We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
Nearby Hotels
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Residence Maldives(Falhumaafushi)
$424
$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$600
$560
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amari Havodda Maldives(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
$532
$435
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AYADA Maldives(Maguhdhuvaa)
$496
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island Guest(Maamendhoo)
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Pearl Beach View(North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveler rating
846
121
45
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
121
45
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villadomestic flightfishindian oceangan airportvilla hostmale airportgolf courseour honeymoonkids clubdolphin cruiseheaven on earthoutdoor showertake careout of this worldwhispering palmsmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is the best place in the Maldives , we have been to 14 other islands ,but this is excellent ,the staff could not do enough for you. We stayed for 23 nights and it became our home . Our little girl loved it age 2 . The food was brill ,they even got cereals in for her, and cider for us.Beach villa very good,sand fantastic,sea warm and no coral under foot where we were.
All I can say try it if you can afford it ! We will be back sum time in the future.
Sam & Jonathan

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villingili, General Manager at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Sam and Jonathan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us.

I was delighted to learn that you and your family, and in particular your daughter, have greatly enjoyed your staying experience here at Shangri-la’s Villingili Resort and Spa, Maldives.

I truly appreciate your feedback and compliment on the facilities of the resort which I will share it with our team members.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to your “home” here in the Maldives,

With best regards,

Rene D. Egle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a week at this wonderful resort and if I cold give it a six in the rainfs I would. The weather was always going to be a worry but we were.ucky with only 2 cloudy days and a couple of very any nights. That said we still had a brilliant time. Every member of staff was excellent - with a geat mix of nationalities and languages.

We tried everything, snorkeling - excellent, golf - good (will get better as the course gets older and the change to using orange golf balls) to a brand new experience for us Diving. The instructor Radovan was excellent with his patience and helping. We did 3 basic dives and enjoyed all of them - the clear warm waters are an excellent learning environment and we saw turtles both hawksbill and green on all 3 dives.
The water sports we only tried the kayaking which again was brilliant - shame there wasn't enough wind to tr out the hobby cats.

All in all would we recommend - YES. Would we go back - YES.

Many thanks Rene and your team for a great holiday
Mark Manderson

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a late review but we stayed here for our honeymoon back in April. We had the water villa at the end of serenity bay- it was such a lovely HUGE room and we loved the decor, bed and amazing bathroom... loved the outdoor shower and big bathtub in the middle of the room. The highlights were
- bicycing around the sandy roads to explore the island
- big rooms with personal butler services
- lovely corals to see in our snorkelling excursion
- saw dolphins on the cruise
- great dinner menu selections at javvu... loved the wagyu beef and also nice attention to decor and small details such as menu light at night
- attentive service and friendly staff
- surprise bubble bath for our last night there
- great activities lined up everyday for couples and families
- late check out to facilitate our plane ride back

possible improvements
- our view was not completely all sea view- we saw the beach and also the huts opposite us at serenity bay... so not as secluded as we would have hoped for
- a bit on pricey side for spa, but expected for typical 5 star hotel
- bed was OK, not the most comfortable
- would have been nice to have sea view for the bathtub as well
- a bit close to next villa

we would love to come again on our anniversary! thank you shang!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dnahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Shangri-La's Villingili Resort for our 11th year wedding anniversary. I must say... this was and has been our most cherished vacation of all the places we have visited around the world. We stayed in the beach Villa... it had 2 seperate room/villas (1 bedroom and 1 living room) connected together by a beautiful private deck and included our own luxury pool. We didn't mind that the beach was sharp coral rocks... only added to the beauty of the area... and we still enjoyed taking private walks along the beach, picking up hermit-crabs that were plentiful... it was very fun. This resort feels so secluded from the rest of the world... a tropical island all to yourself. The rooms very spotlessly clean... absolutely immaculate. Everything about this resort is pure luxury. From arrival until departure the friendly and helpful staff will make you feel like royalty. Because the resort is quite spread out, you will be provided with your own cell phone to call your personal resort assistant any time of the day in order to be picked up by a golf-cart to be driven around (to the Spa, to the restaurant, tours, etc.), they also provided us with our own personal bicycles for the week. The snorkeling was amazing... we saw sea turtles, tiger sharks, many colorful fish and stingrays... and all of the snorkel gear is available free of charge at the dive center on the island. We went for the buffet breakfast each morning... and we sat at a table on the beach, watching the beautiful turquoise colored water... feels almost like a dream when I think about it now! We also ordered room service for lunch everyday... it was promptly brought to our villa and set-up in the outdoor dining area beside our private pool. This is an amazing resort, with amazing staff, an amazing spa (I would highly recommend the resort signature massage where they have developed a special technique of using sea shells to gently relax you into a state of bliss!), amazing food selection (I forgot to mention the Indian cooking class we did... making naan bread and curries... it was sooooo fun!), and an amazing vacation that we will never ever forget. Highly recommended! I want to go back ASAP..!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed in three different kinds of villas here!

The beach villa : the most expensive here ! Was very larg clean from inside and outside with privet huge pool BUT don't be fooled by the picture of the direct beach there !! Its not good for swim because there is alot of broken corals and not a full view sea or ocean there`s the water villa on the left and the jetty on the right !! And about jetty be ready with very disturbing voices from boats ! You can imagine youeself in sunset sitting in your terrace relax and chill and suddenly you hear that annoying loud sounds from boets ! Even from the water villas you can hear it EVEN after midnight you will hear it !

Water Villa : was the best here no insects no geckos was so clean and if you decied to be here don`t try to think in any kind of villas here only the water villas.

The Ocean view Villa : No.320 CATASTROPHIC !! needs to be demolished and build it again !! very consumer there is a dirty smells from thr toilts and i think the pipes it was blocked OMG !! No need To build the view of ocean not worth to be in these villas ! alot of trees its not an ocean view villa THE REAL IS its a half view of ocean villa !!!! don`t and ever try to think to be in these villas ! save your money !

The only one excellent here was the kitchen staffs and Chefs they are really did a good job

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thamer-Bin-Majed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews