We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed 14 nights at the Blue Lagoon in March last year, and thought I'd share my thoughts and tips.

Firstly, all in all it was our holiday of a lifetime so far (hopefully until our honeymoon this year, but our honeymoon will have a lot to live up to!).

The rooms were exquisite. We stayed in a beach bungalow, and absolutely LOVED having the Indian Ocean and beach right outside our back door. The water bungalows were on the opposite, 'not quite as good' (i.e. beach not quite as wide, slightly choppier seas....just) side of the island (albeit, only about 50 feet away!) and as people have said the water bungalows were not very private. The beach bungalows also have fantastic outdoor showers - again loved it after a hot day in the sun.

We actually had people in water bungalows (or given upgrades!) say they'd have preferred the beach bungalow, so that would be my first tip for this particular resort.

The food was universally excellent, as you'd expect. The service was generally good, although I felt our personal waiter wasn't quite as attentive as some other waiters. We'd quite often not be able to see him, although to be fair it never got frustrating and we never had to ask for anything twice.

The place is paradise. Loved sunbathing on the jetty and snorkelling under it where it was like another universe. Occasionally we'd walk down to the sand bank - believe it or not it can take a further 15 minutes to walk from the start of the bank to the last bit of beach (depending on how high the tide is) at the end of the strip. Amazing. Word of warning, we took a gentle stroll down one day in our swim wear, and despite having lotion on, by the time we got back an hour later we'd picked up a lot of sun!

Restaurants are good. We were very happy with the main restaurant, and didn't use the (a la carte) grill in Blue Lagoon, but we ate out once or twice per week at each of the two a la carte restaurants in the Village and Cottage/Spa (can't remember which is which, and too lazy to check, but they were both excellent)

Quick comment about the other two 'resorts' on the island. I liked the ambiance of the Cottage and quite often sunbathed at the central pool, or have a glass of wine at the wine bar there before dinner. (It has a great Karaoke machine, which as a fan of Singstar we really enjoyed using..... even though sometimes we were the only people in the wine bar lol.)

However, I don't know if it was a shock from staying at the Blue Lagoon, but I found the Village a bit too busy. "Butlins" (which I've heard people call it) is completely over the top - it still serves the same food and drink as everywhere else LOL - , but I'd probably not want a relaxing honeymoon at the Village. Each to their own of course.

AI drinks were excellent - one of the few places in the Maldives that include cocktails, and they were also happy to make us cocktails we had had in the Caribbean if you tell them the recipe ;)

What else...memory stretched.... oh yes, the Scuba diving is well worth doing. Fairly reasonably priced (i.e. it's PADI who aren't the cheapest, they're just the most well known), but the instructors are brilliant.

Trips - we did a sunset cruise. Fantastic. Saw a family of dolphins which was wonderous. Also took a trip to a small deserted island a few miles away (i.e. just the two of us on the island). Again, amazingly romantic. Some people actually paid for this almost every day!

That's all I can think of - it's not one of the highest 'ranked' hotels in Maldives by accident, it's a fantastic island and true paradise. the Blue Lagoon part has the advantage of being a 'secluded paradise' whilst being part of a much larger island offering a wider choice of restaurants etc.

By all means drop me a message if you want any more info. (I'll be on for a few months as I'll be reading about Mauritius for our honeymoon ;) )

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Disco2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,510 - 2,516 of 3,996 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2009

We are not long back from Kuramathi Cottage. This was our 1st trip to the Maldives and Kuramathi offers a bit of everything being a large resort compared to others. The island is split into 3 with the Village and Lagoon offering AI and the cottage food only deals. We chose the Cottage on a HB basis for a bit more exclusitivity and were not dissapointed. The restaurant and bar area are the best on the island with the service 2nd to none. The food was excellent with the buffet being refreshed frequently to ensure freshness. The restauarants on the island are excellent although we only tried the Thia and Indian. We spent most days on the beach although the pool area is excellent for those especially hot days but i must admit you cannot beat the noise of the sea when relaxing on the beach. We were there over Christmas and i must admit the effort of the staff was fantastic - the gala dinner on christmas eve was astounding with carol singers and santa making an appearance. Special thanks must go to the local electrician who worked 24/7 on christmas lights throughout the resort to ensure that santa new where to stop!

Highlights were the Spa and the Serenade Dinner at the Lagoon on christmas day which consists of a private table/butler for the evening on a jetty 50m out in the sea - luxury!.

The bad side - cost of drinks - We spent around $1,600 on drinks for a 2 week holiday - no we are not that heavy on alchohol but at $4 for a half pint of beer and $6 for a small glass of wine it is very easy to run a considerable tab. Our choice for the future would be AI in the Lagoon with a water bungalow - which is much better option that the village and would in some way reduce the drinks bill!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Coppermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

e stayed at the Blue Lagoon in Beach bungalow for one week from 14th to 21st. It was our first time in the Maldives. We really enjoyed our stay in the real paradise. Meal was perfect, staff people were very nice and polite. Accomodation was great, clean with nice furniture. Excelent reef and perfect snorkling!!! I recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KosTa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just had two wonderful weeks in the Blue Lagoon and am still dreaming. We stayed in beach bungalow 351 which was wonderfully situated with fantastic views over the lagoon. The room was imaculate and although the decoration was simple it was still charming and adequate to al our needs. Have travelled to many beautiful places in the world but this tiped them all. The sand is white the sea turquoise and the sky deep blue. The only sounds to be heard are the waves and birds, so relaxing.

The food was excellent and the service 1st class. Drinks are not cheap but are not overally priced to say you are in the middle of the indian ocean. Not a place for anyone looking for a lot of nightlife. There are plaenty of things to do if you like snorkelling meeting people, taking long strolls around the island and a few drinks in the evening listening to the sound of the waves and making new friends. Very relaxed feeling, no need to take heels. You can be barefoot all day and night if you choose. Maybee just a pair of sparkling flip flops for that special eveneing under the stars. Had a trip to a little native island very interesting to see how the locals live, dont expect to find shops etc, just a few tipical souvenir stores with the usual tee shirt etc.

The Resort is well run, the grojnds are immaculate and the
foliage and flowers are out of this world. I am a photographer
and took some beautiful shots which will keep me dreaming untili am able to return. Anyone having doubts, dont worry youll
love it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank juliafotografa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Kuramathi is paradise from the moment you arrive at the jetty. We chose the all inclusive option as a complete unwind after traveling around Sri Lanka. Unfortunatly we could not opt for the over water chalets on the all inclusive package but this was no problem as the beach huts that go with the option where fantastic only a few feet from the waters edge and imaculately clean all with a/c sat on the pure white sand amongst beutifull gardens. The management even frew in a couple of free excursions for good measure. The food was amongst the best we have ever had at the Haruge restaurant (you can dine at 4 other restaurants on the island at 25% discount if you want) but the haruge was so good and free so why bother. Night life is low key but very friendly at the lovely Fung bar with almost all drinks and cocktails free why go to the other 2 bars. But for a change go for a sundowner at the blue lagoon bar and watch the staff hand feed the huge manta rays and sharks. The island is 1 mile long and 60 yards wide and with the imaculate tropical gardens to explore soft white sand turquoise sea's full of fish fantastic food and friendy bars with plenty of activities from Diving, Island hopping,Game fishing(tag and release) and daily presentations from the island biologists. and fantastic accomadation who wants more.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kevjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Had a great time .... kids loved it.

Good diving with a chance to see & dive with Hammerhead Sharks at Hammerhead Reef which is only a 10 minutes boat ride away.

We were B&B & ate at the Thai & Indian every other night.

Loved the tip of the island at the Blue Lagoon end where we gathered every evening to watch the sunset.

Read full trip report here

http://www.meeru.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8512

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stepsahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

It is the 3rd time in the Maldives, and I have to say this resort is great for keen marine life observers! The house reef is great. Easy access from the beach bungalows, you can see rather big stuff compared to some other resorts (which disappointed us): many turtles, reef sharks, sting rays..shols of baracudas, we even saw a leopard shark sleeping on the sand. The diving is good and the diving centre is very professional. Went on the Hammerhead shark trip but the probabylity of seeing some was remote - saw some large sharks cruising in the deep blue and a manta instead.
As for the accomodation, it is really good - clean. Although I would not recommend the half board or all inclusive as the buffet food is very average - they try to cook world cuisine food (e.g italian, mexican, even french without the culinary knowledge. So the result can be rather disappointed. If we return, we'll go B&B so that we can experience the various restaurants on the island that propose much better food - such as fish from the island, maldivian curries etc...
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FrenchyVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
540 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,611 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: $600 - $1,574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing