We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***STAFF RUDE, FOOD POOR, & RATS IN THE BUFFET RESTAURANTS!***” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuramathi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“***STAFF RUDE, FOOD POOR, & RATS IN THE BUFFET RESTAURANTS!***”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to The Maldives. From start to finish, we were amazed at how rude reception and general bar staff were. The food in the buffet restaurant was dire and when we reported seeing rats in both the reception area and buffet areas, staff laughed! If they were seen in the gardens or on the island in general, I could have understood, but not in an area where there is food being served and consumed. None of the food was covered, other than bread, rolls and pastries. You're assigned a table in your buffet restaurant. You have no say in where you sit and, even if tables overlooking the gardens or beach were free (always the case when we went there), you still had to sit at your assigned table.

We stayed in a Water Villa with a jacuzzi as we both snorkel and enjoy swimming. On day one, we were shocked at how little water there was. Check out the photo and see for yourself! We were moved which was a slight improvement but still too shallow to swim in and too rocky. The local Kuoni Rep stated it was tidal so out of their control. Overall, very uninterested.

The jacuzzi had an unpleasant smell at all times.

We reported problems with water coming up the drain in the shower on three occasions and smelling awful, but the hotel never fixed it.

Most of the a la carte restaurants were, at best, basic. The ones that were consistently very good were the Thai and Indian restaurants - all meals were available, service was good and food was delicious. The remaining were substandard. Our breakdown of our experiences:

The fish restaurant, The Reef, only ever offered locally caught tuna. All other fish was imported. Staff at The Reef seemed clueless as to why this disappointed us - a fish restaurant with no fresh fish?! Tried it 3 times.

Island BBQ Grill - unable to cook beef to order and worst pork ribs ever! Tried it 2 times.

Italian restaurant. Lovely setting, good choice in pizzas and salads and ice cream choice varied. However, pasta not fresh but dried so hardly authentic and fish undercooked and salty so went back uneaten. Tended to go here for lunch to avoid rats in buffet restaurant. Tried 5 times - lunch and dinner times.

Duneye (pronouned dunnie) is the island's "creme de la creme". Starters (octopus and chorizo concoction and scallop ceviche with wasarbi mousse) absolutely horrid, mains not much better (overcooked tuna, tiny portions), so walked out during meal and went to Thai restaurant instead for dinner. Staff at restaurant seemed uninterested and generally not bothered.

Restaurant booking system - when we were there (end Dec 13 to mid Jan 14) you had to be at reception in person by 8am to book any of the restaurants up to 48 hours ahead. You couldn't book over the telephone - this meant we had to set our alarm every morning to stand any chance of going to a restaurant of our choice. We did query this with the Hotel Manager but received no response. The last day of our trip, the timings were changed to 10am but this also proved unpopular with holiday makers - what do you do if you're on a morning excursion?

Dive centre not the standard I would expect in The Maldives. I did three local dives (none impressive) and wasn't asked if I'd enjoyed any of them.

You are only allowed soft drinks in your villas, there isn't room service and you're not allowed to take a drink back to your villa (say a cocktail or beer enjoyed on your terrace). So much for enjoying "some bubbles whilst in the jacuzzi"..... On the couple of occasions at the start of our trip when we discovered this, bar staff became highly aggressive and abusive, not what we would expect. We thought it could be a concern of glass getting broken but I experienced the same in a pool bar with a plastic beer tankard. And you are are limited to 2 litres of drinking water daily in your room. Why? another strange Kuramathi management rule.

The house maid, however, was excellent and cleaned our villa to a high standard and the Sri Lankan cocktail barman at the Italian restaurant was also excellent.

Sadly, too many staff were incredibly rude at all times and made no effort whatsoever - you were a room number. This island isn't a true reflection of The Maldives, which should be relaxing, friendly and idyllic.

We would never return and would never recommend.

Room Tip: Water villas 270 - 280 offer deepest water which you'll need for snorkelling / swimming off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Stuart52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,884
    543
    120
    48
    32
See reviews for
424
2,704
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent my honeymoon on Kuramathi in august 2010. Definetly a place worth visit. Its a paradise. Heaven. Everything is perfectly organised. Staff is very friendly and nice. We stayed at Deluxe Beach Villa with jacuzzi... 3 steps from the beach and ocean. Wonderful. Every night there were live concerts organised in main restaurant. Something amazing. You couldnt be bored while staying at Kuramathi.
Perfect drinks (non alcoholic and with alcoholic) - perfect non alcoholic drink - coconut lips. :)
Food is amazing and delicius. I will DEFINETLY come back there again. Im addicted to this place.
Kuramathi I love you :)

Room Tip: Deluxe Beach villa with jacuzzi :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0anna_B1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

There is no doubt that from the hype (and the price tag) - expectations would always be high in relation to the Maldives. We had chosen Kuramathi because it was so close to the Hammerhead shark dive site (where i managed to see one!!). The seaplane ride to the island was a fun experience and the welcome to the resort was pretty standard (waving at dock/welcome drink etc.) I had done some research on TA the day before and had uncovered that some had recommended that if staying in a deluxe beach front villa - to book room 355. I had requested this the day before and had received a pretty nonchalant 'will do our best'. Well I was pleasantly surprised to see that our request had been fulfilled and we were in villa 355. There is no doubt (in my opinion) the side of the island away from the main reception is far superior. On saying this however I must admit that the island is so big that we didn't venture too far from our allocated area.
We were glad we chose villa 355 as it has a deck over the water which gives you the feel of an overwater bungalow (without the price) a word of warning though - you can't physically get from the front of the villa to the beach - this may upset some. But the other side of the island (10 metre walk) seems to be the side to swim so it didn't bother for us.
I could actually go on for a while as to the positives of the resort - we loved it.
The only thing that was slightly confusing was the full board/inclusive food/drink option.
I would recommend for those wanting to have a drink (or several) to go the all inclusive option as opposed to standard full board.
I also commend the resort for without fuss resolving a small principle based issue I had with the food/drink options.
We had pretty much stretched our budget so couldn't go the select inclusive option but if you can I would go this so you can eat at all the restaurants. After 4 days we were definitely over the buffet meals and somewhat disappointed with the seafood on offer.
Notwithstanding - would highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: Beach Villa 55
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We honeymooned on Kuramathi in December and it was the paradise that we had imagined! We stayed in a Deluxe beach villa and walking onto the sand every morning was heavenly. So much has been said already so we'd especially recommend..
-going a la carte all inclusive, the restaurants are amazing and the wine list is more than adequate
-doing a couples Swedish massage and 'bubbles' bath, you will not regret it!
-on multiple occasions catch the manta ray feeding, sunset on the strip of sand at the top of the island and sunset on the bean bag chairs at the south of the island
-get into the snorkelling early on to build up your confidence to maximise the areas you snorkel in, we will not forget snorkelling with about 8 reef sharks at the edge of the reef
-the Island Coffee Shop is fab for lunch, we went most days
-screwpine ice cream is amazing and ice cream is available at the Palm restaurant all day
We were overwhelmed by how much we loved Kuramathi and are already figuring out how we can get back there. Don't think, just book!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotsmusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel three times in 2005, 2013,2014. All this time the hotel is only improving. Not going to repeat what is already written here. I want to note the restaurant Duniye, which opened a year ago and I was among its first customers.
For my opinion this restaurant deserves attention of Michelin Red Guide - excellent food and beautiful presentation of the dishes, perfect service. Chef from France really made this restaurant one
of the resort’s highlights! Two times I visited this restaurant this year, and had to make a booking in 7-45 AM, since at 8-05 AM all tables already were booked. Booking starts at 8 AM!

My special thanks to Nasih, the waiter from Farivalhu restaurant, Laguna Bar barmen and “Rainbow runner” boat crew. These are not just good professionals, but excellent people! Special thanks to the gardeners, who interrupt their work and cleaned coconuts for my children to drink milk. Best wishes to all of you, guys!
As for choosing the place for next vacations – will go to Kuramathi again! See you next year! Boriы

Room Tip: De Lux Beach villa on the south side are quieter and have their own private beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went for out honeymoon at the beginning of January and had a wonderful time. Fantastic service, food (all inclusive means you can have anything in all resturants without worrying about the cost), accomodation and snorkeling. We were about halfway up the island and this location was perfect as it was away from the busier area closer to the inifinity pool, but not too far at the top of the island. Our beach villa was literally metres from the lagoon side of the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bargin_traveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from our honeymoon, one week in Sri Lanka and one in Maldives, Kuramathi. I cannot recommend this resort enough!

We stayed in a deluxe beach bungalow with Jacuzzi (207). The room was lovely and we had our own garden area with day bed and of course Jacuzzi. To be honest we only used the Jacuzzi about 3 times (partly to us setting the temp too high) so not sure if its work the extra money but a nice to have. Our bungalow was in a lovely spot in the middle of the island (right near the Palm restaurant).

We went for the select all inclusive which as everyone says is well worth it, as when you are ordering the food and drinks it gives you the prices in USD and its pretty expensive. All the restaurants are really good especially the Dhuniye (means world) its fine dining and really cool to have something a bit different.

The snorkeling is really good, the reef stretches the whole length of one side of the island. There are channels you have to swim through to get to the reef, and if the tides are low these are a real pain (the rep with give you love and high tide time). Channel 1 you can use all the time as you can get in off a jetty or a channel and this is prob the best one as here we saw lots of cool fish, sharks and turtles.

The staff on the island are so attentive and cannot help you enough, this is my first trip to the Maldives so I have nothing to compare but this is they best place I have ever stayed and would recommend to anyone and everyone! I am already planning my next visit to the Maldives and it will deff be back to this amazing island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
15.7 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing