We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome house reef, bad buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome house reef, bad buffet”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Unusual for a Maldivian holiday the food was not the highlight this time around and even pretty average at times. The buffet was quite poor by Maldives standards, would definitely recommend the all inclusive restaurants over that. One problem the chefs seem to have is over-cooking the fish - whether it be a tuna fillet or a whole sea bass it seemed to come over-cooked and hence lose all it's flavour...really disappointing. The two restaurants which were better for this were the Thai and the Palm (great for lunch).

The bathrooms here are not good, whether the public ones in the bars/restaurants or in the rooms. They look as though the resort haven't spent any money on them in the last ~10yrs. Also...two cockroaches in the room....appreciate there's a lot of bugs on these islands but surely this is something they should have sorted out.

Despite that... Kuramathi is surely the destination for snorkelling and diving fanatics because the house reef is seriously good. You can not only spot loads of ~5ft sharks in the reef but actually swim ~ a metre away from them. For the swimming with sharks experience go out on the reef side around the mid of the water villas, there was a pack of 5-6 pretty big black tip sharks which seem to circle around that area. Also look out for the big schools of parrot fish, in a school they will let you swim alongside them for some great underwater photos.

Bear in mind as well this is a very family orientated resort, loads of kids.

In conclusion - it's not bad, but not great either. Though swimming with sharks could rank in the top 10 greatest experiences of a lifetime (if you're into that kind of thing...).

Room Tip: 215-225 or up in the narrow end of the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,037
    564
    129
    50
    36
See reviews for
448
2,847
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at Kuramathi 20th-27th April. The trip was arranged for us by Nicola at Holidays Please. Nicola was exceptional - really went above and beyond to help us sort out our trip, and helped us when my parents from Australia decided to come as well. It is such a pleasure to find such high quality service.

We only have good things to say about Kuramathi. We stayed in a Superior Beach Villa with jacuzzi (though never used the Jacuzzi!). 131 and 132. Ours was a few yards from the beach, parents effectively looking out to sea. Villas are spacious and beautiful. Not that you spend very much time in them. We also chose the Select All Inclusive package, which I would recommend to anyone. Fabulous to start each evening with cocktails at sunset at one of the many bars around the island, and to be able to dine at any of the fantastic restaurants.

The island is stunning, and kept immaculate by an army of staff. The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff at Kuramathi will be one of our abiding memories. They were all lovely, but our waiter at our appointed buffet (Abu) was particularly charming. The guys and ladies in the dive centre were also so friendly and helpful. All these people really make a holiday special.

The sea is wonderful - azure and warm (in places bath temperature!!) The house reef is magnificent - for fish life rather than corals. Just so amazing to snorkel with reef sharks gracefully swimming by, not to mention all the myriad of other fascinating fish to float among. We did a couple of snorkelling safaris as well, and saw lots of rays and the odd turtle.

Our ten year old daughter learned scuba diving, and she could not have been in better hands. Great patient, thorough, caring and enthusiastic instruction. She was thrilled beyond measure.

Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan6o6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just got back from a week long stay at Kuramathi and can't speak highly enough of the island. We had about 6 different islands to choose from and are so glad we went with Kuramathi, the array of restaurants and bars is just incredible. We chose to go for the Select All Inclusive which I highly recommend, the quality of the restaurants are fantastic and the convenience of walking past a bar and grabbing a free cocktail anytime of the night or day is great.

The huge positives regarding Kuramathi for us were;

- Snorkelling. We regularly snorkel on the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and the reef at Kuramathi rivals this, we constantly saw amazing schools of colourful fish, sharks, rays and eels. We also saw dolphins swimming past and the water is so clear, we often saw sharks and rays walking back to our rooms.
- Food and Drink. The quality of the food is amazing, much like a top restaurant anywhere in the world. Our favourites were the Indian, the Island Barbeque and definitely the Island Coffee shop for lunch. Almost every bar has an amazing view over the ocean.
- Customer service. I was surprised to read other posters unhappy with the service, we didn't get over the top friendly service but we were always met with a smile and helped out, often asked how our day was going. We didn't really need much more than that and were happy.

One final thing, for non-smokers (and other Australians who aren't used to smoking ANYWHERE around food or drink), be prepared for people smoking in the bars and also outside in the restaurants. My wife and I are non-smokers and found this to be a bit confronting and moved a few times because a whole table would light up near us. This isn't a crack at Kuramathi as the laws there allow this, but as Australians we find it astonishing that it's now 2014 and so many countries (and people) think it's still okay to smoke where there's food and drink being served.

This doesn't detract from our holiday though and a well deserved 5 stars for Kuramathi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed 5 days at Kuramathi as part of holiday which included Dubai and Kurumba. It was a holiday of a lifetime to celebrate our '25th' wedding anniversary. Have to say that from the sea plane lounge at Male, our exciting sea plane journey and to everything about this island, all our expectations where exceeded. We stayed in a water villa with Jacuzzi, 'perfect'. To wake up with such a perfect view was wonderful. The island was spotlessly clean. The maldivians, who are some of the nicest people we have ever met, could not do enough for you and everything was done with a smile. Went select all inclusive. Tried the island barbeque, indian, dunieye and Italian, all of which where fantastic. The only slight negative was the fresh fruit selection at breakfast. All branded drinks too. Having never snorkelled before, we did this on the first day and this became one of our highlights. Swimming with such beautiful, colourful fish, black tip sharks and rays was simply amazing. For us this island was perfect, especially the couples, over water massage that had been arranged as a surprise by our 2 children, sooo romantic. Loved every minute and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy6351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We and our two teenage children (13 & 17) loved our week at Kuramathi on the all-inclusive select option. The restaurants were mostly very good (the Thai one was the only one that disappointed), although the quality at the daily buffet was so good that if we go back we might just decide to save the money on the select option. Contrary to some comments on this site, our experience with the staff was overwhelmingly positive: everyone was extremely helpful. We had a particularly good experience with the dive center. Our children got their open water diving training from Aude, who was a superb teacher: patient but firm, and completely committed to ensuring that they learned how to dive safely. The dive sites are fantastic, and even the snorkeling on the house reef is exceptionally good. The island is gorgeous and beautifully maintained. The only real issue we had was with the restaurant reservation system. It's not fun to have to get up at 6am to make the bookings, but otherwise you can't get your first choice of restaurant or sitting, which means the select option is a waste. But it's difficult to think of an alternative system, and the restaurants were never crowded, i.e, they are not packing in the tables, which they could do.

Room Tip: Villas on the north narrow part of the island are likely to be quieter than the ones down near the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic time, it's wonderful for water sports enthusiasts and/ or just for relaxation, Just be prepared for mosquito bites.
The workers are very polite and very helpful but they can smile a bit more.
I dropped my ring under the bed and had to move bed around in order to find it, I was a little disappointed when I found lots of dust and few dead little insects , unfortunately I had no time to tell service desk as my family and I were leaving that same morning.
Overall I think the island is amazing and
I will definitely go back .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asterelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just returned from a week at Kuramthi, our second visit there. We were last there two years and loved it so much we went back this year. Sadly though it has gone downhill. I will start by saying that I asked to see the general manager three days into the holiday to give him this feedback directly, never heard from him and I completed a feedback form when we left - and no response to that after a week.

The kids club is exceptional, Claudia and Sara are brilliant and made the week for our kids. The food also is brilliant, can't fault it in any of the restaurants. The spa was great and the diving centre also brilliant. The problem was the housekeeping which was poor (bath didnt drain properly, towels taken away not replaced etc), the daft restaurant booking system (opens at 530am and full by 7am) and the attitude of many of the staff especially at the infinity pool bar and the snorkelling centre who were simply rude and at the receptions who behaved as if dealing with guests is a chore.

When we last went we were greeted with smiles everywhere, this time I got the sense that many of the the employees are becoming unhappy with their working environment and this is making them forget the need to make the stay an experience for their guests.

With so much choice in the Maldives, we will not return again which is such a shame. Kuramathi has so much to offer but is forgetting that guests need to be treated as such.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mulika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 16 in North Ari Atoll
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
16 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,385 reviews
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing