We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for beach and diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for beach and diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We came here on honeymoon in July 2012 for 1 week after a week in Sri Lanka.
Lots of honeymooning couples, so not a great singles holiday perhaps.
Well I was a little skeptical about beach holidays, but with the availability of awesome scuba diving and snorkelling, I found that relaxing on the beach after a dive is brilliant and I came away with a real appreciation of this island resort. The rooms and food were excellent, and given that we went all inclusive, you had no worries about cost when trying to keep yourself hydrated whether on the beach, or 'ahem,' at the bar. What is included in your tariff is well explained, though it could be clearer when it comes to the minibar.
Go all inclusive. I'm almost certain it will work out as cheaper for most people.
The diving centre was great, and the staff there like Sebastian were really helpful for me with my new camera and underwater housing. Out of season, there is not a great chance of seeing manta rays or whale sharks. But the other rays, sharks and turtles more than make up for this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,937
    553
    127
    49
    34
See reviews for
440
2,752
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Dont bother unless you enjoy an outing to butlins. very scruffy island, food good, reception staff not helpful, greeting not a pleasant one, cant walk around the island! lots and lots of traffic on the island (buses tractors bikes trailers none stop all day, bring your own towels for the pool as they never had any clean ones whilst we were there, however there was a full container full of dirty ones!. Kids club 5star plus, not enough beach outside the rooms and beach full of debri.Overall deppressing we moved at an extra cost of £1600 and Kuoni rep even charged us $5 to see the new island on the net.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

What is there to add to many other poitive reviews? Not very much. Friendly staff, wonderfull bungalow (de Luxe beach villa) and the all inclusive package is very complete. Great food, great variaty every night. Have not taken the trouble to go to another restaurant, partly also because this is rather costly. + 10% service charge + tax.
Set backs? Internet was very poor (but maybe we liked that, good to be disconnected now and then :-). And there are for sure (litle tiny but actively) musquito's, Not a hughe problem, but do not believe the staff who say they are not there.
But besides these minor remarks, a recommendable place to stay

Room Tip: We were at the north tip of the island, close to the sandbank, nice and hardly any other travelers i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have just returned from my honeymoon to Kuramathi and all I can say is GO THERE, it is an amazing place. We booked through Kuoni and flew BA which was great, we went for 9 nights and had an amazing time. Kuramathi is one of the larger resorts in the maldives and this is why we chose it as we were worried about getting a bit bored, well there was certainly no chance of that as the beach is like paradise so you wont want to leave, some people were still in the sea after the sun set. Even though it is a larger island you wouldnt think so as it was never crowded, I still had privacy at the beach everyday and the pools were never crowded. The only time a lot of people was when the wood were playing, they are the local band and they were fantastic, i recommend going to watch them in one of the bars, they play about 3 times a week and i wouldnt normally but i saw them 3 times they were that good.

We were recommended to choose the select all inclusive which we paid abour £400 each extra for but was well well worth it, it means you can eat at all the a la carte restaurants rather than just the buffet restaurant. Although I found the buffets very good with plenty of choice, when you are having breakfast and dinner there everyday it is nice to go somewhere different in the evening. I particularly enjoyed the island bbq (steak dianne is a must and the scallops were delicious) the reef was also very nice and if your just after a snack the island coffe shop is lovely. Also the drinks selection was great, all the house wine's were great, the larger was fosters, carlsberg or san miguel and the cocktail menu was very extensive. Also the snorkelling equipment is included which was a bonus.

We stayed in a beach villa which was great, lovely big bed and an outdoor shower and just yards from the beach. It was cleaned twice a day and the mini bar was re stocked every day. The staff at the island are great, very friendly and do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
The place is spotlessly clean and the staff work very hard to ensure the whole island is kept this way.

A walk to the sand bank is well worth, it is amazing....great for photos, also went to Kuramathi spa and that was also amazing.....lovely and relaxing!

I was very impressed with kuoni, it was first time I have used them but would definately use them again, everything ran very smoothly and they kept in touch with you so you knew exactly who to talk to if there was any problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KickinKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just back from 10 days at Kuramathi (Aug 2012) with a family of teenage boys (15 and 17) and can highly recommend this resort.

First the positives:
The island is quite small - teardrop shaped and about 1 km in length - so it's easy to get around. There are about 500 guests, which is enough to create an atmosphere but too few to create queues or crowded beaches. They got the balance just right.

The food is very good. On a basic all inclusive package you eat at one designated buffet-style restaurant. They vary the menu every day so that you don't get bored, but you can also pay to eat at one of four or five a la carte restaurants if you want a change and the prices are surprisingly reasonable.

Kuramathi is set up principally for snorkelling and scuba, both of which are excellent. If you don't like either you can sit on one of the many lovely beaches but frankly you would be better off halving the cost of your holiday and going to Spain or Turkey. The quality of the marine life is what makes it special.

The dive centre is really good - but at the high end of what you expect to pay for diving. Having dived in several other parts of the world I don't think I have ever paid so much for basic equipment rental and dives. It worked out to about USD 150 per dive (including equipment) which is more than double what we paid in a very similar level of resort (ie high end) on the Red Sea recently. That said the instructors are outstanding - professional, very focused on safety but always have a smile on their face. There is a wide choice of dive locations and they offer night dives, wreck dives and a hammerhead dive for more advanced divers.

There is a gym at the resort and it was such a pleasure to find a well equipped, spacious and air conditioned facility when so many hotels and resorts cheat the system by putting a few free weights and a mat in a space the size of a cupboard and calling it a "gym". Kuramathi's gym is as good as you'll find anywhere - and as good as my gym back home.

The resort also has a half size astroturf football pitch, about large enough for a 6 a side game. Strangely the resort doesn't make any effort to organise matches but we did our own recruitment of players around the pool and got a decent match going every night with a mix of nationalities.

Now the negatives. the first is the Maldivian staff. If you're used to countries like Mauritius where the staff leave you feeling like a pampered VIP then prepare yourself for probably the most sullen, resentful and joyless people on the planet. Every request is met with a stony silence and there is no engagement with the guests. I would guess it's just cultural - some countries are naturally more friendly than others - but it is striking how miserable they are. They wouldn't even play football with us.

I was also irritated by the pricing. Although almost everyone is on an all inclusive package of some kind, you do have to pay for items outside the package such as meals at the a la carte restaurants. These come with a mandatory 10% service charge. Come on Kuramathi, we are not idiots - this is just a crude attempt to make the prices look lower than they actually are. If we want to give the staff a tip we'll do it ourselves.

You'll have some surprises at what is and isn't in your all inclusive basic package. WiFi, which is now offered free by most top hotels, is about USD 5.00 an hour (+10% service charge, of course). This is not something guests in a luxury resort should have to pay for as it has no marginal cost to the resort. Incidentally the WiFi doesn't work very well either (and neither does the cell phone reception).

Then there are some strange anomalies: If you order tea or coffee it's included in your package but make it a cappuccino and it's not. The cappuccini are foul by the way - they're made with UHT milk and not remotely like your favourite Starbucks. Even more reason not to charge for them.

But these are little things the resort can easily fix and I hope they will. Kuramathi is a fantastic resort and we'll be going back next year for sure. It's perfect for families like ours with older children or teenagers and of course for honeymooners. Given its billing as a top snorkelling and scuba location I would say it's wasted on families with very young children but there were even a few of those too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bmh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

No wonder Kuoni were delighted when we said we would like to visit Kuramathi. We have just spent two fantastic weeks there and can not fault it in any way. All of the staff on the island are so polite friendly and willing to help with anything you need. We stayed in a deluxe beach villa at the top of the island close to the sand bank which came with its own small secluded beach area in front of the deck looking out to the Reef. Best position on Island in our opinion. Our room was kept immacuatly clean throughout with clean towels provided every day even for the beach. Sure this resort offers more than most others with its fantastic choice of first class restaurants all offering something different , but make sure you are on SELECT ALL INCLUSIVE PACKAGE because these restaurants are not cheap. The Island Barbeque and Reef were our favourates but the Siam Garden, Tandoor Mahal, Palm Pizzeria & Gelateria were also excellent. The Haruge, Malaafaiy and Farivalhu are designated buffet style restaurants depending on where you stay on the IslandI and are also very good where Select all Inc' is not required. The six bars, Fung, Laguna, Dhoni, Havana. Sand and pool all offer great selection of cocktails spirits and draft beer all free on Select All Inc'.
Snorkelling is amazing on the Reef side of Island and Rasdhoo dive school offers top quality tution and equipment mostly Scuba Pro.
I completed my Open Water Referral with expert tuition from Amanda and Maria who were very profesional as were all the boat crew. Black and White Tipped Reef Sharks, Spotted Eagle Rays, Stingrays, Morray Eels, Lion Fish, Lobsters etc and many more all present ! Many Thanks .
Six Dolphins also spotted from shore one day with thier babys. Also so lucky to spot a turtle when snorkelling.
We were very lucky with the weather as It was supposed to be Wet Season but only had ten minuets one morning. It was sometimes cloudy but always very warm but never uncomfortable.
Highly recommend this lovely island and remember to be on Select All Inclusive package and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RazWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The island was terrific! The resort was well orgtanized, the stuff very kind and helpful, especially in the restaurant,but the management made discriminations as to with which agency you have booked with in order to give you the best huts. Even tough, we have booked a place facing the sea they said they were all taken.Despite that we had a wonderful time, and will visit Maldives again but another island.The resort was very expensive also. Even though, we have paid full board if we didn;t want to eat in the appointed by the management restaurant we had to pay extra. (Visit May 2011)

Room Tip: Even thoug I don't know the cost, The bangalows facing the lagoon have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing