

It took us a long time to decide which island to choose for our honeymoon. We finally chose Kuramathi although we were a little nervous as it was more than we wanted to spend and some of the reviews were mixed. We had absolutely nothing to worry about, everything was perfect! I really don't know how people can make negative comments about this resort.

Our accomodation was lovely, we stayed in the second to last beach villa at the top of the island near the sand bank (No. 355). We felt spoilt as it was on stilts similar to a water villa, our view was amazing and a few steps across the island took us to our own beach. The snorkelling was fantastic (equipment included), we saw reef sharks on every trip to the edge of the outer reef from various points around the island.

It was a shame as they didn't know that we were on honeymoon. We were given a voucher for a bottle of wine which we could already get via the select all inclusive option and we had to ask for our bed to be decorated.

I would really recommend the select all inclusive option, the food was amazing in all of the restuarants. Even the buffet restuarant food was good although I imagine it could get a little samey. The staff were lovely, professional and friendly. The spa was a real treat if a little bit expensive.

If you can justify the cost I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocoloco20_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    559
    127
    49
    35
See reviews for
444
2,791
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suriby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We have booked to go again this Sept 2010.

I am disabled with walking difficulties. We took a wheelchair and my cruches and where able to get around the village in the wheelchair and the beach on my cruches, (I must add my husband is strong so perhaps more able to push me on the hard sand parths). Every where else was either flat, ramped or just one step.

(The sea plane stops at a raft (with hand rail) then you get into a boat to the island so it might proove a problem for anyone unable to stand and walk for a short distance.

I'm writing because we could not have had more help, consideration and kindness from all the staff on Kuramathi.

Every assistance from offering to build a ramp so access to the villa could be made easier to picking me up at the door in the buggie and droping me off whever we wanted, to helping me in the restaurants. At NO time was this help intrusive or just for tips.

We were given a free upgrade to a larger villa which allowed me to wheel my chair into the shower. Also we were given £100 towards a massage!!!!

The island is paradise and the people on Kuramathi genuine kindness, they made our holiday truly wonderfdul.

When i e-mailed to say we were coming back they have offered to put grab rails in the villa to make it easier for me!!

If you get the chance to go ...THEN GO!
B & W E

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suriby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have just spent 7 nights on the Kuramathi island and it was absolutely perfect!

We arrived on the island by seaplane which i would defiantly recommend, the views are outstanding and the hole experience was awesome. First impression of the island and staff were great. After being shown to our room i do have to say we were disappointed. We had booked a deluxe beach villa which had no beach and the view was absurder by a bush. We did highlight this to the rep and requested a room change however we felt the rep didn't take charge of the situation and in the end we had to take control. We eventually were given a room change after already spending two night out of seven on the island and we were very pleased with the outcome because the view was to die for.

We stayed on the basic all inclusive package which when making the booked we thought was the only package however you can upgrade to the select all inclusive for $44 per person per day however as my boyfriend is a veggie we felt we wouldn't really get value for money. I'd ask when booking because if your a real foodie it would be really worthwhile. (The basic all in, you are allocated to one restaurant were you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner. Select all in - you can eat at all seven restaurants and have all drinks. The food was excellent and probably the best choice I've had on an all inclusive package.) Plenty for vegetarians to eat as well.

The staff and the service was excellent especially at meal times they really do make you feel like royalty.
We found the island to be bigger than imagined and there is plenty to do especially at night which we were surprised at in a good way. We were told the island was 98% although it didn't feel like it, one day we walked all the way up to the tip on the island and were the only ones there for most of the afternoon.
We got the speed boat back to Male which took an hour and half and if you don't have your sea legs isn't the best way to end a perfect holiday.
All in all it was a perfect holiday apart from the room issue, i would defiantly put this on my list of places to re visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vicciLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Just come back from 10 nights at the kuramathi & really dont know where to start on how good the resort is from the moment we landed to our return we were treated fantasically . We took the Basic inclusive & had an upgrade as it was our honeymoon to a deluxe/superior beach villa which more than met our needs, comfy , cool & cleaned at least 3 times a day . The food was great & plentiful in our restaurant & the service excelled - it was nice getting to know the waiters over the stay to the point they knew our drink order before we sat down . There's a good vegetarian choice as well & anything your not sure of they can explain for you . Each night has a different theme . The weather is very hot so take lots of cream (min of SF30 or you will burn even on cloudy days) - water temp is never below 29 degrees so the snorkelling & diving a extremely relaxing with a great variety of fish, the dive school is chilled & relaxed & they cater for all types of diver from confident to the more reserved ( i know as i teach in the uk ) - we even had a school of dolphins come by us ) . You hardly see anyone apart from meal times . The bars are expertly staffed & service is outstanding . We took the boat both ways & found it ewxhilarating after the long flight - it can get a bit choppy sometimes . one tip - take a torch as some sections of the island are dark & you dont wanna stand on a hermit crab ! - would definately love to go back again .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjrgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We travelled to the Maldives via Dubai with Emirates. We were very impressed with the flights. There was loads of entertainment and the food was of a good standard. We were transferred to Kuramathi almost immediately by speedboat (tip: sit behind the open doors as the front has no breeze and can get very bumpy). It only took us 1hr15mins.

This was our first trip to the Maldives and Kuramathi did not disappoint. There is lots of vegetation and beautiful flowers everywhere. It is a large island so to get to any of the bars or restaurants it could be a 10-20 minute walk depending on where your room is, although there are busses /golf buggys going around.

We stayed in a Jacuzzi water villa and it was excellent. We stayed in the very end villa so had lovely views and the snorkelling was brilliant on this side of the island. The water villas on the other side of the island have the lovely blue lagoon, however they did not have as large a deck, or access to the reef and they were overlooked by one of the bars. Our room was cleaned twice per day and the Jacuzzi water replaced as and when requested.

The snorkelling was amazing. We saw hundreds of different types of fish in crystal clear water including a few sharks which swam passed us only a few metres away. It did annoy us how some of the guests can be so disrespectful of the coral reefs by walking over the top despite the signs and advice from the staff not to do this.

We were on the select/al a carte all inclusive meal plan and this was definitely the best package to go for. We are not huge drinkers but it still worked out cheaper than paying as you go. It meant we could eat or drink in any of the restaurants on the island without worrying about a large bill at the end. (I wouldn’t bother going full/half board as bottle of water is $8). We had great fun every night racking up an expensive meal in the restaurants (one was $172) and signing a bill for $0.

The food in the main buffet restaurants was good but I wouldn’t like to have been restricted there every night. The al a carte restaurants were superb. The food was delicious in all of them and the barbeque was our favourite restaurant on the island. The steaks they cook in front of you are the best we have ever tasted.

We didn't had a negative experience with any of the staff on the island. On the whole all the staff were lovely and very attentive.

We would definitely go back to Kuramathi if we can afford it next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Lucky to have an upgrade to a water villa, booked on the KUONI early bird deal.

The room was very nice with great views from the deck. You could regularly see reef sharks , rays and various fish including tangs and triggers. We also saw a turtle one morning. We stayed in room 306. The deck was in the shade for most of the day.

We stayed on the Select All Inclusive deal, This worked well for us allowing you to eat in the 5 À la carte restaurants. (Thai, Indian, Fish, BBQ, Italian). Our favorite was the Palm (Italian pizza/pasta) and the Island BBQ. We only ate in the buffet restaurant one night, and although very nice, the service in the À la carte restaurants added to a nicer experience.
We enjoyed drinking in all of the bars, especially the PALM bar, where they served fantastic Mojitos.
The drinks are plentiful and they provide bottled ‘coke’ branded mineral water. But, they are reasonably expensive so make sure you book an AI deal. (5$ for a large bottle of water, 4$ for soft drinks, 5$ Carling draught beer, cocktail 8$>12$)
You do not have to wear an AI bracelet, you just give your room number and they know what package you are on. So you just sign for $0.00, very nice at the end of an expensive cocktail session. :0)

The service received in all the restaurants was fantastic. The ‘home’ buffet restaurant service was very good. You have the same server / table every day for breakfast/lunch/evening meal. Our server was absolutely fantastic, he was so polite and helpful. He also moved our table as we were on the edge of the restaurant sharing out time with the Mosquitoes. (we did not ask, he just noticed our inconvenience)

The island is relatively spread out, and you do need to use the courtesy bus to travel from one end to the other. The island being relatively large also meant that the island, for the most part, felt deserted.

We went the first week in May and the weather was mixed. Some days it was incredibly humid and cloudy. Other days it was clear skies with the humidity being a little less. We did have rain on some days. Temp 30deg day and night.

None of the bars or restaurant have air conditioning.

The Mosquitoes caused us real problems, especially after it rained. We had Tesco and Boots repellants (full tropical strength) but both did not seem to work.

The islands food and entertainment was geared up for English / Europeans tastes. The guests seemed to be mainly English, with some Germans, French and Chinese/Japenese. It seems a place that Americans do not go to….. There was live entertainment/DJ every night somewhere on the island, so the evenings were never boring.

Apart from a few around the infinity pool and a good amount around the main pool, the island had no sun loungers on the beach. I guess to keep the island looking nice, but there needed to be an area assigned to loungers. Maybe you could take your own inflatable sun bed? Good for beach and snorkeling.

There is a very small gift shop selling generic junk.

They provided snorkeling equipment, but they do run out at times.

I think if you stay in a beach/deluxe beach villa you should check actually how much beach you are getting. Some seemed a long way back in thick foliage with very little beach.

We came a little unstuck with the tipping. The island does not take cash in the gift shops so we could not change up our larger dollar bills. So we only had a limited amount of lower value notes. The suggestion is $10 per week for your room cleaner and the same for the server in your main restaurant. We also tipped in some of the bars, especially the pool bar as the service was exceptional. (They would get your chair cushions and towels for you, and even set them up prior to you getting there if you have a favorite pool spot)
With regards to the pool, there were always loungers available any time of the day even though the hotel was 95% full.

Transfer for us was by seaplane. It takes about 15mins, but in both directions we had a 1 hour delay. Even though the delays were frustrating I would recommend the seaplane. The journey is noisy so wear ear plugs, the views are great and the take off and landing was actually smoother then a normal plane! Our luggage travelled with us, even though it exceeded 20kg.

If you book from the UK with KUONI it is nice to know that the rep actually stays on the island so you have 24hour assistance in the unlikely event you need help.

I would not hesitate to recommend this island to friends and family, I fully understand why people regularly return to this paradise.

(Our views are based on similar holidays in the caribbean staying in hotels by Sandals and Couples)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMmrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Just returned from a 9 day holiday on this lovely island. Everything is wonderful - the
rooms (we had a Water Villa on the Lagoon side but they are all very good ), the
staff, the activities (plenty to do - or not if you just want to relax), the food, we were AI
Basic and found the food excellent at every meal. One person on this site said that the food on A1 Basic was boring but it was not. People on A1 Select though praised the food in all the small restaurants which are expensive if you are not on the package but the Basic is absolutely fine. Our sea plane transfers were very exciting but people enjoyed the speed boat too. In fact arriving & leaving the boat transfers were faster than ours - we had a longish coach ride round the airport and then over an hours wait at the terminal. Returning our sea plane was over an hour late too. Whole holiday memorable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing