We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuramathi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for 8 nights for our honeymoon in a JWV which we loved! We opted for select all inclusive and so glad we did as food was amazing - and we eat in alot of top hotels in London and Duniye and the Reef exceeded expectations, ignore any negative food reviews we could not fault any restaurant on the island. The journey out to Kuramathi was rather long winded and was annoying having to wait a few hours for the seaplane next time we would get the boat as although a longer journey you arrive earlier. We loved the Hanvana club bar and Prinse and Fatu made it particulary memorable and where so friendly and helpful! We are missing Kuramathi already!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,885
    543
    120
    48
    32
See reviews for
424
2,705
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went here on our honeymoon. Absolutely fantastic. Great food, great service and a great place to be if you like watersports. We indulged in some scuba diving here and it was brilliant - such clear visibility and so many things to look at. With four meals a day being provided, you were never short for choice. We got the seaplane option along with the all-inclusive package where you could eat in any restaurant. It meant that each night we could go to a different restaurant - Thai, Italian, Indian, BBQ, Seafood. Such a good choice that anyone should be able to find something to eat. In addition, the couple's massage was really good. It was a full body massage, which unlike UK places, includes head, face, feet, etc. Thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. Can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: All the rooms are very close to the beach (you can see by the picture on the island). Every room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Where do I begin; this resort is simply the best place I have been to so far. The whole experience was just amazing, from the time we arrived to the time we departed. The resort is stunning. We had a garden villa on the beach, OMG, beautiful; exceptionally clean, everything you need from hairdryer, (no need to pack one), towels, changed daily if you so wish, beach towels supplied daily, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap all replenished daily. If you can, upgrade to select all inclusive There are three main restaurants where international buffets are served for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Kuramathi also offers seven à la carte restaurants offering a range of cuisine to suit all palates. you can book a romantic a dinner for two at the Serenade pavilion. Out of the seven restaurants, we dined in five and couldn't fault any of them! Six bars around the island serve classical and tropical cocktails. Watching the stingray feeding is a must.
The Island is naturally beautiful and is kept in pristine condition. On the island, they have a Marine Biologist who gives lectures, very interesting.
You can do as much or as little as you like on this resort, it's simply up to you and what you want, we did snorkelling everyday and swimming which was ideal for us. There is something for everyone. The staff go out of their way to make your holiday on Kuramathi an experience never to forget and they certainly achieved that. One member of the team stood out for us and his name was Ibrahim. I could write loads more, all I can say is GO, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the rooms, after all you are only in them to sleep and get ready so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went on our honeymoon in April 2013 and had the best time ever! Stayed in the fancy room on stilts with jacuzzi and although it wasn't cheap it was worth every penny.

Gorgeous island, views, sunsets. The beaches are immaculate and the inland side of the island is very nice too. Weather was perfect for the week we were there, approx 28 Celsius at night and 30 in the day.

Room was nice, air conditioned of course. Wifi available although I barely used it as was out enjoying myself most of the time. We had coral all around our apartment and steps from our balcony right down to the coral and amazing sea-life. Highlight was snorkelling 150m from our balcony when 4 black tip reef sharks started to swim around us, which was quite exhilarating!

Food was good, cocktails great, and they had san miguel on tap, which topped it off!

If I were to ever to to the same place twice, this would be it. Brilliant, relaxing, beautiful :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridaywizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from this dream holiday at kuramathi and what can I say apart from paradise we eat in all the restaurants and the food was great the reef was fantastic best steak I have ever had the staff are so friendly we stayed in room 346 deluxe sea front and it was so nice right on the sea then we had a water bungalow with jacuzzi for one night and it was pure indulgence pure luxury so a massive thank you to all at kuramathi for making this holiday so special top marks to you all and we will see you again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This is everything you would hope for and more. We visited the island for our honeymoon and were gobsmacked how good it was. I personally don't normally pick beach holidays however I loved every minute of this stay.
We stayed in a stilted house which was private and secluded. The rooms are posh and modern with an outdoor hot tub which is useful even iin hot weather. There are hundreds of things to do (swimming pools, diving, snorkeling, boat trips, spa treatments, football games with the staff etc). The ala-carte upgrade is well worth it as long as you book your meal location the night before, and all of the food is amazing from steak to fish all served in sea view locations. Entertainment is brought in at night at the various bars.

The island had defined snorkeling paths which take you out over the reefs to the deeper waters. Also the island is frequently bug sprayed so there are no mossiezs or anything.

Only down side is they make you go home at the end of the week!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunoff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a last minute deal. Departure lounge was tranquil and comfortable. Enjoyable seaplane transfer but sat on wrong side of plane for best views. Advise sitting on aircraft right hand side to see the most. Kuramathi island resort is beautiful with lush vegetation and stunning beaches it is laid out in such a way that even when full capacity you do not see many people around. The Deluxe Beach Villa was lovely but the bathroom was quite basic and could have been more luxurious. The outdoor shower hot tub and daybed were a lovely touch but the garden could've been better landscaped with some plants. The grass was scruffy and uncomfortable underfoot. The villa was comfortable and the front decking area was peaceful. The views and scenery were beautiful as was the food and food choices. The house white wine was very drinkable If you were not on an AI package then drinks were expensive. We did not have the opportunity for AI as we were only staying 2 nights. The packages available we're certainly not totally AI as there were conditions. The bars and restaurants were never overcrowded and always ambient and elegant. Facilities were great including the Eco centre and dive centre. Snorkelling has to be done at high tide as it is otherwise too shallow to negotiate the reef
The resort is great for couples but families do stay there so do not expect adults only. Overall we had a lovely stay and would've liked a few more days there. Would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
15.7 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing