We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Honeymoon!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spend a week in Kuramathi Island for our honeymoon. We stayed in a Deluxe beach villa with Jacuzzi and had chosen the select all inclusive meal plan.
On arrival we received a non alcoholic cocktail at the main reception while waiting for our room to get ready. The staff was extremely welcome. We were shown to our room where our luggage was delivered.

The room was on the beach just near the Malaafayi restaurant. Very clean and with welcoming flowers and decorations. There was a separate area with a wardrobe and minibar (with non alcoholic beverages) and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was quite roomy with two sinks and a bath. The outdoor space was quite big with an outdoor shower and an outdoor jacuzzi. There was also an outdoor day bed which was pretty much a matress and nothing like the pictures on the website, which was a bit disappointing.

At first we realised the wifi and the tv control wasn't working but it was fixed the same day when we rang the reception.
Our rooms were cleaned twice a day. We took our time to get up in the morning and went for breakfast around 9.45. What we found slightly irritating was the fact that almost every morning the guy who was cleaning the rooms would stand outside waiting for us to leave. We had to let the 'do not disturb' sign outside just to make sure we could come back to the room and get ready for the beach after breakfast and not find them mid cleaning.

There was a card that you could complete if you had any problems with the room and supposedly it would be fixed. We had requested for the water in the jacuzzi to be changed but unfortunately this never happened.

The breakfast was quite good and quite plenty of options. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Made us feel very comfortable.

The island itself was very big and you had a lot of beaches to choose from. The two pool bars were also quite nice and never too crowded. The mini bus service was quite good and we had this option if we were too tired or too bored to walk back to our room from the other side of the island.

There were a few bars to choose from. We quite liked the fun bar. Dhoni bar was near our room and one of the prettiest ones but unfortunately the cocktailes were really poorly quality in comparison with the other bars.

We had the select all inclusive meal plan. We would definetely recommend this as the food at the resorts restaurants was not as good as we expected. We ate there once or twice and then never went back. Our favourite was the island barbeque probably. We also had quite a few lunch meals at the island coffee shop. The indian and also siam garden were quite good. Although to be honest we weren't particulary impressed by the food overall.

Having researched quite a lot into many resorts in the maldives before booking this it was definitely the best value for money. We would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kopelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,970
    558
    127
    49
    34
See reviews for
442
2,785
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our 10th trip to the Maldives and 1st to Kuramathi. We tried hard to love the island but in the end only managed to like it. Firstly Kuramathi is a big barn of an island (by Maldivian standards) and was not intimate enough for us. The distances between things meant a lot of walking or catching the minibus/buggy. Also we felt the island was badly overdeveloped with many of the landbased rooms built amongst luxuriant vegetation (hence the mossies) and a bit gloomy. The beaches are ok but lack a wow factor. The best things about the island were the STAFF who were fantastic, the FOOD (we went Select AI), some of which was verging on superb, and the HOUSE REEF which was as good as any we have snorkelled on - however some of the exits near the water bungalows were poor due to having to clamber over rocks/tree roots etc once on shore due to lack of beach. Also we enjoyed our sunset cruise to Veligandu and a fascinating visit to the island hydroponics garden. In summary, Kuramathi tries very hard to be all things to all people - it has fantastic facilities/numerous activities but sadly it wasn't quite our cup of tea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good place to relax and snorkel, especially the reef at the water villa with Jacuzzi. Nice beach and eco surrounding. However, got lots of problem getting around the island on the buggy (mini bus). Either the transport takes about 15-20mins to arrive with mosquitoes feeding us or the buggy that comes is full (30-40mins waiting time). Meal provided but not drinks. 300ml coke @ USD 4. The waiter would insist in clearing your plate even you told him you are not done with the food on the plate. There is missing of plate and utensils for some of our meal. Leftover of fruit for lunch could be seen on the floor during dinner. Return flight at 11:45pm but they arrange our seaplane out at 2pm. But at least after we complained, they change our flight to 5pm (last flight out). Overall, very beach and reef they have, need to improve on their service.

Room Tip: Go for Water Villa with Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivankoh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

4th largest Island at 1.8km so plenty of walking opportunities. The staff were great.
First room (beach villa) was short walk to the beach but in front of building works, room was spacious, bed comfortable. Outside shower which was really good although if it rained you could feel it as the roof didn’t quite cover far enough.
After 6 nights we moved to the middle of the island to a beach villa with Jacuzzi. This room did not feel as spacious but it was a higher grade so had some extras. The Jacuzzi took 2 hours to heat up so we never actually used it. Very close to the beach.
Food in the all inclusive restaurants was a problem as we are both vegetarians. On the second night out of all the dishes there was only steamed rice that did not have meat or fish added to it. All six salad dishes had meat or fish. After speaking with the chef and Kuoni rep we were given the choice of paying extra for more veggie friendly food at the al a carte restaurants or choosing dishes off a special vegetarian menu which after reading actually had chicken stock and fish sauce in the ingredients!!! We opted to eat what we could from the buffet selection always with a chef or two in tow telling us what had meat, fish, chicken stock, fish sauce or gelatine added! On several occasions we had to have something specially cooked as the choice was so limited. Any other vegetarians out there that speak up to the chefs?
As the island is large there are several beaches, restaurants and two pools. Everything was very well looked after and the gardeners were always working hard at maintaining the grounds and sweeping up the leaves. There is a buggy/van service to run you around the island although sometimes it’s up to a 15 minute wait for one.
The shops are quite well stocked and the jewellery was of excellent quality and interesting design.
I did sign up for a 7am group yoga class but at a charge of $20 ($50 for private class) it is quite expensive although you can block buy which works out slightly cheaper.
Internet was not free it was approx $4 for an hour which expired after 5 days. It seemed to work quite well anywhere on the island.
The Spa was expensive and a 1 hour massage was $100 plus 10% service charge plus 6% Government tax.
Sunset Cruise and Island Hopping trips were excellent.

There are two dive centres on the island belonging to the one company as the island is nearly two kilometres long. Each runs a different daily itinerary regarding dive sites. All of the staff are excellent and very professional, following padi rules meticulously and nitrox is available at no extra cost for qualified divers … BUT (and this includes air fills as well) free fills only apply to 10L tanks. A 12L fill is $4 per fill and a 15L fill is $6. Unless you want to be responsible for terminating your buddy’s or your group’s dive early then it’s almost impossible to manage a full 60 mins at 18m+ depths as the 50bar rule is rigorously (and correctly) followed. Given the very expensive cost of diving here this really felt like one charge too much. Additionally there is a boat surcharge of $11, $17 and $22 depending on whether you do 1, 2 or 3 dives in the day. I was shocked at this at first but the boat boys are fantastic and assemble your kit and there are always two ready as you are about to ascend the ladder to take your fins and camera equipment then grab you as you ascend .. at the top they will very securely hold you and remove you tank before you toddle off to de-kit. One rule I didn’t see adhered to is the buddy check. This is not the first dive concern that didn’t follow this rule but I find it continually strange given the very disparate range of experience. On one occasion on of the divers headed for the jump with his tank switched off and it was one of the boat crew that hold you steady before a jump that spotted it. Why ? Come on Rasdhoo Divers .. encourage/enforce buddy checks !
The dives sites are very close (5-20 mins) so there are no day boats each dive is separate and you return to the island immediately afterwards where the staff wash your kit and hang it up if that is your last dive for the day and you can relax and change between dives. In all the staff and boat crew were very attentive, friendly and professional and eventually I (grudgingly ) decided the additional charges gave value for money (apart from the tank charges). The various local dive sites are full of life and in the 8 dives I managed there were on some fantastic sites including one site where an amazing school of about 20-30 rays flew past and around the dive group with one curious individual always coming for a closer nose. Sharks were everywhere as were morays, rays, groupers, jacks, snappers etc etc and all were clearly used to divers. One moray allowed me to get within inches for an extended period while I took photos. The island has a large resident population of black tips from 30cm to 2m and these have no compunction is swimming very close to the water’s edge so you can easily snorkel with them. The house reef is excellent and shallow so new divers can easily experience a full dive, in fact from a photo opportunity perspective it far outranks some of the dive sites as lighting and visibility is superlative at the shallow depths. All in all a very nice dive experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Second time here and both stays have been fantastic. We stayed in a Beach Villa this time ( last year it was a Beach Villa with Jacuzzi ) and loved it. You must go Select All Inclusive or you will miss out on the fine dining experiences at The Reef, Island BBQ ( our favourite ), Siam, Tandoor Mahal and The Palm. We only went to our allocated restaurant for ( admittedly very good ) breakfast to be honest. The bars are all great fun and very social and the resident band "The Wood" had me cheering when they did a Classic Rock set starting with Hendrix's Little Wing! Result! Plenty of variety with cinema nights on the beach, acoustic duo's, solo singer guitarist and DJ nights. There is simply too much to list here and because the island is large in comparison to some resorts you can wander off and find a beautiful part of the beach and see no one else all day. The snorkelling on the reef is excellent and we personally swam with Dolphins!!!!! Turtles, Manta Ray, Napoleon Wrasse, Black tip and White tip reef sharks, Eagle rays, Octopus, Moray eels and every other reef fish. We also saw a couple of Grey reef shark which was interesting for the heart rate monitor! The absolute best part of the holiday experience though was the staff. So friendly and funny, very helpful and they really do seem to enjoy working there rather than just being nice for tips! I could list our favourites but there are so many and frankly they are all uniformly excellent. This sounds like an advert for the place but there really isn't anything ( apart from the mosquitos which appeared after previous heavy rains ) to not fall in love with. GO

Room Tip: Beach Villas or great but if you can budget for a Beach Villa with Jacuzzi get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JimmyR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place. Food, snorkeling, service and accomodation all brilliant.
We got speed boat out, sea plane back. The total journey door to door is only 20 minutes different between the two. Speed boat is good value, sea plane maybe not as exciting as we hoped.
Loved the holiday and look forward to going again some day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ec9wrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to Kuramathi in September for our honeymoon and I wish we could have stayed there forever. Everything was perfect - the accommodation was beautiful, the service was impeccable and all the staff were really friendly. The food was of a very high quality, the cocktails were good and there was a wide range of spirits available. Some advice: go for the sting ray feeding, go a la carte all inclusive (it's worth the extra money), get the steak Diane at the island BBQ, get ice cream from the palm, pay the extra for the seaplane rather than the boat, treat yourself to the water villa with jacuzzi. We upgraded for 2 nights but wished we had stayed there the whole time. If you're into your fitness(and its a good idea to exercise a bit as you consume so much!) the gym facilities are really good and there's a tennis court so bring trainers. Enjoy yourself, it's paradise & we're already thinking of returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TRH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing