We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise - Bring your stretchy pants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is my third trip to the Maldives. And coming from someone that is fairly well travelled. I can honestly say without a shadow of doubt this is the best place ive ever stayed at. I hope this review helps. ive split it into a few point.

first tip - SELECT ALL INCLUSIVE - SELECT ALL INCLUSIVE - SELECT ALL INCLUSIVE

1 - Food - Some of the best food ive eaten, select all inclusive is a must you would be a fool not to go on this plan there is something for eveyone. My personal favourites were duniye and the island bbq my partner loved the reef. Everything was so fresh, The only downside was that at the duniye there was no option for side orders or chopping and changing the menu. but there is nothing stopping you ordering 2x starters, mains or desserts, seriously we did this and its fine. The food was esquisite. Sometimes i found with most of the resturants is that they do like there salt. coming from a catering background things were slightly (and im being really picky here) over seasoned. remember to book resturants in the morning some of the popular ones can fill up fast. and when you first arrive for check in dont forget to book your first 3 days.

2. Drink - as much as you want, all included, except orange juice and champagne, there were about 4 pages of cocktails without 30 to choose from all free - again a benefit for having select AI, also some bottles wines were included and they were fine as a red wine drinker they were nice enough,

3. Beach and sea - Its as you expect - picture postcard perfect, go to the lagoon side if u prefer to swim and sunbathe. much wider stretch of beach, the sea was aamazing crystal clear. for snorkelling there ae snorkel channels rangnig from beginer to advance, just be mindful of the tide, once we were stranded outside teh reef and sea level too low to get back over the corel without damaging it or ourselves(its razor sharp if you scrape yourself, that will surely bring the sharks)

4. Snorkelling - Ive snorkled a lot in the carribean and have to say this is one of the best, great to snorkel with all the reef sharks swimming by you.

5.Diving - for the more adventurours i recomend diving. the staff at the padi dive centre were amazing i finished off my open water there and also did a night dive course, deep dive and a nitrox course - the whole team were brilliant - Big shout out to Ian, Amanda,Yvonne and ameen, there super efficient. We did the deep dive to see the hammerheads which was out of this world to see them glide past you.

6. accomodation - we stayed in the beach villas and were more than happy with them, especially there location some of the different room types were no the reef side and there was little or no beach outside them. there are about 7 different type of accomodation so its a little confusing to start with, but do your research i reccomend skimping on the accom and splash out on the select all inclusive.

7. Staff - excellent very polite and friendly, ibrahim was really nice and always had time for a quick chat, there super efficient and proffesional - We travel as a same sex couple and found there was not a problem not even a batted eyelid(sometimes travleling to a muslim country can be a little unnerving)

8.Spa - one day it was raining so i had a hot stone massage - well worth the money, very relaxing and the pool near the spa is quieter than the main pool if your a pool person.

I'm not sure what else to say other than book it, you won't regret it.

general tips

everyone says mossies are a pain here, the month before i took vitimin b and odourless garlic as did my partner. We did not get bit once, but other people were getting eaten alive.

if your traveling via dubai do all your duty free shopping on the way back from dubai and not from teh maldives, much cheaper

have small notes for tips, although its not needed, we always tipped 1 dollor for drinks 5 dollers for dinner. its appreciated but never expected.

a visit to see the sting ray feednig is great but get there early to get the best seats

sea plane all the way, dont do the boat,

and above anything else, have fun - We cant wait to go back

my only negative was WIFI was expensive but this has been changed since we come back(typical) its free now on select all inclusive

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chrisintam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 4,106 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to Kuramathi in three years (and we said in 2011 that it would be a ‘once only experience’…) and it was again nothing short of superb. Other than a couple of wet evenings and one early morning thunderstorm (which rattled the shutters in the villa) the weather was fantastic.

We stayed for 14 nights in Deluxe Beach Villa (previous two years we stayed in a standard Beach Villa but were upgraded as we booked early in January) no. 329 which is in a fantastic location and has a great view from the deck. Much has been said in the forums about which DBV is best and we were going to email the island to request, if possible, a particular villa before we travelled we decided not to so as not to get hung up on it in case we didn’t get what we had requested, we were not disappointed, although now we would be inclined to request this one in the future.

As repeat visitors we were offered the candlelight dinner, I wish we would have had the opportunity to read Lexy34’s review before we went as like she had done previously we declined this as we figured on the basis of having paid for Select AI it couldn’t be any better than what we would get in the a la carte restaurants, ah well next time.

This was our first experience to eat at the new Duniye restaurant and we were not disappointed and ate there four times during our holiday (the wild boar starter, fillet of moose main and chestnut mouse dessert on the seasonal menu was one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten), although we still prefer The Reef for location (get one of the ‘outside’ tables if you can).

The sunset cruise has become a source of amusement for us in that 2011 we saw no sunset (a very grey night, still an enjoyable cruise though), 2012 black clouds rolled in just before we boarded the boat at which point it tipped it down and the cruise was cancelled, so this year we did not have high hopes, again no sunset as it was a bit cloudy but we did get see some dolphins.

A few posts have mentioned the rampant mozzies and I have to say that, in contrast to the last two years when I was lucky to have got bitten maybe twice in the course of a fortnight, I was eaten alive the first few days before I started to drench myself in DEET as a precaution.

The only slightly negative comment I have, and this is no fault of the resort but one of irresponsible guests is the amount of ‘snorkelers’ we seen who ignored using the snorkel channels and would stand on the corals despite all the information provided (there is also now a video to be viewed if you hire snorkelling equipment on how to do so safely and responsibly), not sure what else the resort can do about this?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Memphis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having seen reviews on the Maldives, having seen books on them, having heard from friends and others doesn't make it up. You have to be there by your own. With all the exceptional descriptions one may have heard it still is something different being there. I have expected a paradise but I have experienced it to be more than that. The sky is bluer, the water is more tourquoise, the sand is whiter and the air is calmer than ever expected. There are more fishes than in any other aquarium.
And: the staff is overwhelmingly firendly and willing to serve and competent, the service is excellent, the food ist without comparison and we have experienced competence in the employees of the eco-center.
Resummee: WOW !!!

Room Tip: My mattress has been a little bit too soft for my backbones. Over all I have slept well anyway. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our second trip to the Maldives. We were choosing Kuramathi because of the great comments and reviews plus they are offering unique wedding packages. We stayed for two full weeks and it was amazing, the team is simply great and really took care of us. The Chef is doing an excellent job since all meals we have tried (we had all inclusive select and could choose a la carte in all their restaurants and have tried them all) were of fantastic quality, excellent taste and great variety. Thank you Michel!

Even though the island is larger compared to other ones, all facilities are easy to access and in walking distance - and if you don't want to walk you can simply take the bus which is circling the island. They have 290 guest rooms / villas - but believe it or not - you don't feel the amount of guests on the island. You will always find a quiet spot on the beach - perfect to relax and enjoy.

The underwater world is stunning. There are dedicated spots for snorkeling from intermediate to advanced. The reef side starting from the main jetty is the perfect place to snorkel with all kinds of fishes, "the turtle" and black tip reef sharks.

Lastly, we have booked the sandbank vows to renew our love. The sandbank is a spot like no other and it was truly a once in a lifetime experience. Salil, our wedding coordinator, is just amazing. Perfect organization, friendly and an "added value" to the Kuramathi team. April and Salil made our special day an awesome one which we will surely never forget.

All in all, brilliant holidays and a perfect honeymoon in the middle of the Indian ocean.

THANK YOU KURAMATHI TEAM and see you again!!!

Room Tip: Try the Beach Villa with Jacuzzi or the Deluxe Beach Villa with Jacuzzi - if on honeymoon the Honeym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Unfortunately we had only 4 nights in this Paradise in the Indian Ocean, but these days are unforgtable and we will definitely come back. Already the start was an adventure with the water plane. We had a Water Villa with Jakuzzi in the outer reef with very good standard and a large terrasse with direct acces to the snorkeling paths. Swimming is recommended on the lagoon side, which is only 100 m walking distance away with beautiful white sandy beaches and amazing blue/green water. And the best was that there are only few people on the beach, so ideal for couples and relaxing. Also the food was excellent and everyday from different countries. And the Cocktails are a recommendation too and were tasted fantastic . . .

Room Tip: Water Villa with Jakuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wechha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was excellent in every way could go on for hours then still miss something reception, cleanliness ,politeness of all staff from top to bottom food drink all brill facility's Bars with very prompt service. 100 percent & more

Room Tip: Whatever your choice I am sure you would be well pleased with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our third visit to Kuramathi - and I hope not our last. It is a very reliable island, it has lovely beaches, good accommodation and great food. We usually go basic all inc and buy the odd restaurant dinner which suits us fine. We also always now get a special candle-lit four course dinner as returners. In fact being a returner is quite a lovely experience as so many of the staff have been on the island for many years, and it is always nice to catch up with friends. The staff are indeed very friendly, helpful and efficient. Because the island is quite big you have plenty of choice of bars, restaurants, and lovely walks up and down the island, including through some lovely vegetation. There are two swimming pools, lots of sun beds scattered around the beaches and so no worries about settling down somewhere quiet and peaceful on the beach.
This time we used the spa, had a massage, which was really wonderful. We were a little disappointed that we had to wait a couple of hours for the speedboat from Male, which I don't remember having to do before, but I think we had to wait for a couple of other planes to land for other passengers. Otherwise, all good

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aloha Rasdhoo
Aloha Rasdhoo
#2 of 2 in Rasdhoo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
565 reviews
21 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: $391 - $1,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing