We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort”
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Just back from a week at the Kuramathi Village Resort in the Maldives. Absolutely fabulous, loved everything. We stayed in a beach bungalow in the Village, accommodation is excellent, bungalow cleaned twice per day. We were all inclusive and the restaurant was great, couldn't fault the food, lots of choice. Snorkeled for the first time ever, it was great, amazing. All in all a fabulous place, paradise, can't wait to go back. [-----]

Helpful?
7 Thank noordwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,000
    562
    128
    49
    35
See reviews for
445
2,814
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I couldnt believe my eyes when the boat landed alongside an island which could only be described as paradise and beyond. The crysyal clear sea was warm and we swam with black tipped reef sharks, (yes, i said SHARKS!!!!!), turtles and the most beautiful coloured fish you could only dream about. The weather was scotching so dont forget the highest factor you can get as it feels like you are being ironed!!!!! The food, although a little repetative, was VERY tasty and there was copious amounts, and the puddings were yummy. The service was excellent. The bar staff are very laid back, which can be misinterpreted as slow, but hey, whats the rush, they will serve you till the last man goes.
Dont take too many pairs of shoes, its either flipflops, or nothing. It feels really weird going out at night, all dressed up, appart from no shoes, but when you feel the soft sand under your feet, and after a few G&T,s, who cares!!!!!!!
Anyway, if you have any questions you want to ask me feel free to email me amandabrett2@aol.com

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amandabrett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We went to Kuramathi Village for a week last month and it was truly fantastic. We had a week off work and were in desperate need of a holiday doing nothing but relaxing and reading in a nice place - and we certainly got that. The island is small enough to walk around in an hour and although it was pretty full, you feel like you are the only one around. It is extremely well maintained with staff out very early raking the beach and gardens. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and we partcularly enjoyed supporting them in their football matches!
We thought he food was excellent - lots of choice and you can have either set meals or a buffet at each meal. Going All Inclusive is in our opinion, the best option. Cocktails on the beach at sunset is simply perfect.....
We took advantage of the Spa treatments which is well worth it. Having a massage overlooking the emerald sea with the sound of waves ONLY is second to nothing.
We actually found Monach better than we expected. If you request seats towards the back (beyond row 42 ish) then there is more aisle space. The food was not very good, which was more of a problem on the way back, as the outbound flight was overnight and we ate at the airport before flying.
If you are after a relaxing week with almost guaranted weather (we went just at the end of the dry season), beautiful beaches, great facilities, peace and quiet whenever you want or need it - then this place is definately for you.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

My gf and I stayed in the Cottage and Spa for 3 days, not nearly long enough to explore all possibilities, but long enough to get a flavor for the resort. We are from Thailand and we had done some research before going, noting that tipping was officially discouraged in the Maldvies. Yet, every westerner seeemd to be throwing tips left and right, even tipping the complimentary bus driver that takes you from one point of the island to another. It surprised us, and maybe the staff didn't like us so much because we didn't offer tips, only to the porter on the last day.

We stayed in the water villa, very nice, having an aquarium at your footstep, the snorkling was great and we enjoyed it very much. The breakfast buffet was so-so, nothing above any 3 star hotels offerings, service was also average, not extraordinary.

We took the boat to the resort on arrival, very very rough, bone jarring ride of 1.30" and took the plane back for a great view. I'd recommend doing both for the experience.

Best part, the view, the lovely water, the sound of the sea. The worse part, average food, very expensive, staff was by the numbers for the most part.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank kyushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We returned from Kuramathi Cottage and Spa on 6 May, after a 9 days vacation to the island. The rating I gave would have been 5 blobs instead of 4, had we not encountered a couple of problems or issues.

1. Water Bungalows

Before I start, may I say that these are frankly wonderful, and having stayed in beach based accommodation in 4 other resorts in the Maldives, water bungalows and villas are the only thing for me from now on.

Having done a lot of research on the water bungalow locations, and got very helpful advice from previous visitors, I emailed customer services on Kuramathi C&S one full month in advance, making a request for a bungalow between 261 and 280. We were aware of the heavy humming of the generator plant in the lower numbers, and wanted to avoid this, as we are not used to noise living in a very sleepy village. We thought that by giving advanced notice of our wishes, which we presented very politely, we would stand a chance. We never got a response, but took the email copy with us... On arrival, we were summarily given a key to toom 240! We immediately asked very politely to be reconsidered for the room selection we had preliminarily requested by email. The response was gruff, to say the least: 'Well, what was our response?' to which I retorted, 'There was no response from you, which quite surprised me'. The next comment was totally dismissive, 'Well, we are fully booked, can't do anything for you', which really got my hackles up. We refused the room. This probably does not often happen to them, they looked entirely at a loss and started fumbling around and a few moments later said, 'We have room 277 coming free at noon'. It was 11.50 hrs! 'But you will have to wait for it to be cleaned, it will take at least an hour'. We thanked them and said that this was to our satisfaction, and settled in the bar for a drink, which we only had time to finish when we were taken to our room, 20 minutes later, by the customer relations manager, who'd been drafted in by then to smooth things out. We also found out by walking around that day, that other villas in our row were unoccupied. So much for 'fully booked.'

I would therefore recommend anyone having a specific view on the location of their accommodation to email the resort at least one month in advance, and take the copy of the mail with you, as you probably won't get a response, but this may help you get leverage in your negotiations!

2. The meal plan

We were on room, breakfast, lunch and dinner. All our meals if served in the main C&S restaurant were part of the deal, but when eating in other restaurants on the island, we only got a 20% discount on the a la carte prices of other restaurants. We were often asked if we wanted to eat elsewhere, (however no pressure), but the main restaurant was indeed very good, and we only took ourselves out to the Thai restaurant twice (really good and authentic), which added about $80 each time to our daily rate, excluding drinks. We think 20% discount is not nearly enough, as the standards of the two restaurants were not sufficiently different to warrant such a low trade off.

What we liked:

Apart from the sticky start, we found courteous and gracious staff, always ready to help and serve. The standard of accommodation was very high, and much higher than the 3 star rating would lead you to believe. The room was large, airy, and the bathroom was very large, with two showers! The entrance area was huge with a separate hallway with closets and fridge. The 4 poster kingsized bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on! The balconied deck wrapped around the sea facing side of the villa, with fantastic views of the reef, and easy access to it via the sea steps for swimming and snorkelling.

The island is breathtakenly beautiful. The standard of maintenance of the gardens and forested area was impressive, and a wild area in the centre had been left untouched which we really liked to see. The standard of cleanliness of the public and common areas was first class. The spa area was beautifull, the pool was very good, and the treatments at the spa were very good indeed.

We can also speak highly of the diving operation on the island, Rashdoo Divers, who were highly professional, and worked very well with the resort boot crews, who were some of the most helpful I have even encountered in any diving operation. Those who do not dive will find the reef side of the island a delight to snorkel in, it is really superb. The water sports centre had ample supply of windsurfs and catamarans for sailing.

All in all, it's thumbs up, and only a couple of gripes. I also think that Cottage and Spa is the best resort on the island out of the 3. It's less crowded, the water bungalows are better than those at Blue Lagoon, which are only semi-detached, and its beach side and reef side locations are the best on the island.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Can not recommend this resort enough. We only stayed a week so went for a water bungalow and it was worth it, the views in the morning to wake up and see and hear the see all around you was lovely. We went half board and were more than pleased with the buffet food and found the drink reasonable. We walked around the other 2 resorts on the island but prefered the C & S as less busy and for the price good value. The couples treatment at the Spa was fab and a perfect end to the holiday. Only two negative points: Firstly, we went on the shopping excursion to a nearby island, wouldnt recommend as you are just dumped, for want of a better word, on a island approx 10 mins away. We walked around for about 15 mins and then had a long wait for the boat, strangely enough this was the only time the mosquitos were a problem. Secondly, we travelled with Monarch, which was awful, we were stuck on the plane for approx 1 hour before take off and when we got our luggage back at Gatwick it had obviously left out in the tropical shower and all our clothes, books etc were soaked. Seaboat transfer was fine, and for the departure we were even there before the sea plane passengers. Despite this we had a wonderful special holiday and this resort is definitely worth the money. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Han1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We booked this at short notice, hoping for a week of sun and idleness. We found much more, are now addicted to snorkelling and determined to revisit the Maldives.

This island is really one big resort divided between three centres. You can use the facilities at them all. Everything is done by charging things to your final bill, so you don't need to carry money around.

We had a water bungalow, and I would not, now, want to stay anywhere else. The room was comfortable and air-conditioned, the bathroom luxurious, and all you had to do was go down a flight of steps to get into the water for snorkelling on the reef in one direction and splashing about by the beach on the other. The only downside was a hum from the generator. I don't really understand why they can't use solar power in such a sunny place.

The staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful. Had we wanted activities we could have done a thousand things. The food was good -- though it's a pain having to buy the rather nasty Coca Cola drinking water. It's worth booking just bed and breakfast because you won't be hungry enough for 3 meals, and anyway there are various restaurants to choose from, and room service, too. If they want 5 stars from me next time, they should turn off the annoying piped music in the bars, etc.
I'm told that you should go between November and May for the best weather. And pay for the sea plane transfer from the airport. People who took the boat said it was exhausting and uncomfortable.

Helpful?
16 Thank bagladyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,372 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
844 reviews
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing