We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, but watch out for the coconuts and bikes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuramathi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect, but watch out for the coconuts and bikes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Let me start off by saying that it's all true!

As so many reviewers have already said, Kuramathi is a wonderful resort. In fact calling it a resort is a bit of an insult, this island offers more than just lounging on the beach and organised activities. The size of Kuramathi (nearly 2km) allows for an alternative to the beach without leaving land (something the majority of Maldivian Islands can't give), so much so that when we investigated the interior it really did feel as if you were in the middle of a rainforest and not on a popular large resort. Towering palms, banana trees laden with ripening fruit, bats hanging high above your head, screw pines laden with fruit made into ice cream on the island, geckos and lizards scuttling through the undergrowth and the air filled with an orchestra of wildlife noises - magical.

Now for a few things others haven't mentioned that are criticisms but didn't affect our experience significantly enough to lower the rating!

1. The A La Carte restaurants are scattered around the island so it does mean that if you pick one that isn't close you'll have to walk. There are buggies that run the length of the main 'road' and thatched stops at which to wait for one but there's no set timetable and as we discovered it's often quicker to start walking and flag a ride to reach the restaurant in time for the booking. But beware of staff member on bicycles without lights, the road is dimly lit...

2. Set booking times are a bit of a pain, you're limited on select A La Carte (definitely a must) to booking a restaurant up to three days ahead and at either 7,8 or 9 o'clock. We nearly always got the restaurant of our choice at the time we wanted but with a set time you end up having to tailor the day's activities. Eating an early lunch for instance if an early evening meal was booked and always factoring in enough time to shower etc and possibly walk some distance to the restaurant. This all made for a day that was too structured and less relaxed than we would have liked.

3. The Reef was our favourite restaurant, right at the top of the island and about a 15 minute sweaty walk from our Beach villa. It's really lovely here, freshly built looking, friendly staff, intimate, great setting on the beach and free entertainment provided by groups of scuttling crabs on the sand!
Unlike many other reviewers, we didn't find all staff friendly, some quite frankly were on the sullen side particularly in our allocated buffet restaurant, The Haruge, where we had breakfast daily. We weren't impressed with this meal, a lot of choice but on the fatty, sugary side. Fine if you like a cooked breakfast, sugary buns or cereals containing chocolate but if it's fruit you're after the selection is meagre and cornflakes the only 'plain' cereal on offer. I do recommend the scotch pancakes though, really good! This is the largest buffet restaurant of the three and we found it impersonal and busy.

4. If you're after an island surrounded by a glass clear lagoon with nothing but aquamarine water as far as the eye can see this is not the island for you.
When looking out to sea the view is peppered with boats of various kinds, it didn't bother me but I can see that, for some, this might mar the classic image of being 'away from it all' on a remote exotic island. You might also be bothered by the telecommunications masts clearly visible on a nearby island. Yes, one side of Kuramathi is 'lagoon' but, with a breeze often present, waves are formed and the seabed disturbed making for cloudy snorkelling and choppy water. Frustrating when this is the beach closest to your accommodation, in our case beach villa no.64. A bit of exploring led us to what we considered to be the most attractive swimming and snorkelling area at the head of the island not far from reception and close to one of the jettys. Here, even on a relatively windy day, the sea is a lot calmer and the sand softer. There's easier snorkelling to be had if, like us, you are a relative beginner afraid of investigating too far out in helpfully marked snorkelling channels. Close to the shore we were still able to see a lot of stunningly coloured fish and sharks.

5. As some reviewers have already said Beach Villas are deceptively named as it doesn't actually mean you will be on the beach. It's worth emailing in advance, as I did, to request a villa as close to the beach as possible. This accommodation is the oldest on the island and although spacious and kept beautifully clean the villas are a bit frayed around the edges in places. Ok, you could argue that you're not going to spend much time inside, but if I were to return I would definitely choose to upgrade.
The poor lighting, especially in the bathroom, was an annoyance for us. I'm all for low energy bulbs but they can omit a very dull brown light. Trying to see what you are doing when putting on makeup to glam up a bit in the evening proved interesting!
We did have iPhones and an ipad with us plus electric toothbrushes and needed to recharge quite frequently, there were only two sockets in the bedroom though helpfully of the British variety.

6. And finally......watch out for coconut bombs!! We had very stormy weather one day and it was rather hairy weaving our way around coconut laden palms as the fruit crashed around us. Trees near eating spots are stripped of their deadly cargo but not elsewhere.

Ok, that's it, a long review but a lot to say. I would definitely recommend Kuramathi for its flora and fauna, for its A la Carte food, for the slick and professional way in which it's run and for the variety this island offers. Perfect, well almost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sweetpea62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,885
    543
    120
    48
    32
See reviews for
424
2,705
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile



If you want serene, quiet, deserted island type place this is not for you.

If you want Maldives with lots of restaurant options, bars, kids club, shops, disco, diving options, big masts looking at you and don't mind it being busy then pay for Select AI and this is for you.

Because of our little one we stayed in beach villa with jacuzzi, 91 then moved to 149 when we complained. (Kids not allowed in water villas, safety issues) 91 is in garden not on beach. Don't bother with jacuzzi go for water villa or deluxe beach villa which are directly on your own private part of the beach at the top of island.

Cleanliness 11/10
Service 7/10
Food quality 10/10

Here were my pros and cons:

Positives
Island green waters
lovely white sands
Outside bathroom amazing
Amazing fish in restaurants.
Food in restaurants is very good, even tho you are in select AI you get just as good /better quality and size of portions.
Very good wine (select AI)
Fresh food cooked in restaurants is much better than buffet options
Island cafe, lovely food and staff.
Kids club
All public bathrooms are amazing and very clean.
Generous strong cocktails (select AI)
Select AI means Select AI only things excluded were lobster and a few of the drinks. But most branded alcohol was readily available. We had bottles and bottles of Gallo rose and Sauvignon Blanc. Plus cocktails.
Great Kids club - much much better than average. swimming every day and they have birds which the children love, BBQ, marine talks.

Maybe
Service is a bit hit and miss, half make u feel like you are a bother to them, other half fall over backwards for you.
Rooms average decor
Buffet - average to good food but service and strict table allocation policies let it down.
Large island, def a resort not small hotel. 30mins from one end to other in heat is hard work. But walking it helped me burn off all that food I was eating.
Weather - we only had 1 day of rain out of 10.

Negatives
When we arrived on sea plane we were left on a pontoon waiting for a boat for approx 30mins in midday sun with a baby.
White Plastic tables and chairs
White plastic sun beds
Busy resort, not the serenity I was expecting.
Staff very restricted by managements policies.
In buffet - place was empty & asked to move to quiet table for our sleeping baby but not allowed. And of course baby woke up. Inflexible eating arrangements.
Website says free kids club under 3 but you have to pay 10 dollars an hour for under 3's.
Mosquitos... Spraying island twice a day but not enough! Both of us were covered in bites despite no perfume products and incognito bug spray.
Busy, very busy. Not the quiet haven I was expecting
No fresh coconut available! On a tropical island!!
No iced coffee's available! Closest I could get was a coffee milkshake in island coffee shop.
Lack of golf buggies, u have to know the route they take to catch one.
Service & maintenance trucks hurtling up & down the main rd.

Recommend
Booking a water villa - I think that is what makes this resort or go somewhere else.
Going for 2 wks not 10 days.
Do do do Book extra select AI
Complain if not happy with villa, they will move u no problems.
Going to top of island it's much quieter. You can find quiet beaches if you exit the roads by the recommended snorkel exits.
Bugs! Mites & Mosquitos are plentiful. Do not wear any perfume products. Inc perfumed suntan lotion. Avoid green areas to avoid bugs.
Do go Snorkelling on the route opposite Laguna bar.

All in all we had an amazing holiday, just a few things that took the sheen off it... Couple of steps away from being the absolute best. It's a shame because they could really tweek a few things to make it perfect. It wasn't the quiet exclusive Maldives I was expecting but we still had an amazing holiday. Would I book this hotel again? No. But my husband said he would.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Lonasass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place is postcard picture perfect and I can't believe anyone has anything bad to say!

We went on our honeymoon here for 8 nights in march, we stayed in a beach villa on select all inclusive. The food is amazing, regardless if whether it was a buffet or al a carte.

I recommend the hotel photo shoot, we have some amazing photos!!!
The spa is also phenomenal!!

I can't say anything that hasn't already been said. My advice.....BOOK UP NOW!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceypiprogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This isw a late review by me and my wife as we went to Kuramathi in August 2013 for our honey moon. Every element of this holiday was wonderful.
We initially discounted this island as it is one of the biggest islands but this is in fact a positive. Even though the island was at capacity we would hardly see other people and you could find long stretches of beach with no one there.
We did the standard all inclusive in a deluxe beach villa, this was a great result as the deluxe villa's although not huge were at the quiet end of the island.
Staff incredible, food very good although more than 10 days could be repetitive. Cocktail range was huge and excellent spirits available on the package. Hardly saw a child!
Transfer and lounge excellent, same table reserved every day, brilliant snorkeling over coral and fish varieties were magnificent.
Can't cover all the wonderful things but overall a perfect honeymoon!

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the island neat the sandbank, it is much quieter and the sandbank is majest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squash_23-06-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been there for 12 days for honeymoon and it was perfect! We stayed in a beach villa with jacuzzi, which was lovely.I had my birthday while we were there, and on the evening the staff had made me a cake and sang happy birthday!! We had 2 couples massages in the spa an also the ayurveda-massage is fantastic! It was a holiday of our lifetime....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanne772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

All I can say is outstanding.
Wished I was still there. Amazing service and so beautiful
Staff are wonderful and the food to die for.
I love this place and would happily go back every well but I think they may be out if my budget.
I would deffo go back again and it the best I have been too overall as we have stayed on a number if Islands.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve445544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We travelled here for a week at the start of May on our honeymoon and from start to finish everything was perfect.

We stayed in a beach villa with jacuzzi, which was lovely, staff were always attentive, my husband had his birthday whilst we were out there, and without us mentioning it, on the evening they had made him a cake, sang happy birthday and got him a card which I thought was fantastic. Also, considering the number of rooms on the island, it was really quiet - we found a small bit of beach where nobody else seemed to be and stayed there most of the week.

I would definately recommend going select all inclusive, it gave us so much freedom to eat/ drink anywhere on the island. We did intro to scuba, fab. Also we made use of the spa which was lovely esp when we had 30 minutes on our own on a jetty!

On our last night we paid for the serenade dinner, which I would say if you can afford is a must. We had a 5 course dinner by candlelight with wine and a private waiter, it really was the most perfect way to end our honeymoon.

To sum it up, amazing sun, sea, snorkelling, food, drink and experience, we are already saving to go back there!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmauk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
15.7 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing